Review: Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra

Review: Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah HenstraTitle: Mad Miss Mimic
Author: Sarah Henstra
Publisher: Razorbill Canada
Genres: Historical Fiction
Publication Date: January 3, 2017
Rating: five-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

Jane Austen meets Arthur Conan Doyle in a historical fiction debut for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.

Born into an affluent family, Leo outwardly seems like a typical daughter of English privilege in the 1870s: she lives with her wealthy married sister Christabel, and lacks for neither dresses nor trinkets. But Leo has a crippling speech impediment that makes it difficult for her to speak but curiously allows her to mimic other people's voices flawlessly. Servants and ladies alike call her "Mad Miss Mimic" behind her back... and watch as she unintentionally scares off every potential suitor. Only the impossibly handsome Mr. Thornfax seems interested in Leo...but why? And does he have a connection to the mysterious Black Glove group that has London in its terrifying grasp? Trapped in a city under siege by terror attacks and gripped by opium fever, where doctors (including her brother-in-law) race to patent an injectable formula, Leo must search for truth in increasingly dangerous situations - but to do so, she must first find her voice.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra

Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra is an historical fiction that packs quite a punch. It encompasses a step back in time, while providing its readers with a thrilling mystery and a slow burning romance. The main character, Leo, is relatable, quirky and full of spunk, making this book one of my favourite reads of 2016! Continue reading

Review: Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall

Review: Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise GornallTitle: Under Rose-Tainted Skies
Author: Louise Gornall
Publisher: Clarion
Genres: Contemporary
Publication Date: January 3, 2017
Rating: four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

At seventeen, Norah has accepted that the four walls of her house delineate her life. She knows that fearing everything from inland tsunamis to odd numbers is irrational, but her mind insists the world outside is too big, too dangerous. So she stays safe inside, watching others’ lives through her windows and social media feed.

But when Luke arrives on her doorstep, he doesn’t see a girl defined by medical terms and mental health. Instead, he sees a girl who is funny, smart, and brave. And Norah likes what he sees.

Their friendship turns deeper, but Norah knows Luke deserves a normal girl. One who can walk beneath the open sky. One who is unafraid of kissing. One who isn’t so screwed up. Can she let him go for his own good—or can Norah learn to see herself through Luke’s eyes?

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: Under Rose-Tainted Skies

Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall is an inspiring and believable story about life with a mental illness. The accuracy of the facts is evident and the main character has a great sense of humour. I especially enjoyed how the book doesn’t romanticize mental illness and Luke’s respectful personality. I would definitely recommend this book! Continue reading

Book Review: Mistletoe by Hailey Abbott

Book Review: Mistletoe by Hailey AbbottTitle: Mistletoe: 4 Holiday Stories
Author: Hailey Abbott, Melissa de la Cruz, Aimee Friedman, Nina Malkin
Also by this author: Pride and Prejudice and Mistletoe
Publisher: Scholastic
Genres: Contemporary
Publication Date: October 1, 2006
Rating: four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

Glittering white snowflakes. The handsome blond ski instructor. The sparkle on a cashmere skirt. Hot cocoa and kisses in front of a crackling fire. The holiday season is the ESSENCE of magic...and romance. Four of today's bestselling teen authors -- Melissa de la Cruz (THE AU PAIRS), Aimee Friedman (SOUTH BEACH), Hailey Abbott (SUMMER BOYS), and Nina Malkin (6X) -- bring us delectable tales of love and lust and holiday cheers (and tears) in this one-of-a-kind collection that teens will devour faster than a plate of Christmas cookies.

Amazon

Book Review: Mistletoe by Hailey Abbott

Mistletoe by Hailey Abbott gives the reader a bit of everything with four different festive stories. This book is just over 200 pages and can easily be read in one sitting. One of my favourite things to do around the holiday season is read short and sweet Christmas books. Continue reading

Review: Unf*ck Your Habitat by Rachel Hoffman

Review: Unf*ck Your Habitat by Rachel HoffmanTitle: Unf*ck Your Habitat: You're Better Than Your Mess
Author: Rachel Hoffman
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: January 3, 2017
Rating: three-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

Finally, a housekeeping and organizational system developed for those of us who'd describe our current living situation as a “f*cking mess” that we're desperate to fix. Unf*ck Your Habitat is for anyone who has been left behind by traditional aspirational systems: The ones that ignore single people with full-time jobs; people without kids but living with roommates; and people with mental illnesses or physical limitations, and many others. Most organizational books are aimed at traditional homemakers, DIYers, and people who seem to have unimaginable amounts of free time. They assume we all iron our sheets, have linen napkins to match our table runners, and can keep plants alive for longer than a week. Basically, they ignore most of us living here in the real world.

Interspersed with lists and challenges, this practical, no-nonsense advice relies on a 20/10 system (20 minutes of cleaning followed by a 10-minute break; no marathon cleaning allowed) to help you develop lifelong habits. It motivates you to embrace a new lifestyle in manageable sections so you can actually start applying the tactics as you progress. For everyone stuck between The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up and Adulting, this philosophy is decidedly more realistic than aspirational, but the goal is the same: not everyone will have a showcase of a home, but whatever your habitat, you deserve one that brings you happiness, not stress.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: Unf*ck Your Habitat

If you are looking for motivation to get up and get cleaning and organizing your environment, then Unf*ck Your Habitat might provide you with the encouragement that you are looking for. While, there are some great suggestions and a good foundation with the 20/10 system that Rachel Hoffman has developed, this book seems to spend more time talking than actual doing. I was hoping that there would be more concrete ideas and actual time saving techniques to improve upon my own housekeeping endeavours. I just came away from this one wondering what I had achieved in reading it. Continue reading