Review: Kissing Snowflakes by Abby Sher

Review: Kissing Snowflakes by Abby Sher

Kissing Snowflakes by Abby Sher is a wintry drama with plenty of skiing. The more serious topics in the book balanced out the fluff, and the resort setting is so peaceful. However, I found the main character to be dislikable, so I didn’t enjoy this one as much as I had hoped. Continue reading

WoW: Where I Live by Brenda Rufener

Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by  Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about and have yet to read.

This week’s book: Where I Live by Brenda Rufener

Where I Live Brenda RufenerTitle: Where I Live
Author: Brenda Rufener
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: February 27, 2018

Summary (from Goodreads):

This evocative debut YA novel tells the story of Linden, a homeless teen secretly living in her high school. Together with her makeshift family of close friends, Linden struggles against the hardships of her past and begins to shape a bright future. Perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven and Nicola Yoon,this is a stirring novel about overcoming all odds.

LINDEN ROSE HAS RULES FOR SURVIVAL.

1. Prevent the in-class nap.
2. Never carry too many belongings.
3. Avoid looking the part.

Her rules guarantee no one discovers her secret–that she’s homeless and living in the halls of her small-town high school. Her best friends, Ham and Seung, have formed a makeshift family, and writing for her school’s blog prevents downtime. When you’re homeless, free time sucks. Despite everything Linden’s burdened with, she holds on to hope for a future and a maybe romance with Seung.

But when cool-girl Bea comes to school with a bloody lip, the damage hits too close to home. Linden begins looking at Bea’s life, and soon her investigation prompts people to pay attention. And attention is the last thing Linden needs.

To put a stop to the violence, Linden must tell the story. Even if it breaks her rules for survival and jeopardizes the secrets she’s worked so hard to keep. 

Amazon “Book Depository

Continue reading

Book vs. Movie: Wonder by R.J. Palacio

 

Grey image with movie icons and Don't Judge a Book by its Movie title.

Don’t Judge a Book by its Movie is a feature on The Candid Cover spotlighting and reviewing book to movie adaptations.

Book vs. Movie: Wonder by R.J. PalacioTitle: Wonder
Author: R.J. Palacio
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
Cast: Jacob Tremblay, Owen Wilson, Izabela Vidovic, Julia Roberts
Director: Stephen Chbosky
Screenplay: Stephen Chbosky, Steve Conrad, Jack Thorne
Genres: Contemporary
Publication Date: February 14, 2012
Rating: four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER, now a #1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

Amazon “Book

Wonder: Book vs. Movie

Wonder is a one-of-a-kind book that deals with bullying in a way that is honest, raw, and eye-opening. I haven’t read many middle grade novels in quite a while, and I have to admit that this is the first one that brought big tears to my eyes. The writing is crisp and witty, and the multiple perspectives really help to give the reader a deep understanding of all the sides to the story. Amazingly, the movie is just as wonderful, and although it is a condensed version of the original, it maintains the original themes that Palacio has inspired her readers with. Continue reading

Review: Snow in Love by Claire Ray

Review: Snow in Love by Claire RayTitle: Snow in Love
Author: Claire Ray
Publisher: HarperTeen
Genres: Contemporary
Publication Date: December 23, 2008
Rating: four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

Welcome to Alaska!

A special welcome to my boyfriend, Jake, the cutest tourist I've ever met!

Explore our natural beauties and untouched wilderness.

Jake and I like to hike our great (romantic!) nature trails. . . .

Enjoy our perfect skiing and snowboarding conditions.

Be sure to catch Will Parker doing his snowboarding tricks. He makes all the girls in town melt. (Except for me. Who needs Will when you've got Jake?)

Experience our world-class resorts and spas.

While you're there, find out what's up with that hot girl Jake brought to the lodge this year. She's probably just his cousin or something. Right?!

Get ready for a vacation you'll never forget!

Amazon “iBooks”

Review: Snow in Love by Claire Ray

Snow in Love by Claire Ray is a cute and festive story that also has a fair bit of drama. The Alaskan setting is absolutely perfect, and I enjoyed the relatable main character. This is a cute and fluffy holiday read that is he perfect thing to curl up with this winter. Continue reading