Review: Grace and Fury by Tracy Banghart

Review: Grace and Fury by Tracy BanghartTitle: Grace and Fury
Author: Tracy Banghart
Publisher: Little Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: July 31, 2018
Goodreads
four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

In a world where women have no rights, sisters Serina and Nomi Tessaro face two very different fates: one in the palace, the other in prison.

Serina has been groomed her whole life to become a Grace - someone to stand by the heir to the throne as a shining, subjugated example of the perfect woman. But when her headstrong and rebellious younger sister, Nomi, catches the heir's eye, it's Serina who takes the fall for the dangerous secret that Nomi has been hiding.

Now trapped in a life she never wanted, Nomi has only one way to save Serina: surrender to her role as a Grace until she can use her position to release her sister. This is easier said than done. A traitor walks the halls of the palace, and deception lurks in every corner. But Serina is running out of time, imprisoned on an island where she must fight to the death to survive and one wrong move could cost her everything.

Amazon | Book Depository

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

Grace and Fury by Tracy Banghart is the kind of book that draws you in the second you pick it up. The plot is filled with intrigue and feminism, and the main characters are equally enjoyable. The world is also clearly developed, and it is surprisingly easy to picture as our own reality. I definitely enjoyed this one, and I am eager to get my hands on a sequel! Continue reading

Series Review: The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

Series Review: The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh BardugoTitle: The Grisha Trilogy
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
Publication Date: November 17, 2015
Goodreads
four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

In a lavish world where darkness reigns and science collides with superstition, Alina Starkov has the power to save her country…but it comes with a price in The Grisha Trilogy by New York Times-bestselling author Leigh Bardugo.

Included in this bundle are Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, and Ruin and Rising.

Amazon | Book Depository

I am probably one of the last people to read Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha Trilogy, but I am so glad that I finally had the chance to binge the whole thing. This series is unique and gripping, and I loved the main character. The world is also so complex, and I could easily picture it. I would definitely recommend this series to fantasy lovers. Continue reading

Review: The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker by Kerry Wilkinson

Review: The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker by Kerry WilkinsonTitle: The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker
Author: Kerry Wilkinson
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication Date: July 26, 2018
Goodreads
four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

‘I will never forget the night I drowned…’

A village with something to hide.

Seventeen-year-old Eleanor Parker wakes up cold and alone in the river that twists through her quiet village. She has no memory of how she got there. But she does know that another girl was drowned in the same river the summer before, held under the water by an unknown killer…

A community torn apart.

Eleanor is a normal, every day teenager. She argues with her mum, spends her days with her best friend, and is looking forward to a carefree summer of sunshine and music. Who would want to hurt her?

A shocking secret.

Determined to unlock the mystery of what really happened to her, Eleanor can't escape the feeling that something awful links her to the previous summer's murder. But will she find out the truth before it’s too late?

A gripping and extraordinary coming of age novel that will make you question everything and keep you guessing until the very end. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars, Looking for Alaska by John Green and hit TV show Riverdale.

Amazon

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker by Kerry Wilkinson satisfied my need for a gripping thriller. This mystery novel is unlike anything I’ve read before as the main character tries to solve her own murder. Eleanor is likeable and perseverant, and the writing is very suspenseful. I definitely enjoyed this one, and I would recommend it to mystery fans. Continue reading

Review: The Brink of Darkness by Jeff Giles

Review: The Brink of Darkness by Jeff GilesTitle: The Brink of Darkness (The Edge of Everything #2)
Author: Jeff Giles
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children's
Publication Date: July 10, 2018
Goodreads
three-half-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Things have changed for seventeen-year-old Zoe ever since the otherworldly events that brought her together with the mysterious bounty hunter she calls X. In order to save Zoe and her family, X has done the unthinkable - he's given up his freedom and returned to captivity in the Lowlands.

X is determined to break the lords' hold on him once and for all, but being stripped of his power pushes him toward a darkness he's never experienced and a past he's never known. The secrets that surface could be the key to reuniting X and Zoe... or they could mean the destruction of everything they have been fighting for.

Amazon | Book Depository

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

I had been anticipating The Brink of Darkness by Jeff Giles since I finished The Edge of Everything, and this instalment is definitely more X-centric. I enjoyed the setting and the main characters, but I was disappointed with the slow pacing. The book was still enjoyable, however, I wish I could have enjoyed it as much as I had been hoping. Continue reading