Waiting on Wednesday #77: Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill

 

img_3437

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s book:

Book cover for Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill
Title:
Ever the Hunted
Author: Erin Summerill
Publisher: Harcourt Children’s Books
Publication Date: December 27, 2016

Summary (from Goodreads): Seventeen year-old Britta Flannery is at ease only in the woods with her dagger and bow. She spends her days tracking criminals alongside her father, the legendary bounty hunter for the King of Malam—that is, until her father is murdered. Now outcast and alone and having no rights to her father’s land or inheritance, she seeks refuge where she feels most safe: the Ever Woods. When Britta is caught poaching by the royal guard, instead of facing the noose she is offered a deal: her freedom in exchange for her father’s killer.

However, it’s not so simple.

The alleged killer is none other than Cohen McKay, her father’s former apprentice. The only friend she’s ever known. The boy she once loved who broke her heart. She must go on a dangerous quest in a world of warring kingdoms, mad kings, and dark magic to find the real killer. But Britta wields more power than she knows. And soon she will learn what has always made her different will make her a daunting and dangerous force. Continue reading

Teaser Tuesdays #67: As I Descended by Robin Talley

 

images

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Today’s Teaser Tuesday:

Book cove for As I Descended by Robin TalleyTitle: As I Descended
Author: Robin Talley
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: September 6, 2016
Summary (from Goodreads): Maria Lyon and Lily Boiten are their school’s ultimate power couple—even if no one knows it but them.

Only one thing stands between them and their perfect future: campus superstar Delilah Dufrey.

Golden child Delilah is a legend at the exclusive Acheron Academy, and the presumptive winner of the distinguished Cawdor Kingsley Prize. She runs the school, and if she chose, she could blow up Maria and Lily’s whole world with a pointed look, or a carefully placed word.

But what Delilah doesn’t know is that Lily and Maria are willing to do anything—absolutely anything—to make their dreams come true. And the first step is unseating Delilah for the Kingsley Prize. The full scholarship, awarded to Maria, will lock in her attendance at Stanford―and four more years in a shared dorm room with Lily.

Maria and Lily will stop at nothing to ensure their victory—including harnessing the dark power long rumored to be present on the former plantation that houses their school.

But when feuds turn to fatalities, and madness begins to blur the distinction between what’s real and what is imagined, the girls must decide where they draw the line.

From acclaimed author Robin Talley comes a Shakespeare-inspired story of revenge and redemption, where fair is foul, and foul is fair. Continue reading

The Unexpected Everything Book Club

Book-club-ideas

Book It is a feature on The Candid Cover that discusses books and ideas for young adult book clubs and parties.

The Unexpected Everything Book Club

I am so excited to share my The Unexpected Everything Book Club with you! Back in the spring, I had the opportunity to read and review Morgan Matson’s The Unexpected Everything. This book is such an enjoyable contemporary that is perfect for summer, as it has such a fun concept and the right elements for beach reading. I kept imagining so many great ideas for my book club as I was reading, that I knew it would be the perfect choice for my summer book club party!

Continue reading

Review: The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena

Review: The Couple Next Door by Shari LapenaTitle: The Couple Next Door
Author: Shari Lapena
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Publication Date: August 23, 2016

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

It all started at a dinner party. . .

A domestic suspense debut about a young couple and their apparently friendly neighbors--a twisty, rollercoaster ride of lies, betrayal, and the secrets between husbands and wives. . .

Anne and Marco Conti seem to have it all--a loving relationship, a wonderful home, and their beautiful baby, Cora. But one night when they are at a dinner party next door, a terrible crime is committed. Suspicion immediately focuses on the parents. But the truth is a much more complicated story.

Inside the curtained house, an unsettling account of what actually happened unfolds. Detective Rasbach knows that the panicked couple is hiding something. Both Anne and Marco soon discover that the other is keeping secrets, secrets they've kept for years.

What follows is the nerve-racking unraveling of a family--a chilling tale of deception, duplicity, and unfaithfulness that will keep you breathless until the final shocking twist.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena is sure to provide some thrilling chills to fans of the thriller genre. This book is so fast-paced, it will make your head spin. Also, Lapena does a fantastic job developing all of the characters that at some points, the reader is never really sure who the culprit really is. The writing is so descriptive as well, and it makes the events that unfold seem to come alive as you are reading this incredible story. Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday #76: The Romantics by Leah Konen

 

img_3437

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s book:

Book cover for The Romantics by Leah Konen
Title: 
The Romantics
Author: Leah Konen
Publisher: Amulet Books
Publication Date: November 1, 2016

Summary (from Goodreads): Perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rainbow Rowell, The Romantics will charm readers of all ages. Gael Brennan is about to have his heart broken when his first big relationship crumbles on the heels of his parents’ painful separation. Love intervenes with the intention of setting things right—but she doesn’t anticipate the intrusion of her dreaded nemesis: the Rebound. Love’s plans for Gael are sidetracked by Cara, Gael’s hot-sauce-wielding “dream girl.” The more Love meddles, the further Gael drifts from the one girl who can help him mend his heart. Soon Love starts breaking all her own rules—and in order to set Gael’s fate back on course, she has to make some tough decisions about what it means to truly care. Continue reading