Review: The Dog Share by Fiona Gibson

Review: The Dog Share by Fiona Gibson

The Dog Share by Fiona Gibson is a cute contemporary that gives the reader a feel-good vibe. The characters are enjoyable and the setting is ideal. While the plot takes a little while to get rolling, the book is sweet and perfect for your beach bag.

Review: The Dog Share by Fiona GibsonTitle: The Dog Share
Author: Fiona Gibson
Publisher: Avon
Genres: Contemporary
Publication Date: March 4, 2021
Rating: three-half-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

Suzy Medley is having a bad day…

… when a shabby terrier turns up at her door. Just like Suzy, Scout has been abandoned, although only Suzy has been left with a financial mess and a business in tatters thanks to her ex.

Suzy takes Scout in and her chaotic world changes in unexpected ways: strangers have never been more welcoming and her teenage kids can’t wait to come home to visit.

Then a chance encounter on a windy Hebridean beach makes things more complicated, because Suzy isn’t the only one who needs a friend.

Scout has plenty of love to go round… but does Suzy?

A wonderfully funny and uplifting story about friendship and second chances (and whisky!), perfect for fans of Gill Sims and Jill Mansell.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: The Dog Share by Fiona Gibson

To sum this book up neatly, it is a lovely story. However, it just was not exactly what I was expecting based on the cover and the synopsis. It really seems that it is going to be a rom-com that involves sharing a dog, but it is not quite how this book plays out.

❀ Slow-Paced

The story is told in alternating perspectives and both characters are enjoyable to read about. Suzy is a divorced mother with adult children and she is just coming out of a bad break-up. Ricky, on the other hand, is a single father navigating life with his young son. The connection between these two characters takes a long time to develop. More than halfway through the story Suzy and Ricky meet and their stories slowly begin to intertwine. While there is nothing specifically dislikable about the plot, it just seems to be really drawn out and it would have been more enjoyable if more time had been spent on Suzy and Ricky’s relationship.

❀ Enjoyable Aspects

There are some other aspects of the novel that I really loved. Scout, the rescue dog, brings some fun and lighthearted moments to the story. He is quite charming and really brings people together. Also the Scotland setting is wonderful, and I loved the descriptions of the landscape and its people.

❀ Cute, Feel-Good Story

The Dog Share by Fiona Gibson is a perfect book if you are in the mood for a cute, feel-good story. The characters and the setting are enjoyable to read about. It is a bit slow-paced, but overall a sweet story.

About Fiona Gibson

Fiona Gibson

Fiona is an author and journalist who has written for many UK publications including The Observer, The Guardian, Marie Claire, Red, New Woman, Top Sante and Elle. She writes a monthly column for Sainsbury’s magazine and is a Contributing Editor at Red magazine.

Fiona lives in Scotland with her husband, their twin sons and daughter. She likes to draw, run 10k races, play her saxophone and lie in the bath with a big glass of wine, although not all at once.

14 thoughts on “Review: The Dog Share by Fiona Gibson

    • Lori says:

      Yeah. That slow start was really tough, but something kept me interested enough to keep reading. I just can’t place my finger on it. 😉

  1. stuti agarwal🐍 says:

    Call it clique but from the title I honestly thought it would be something like a divorced couple wanting to share the dog and then the romance sparking among them again but this sounds pretty good too. Anything with dogs is good tbh;)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.