ARC Review: Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra

 

I received an e-ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Mad Miss Mimic

Title: Mad Miss Mimic
Author: Sarah Henstra
Publisher: Penguin Random House Canada
Publication Date: January 3, 2017 (Paperback)
Stars: 5/5

Summary (from Goodreads): Jane Austen meets Arthur Conan Doyle in a historical fiction debut for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.

Born into an affluent family, Leo outwardly seems like a typical daughter of English privilege in the 1870s: she lives with her wealthy married sister Christabel, and lacks for neither dresses nor trinkets. But Leo has a crippling speech impediment that makes it difficult for her to speak but curiously allows her to mimic other people’s voices flawlessly. Servants and ladies alike call her “Mad Miss Mimic” behind her back… and watch as she unintentionally scares off every potential suitor. Only the impossibly handsome Mr. Thornfax seems interested in Leo…but why? And does he have a connection to the mysterious Black Glove group that has London in its terrifying grasp? Trapped in a city under siege by terror attacks and gripped by opium fever, where doctors (including her brother-in-law) race to patent an injectable formula, Leo must search for truth in increasingly dangerous situations – but to do so, she must first find her voice. Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday #85: The Truth About Happily Ever After by Karole Cozzo

 

img_3437.jpg

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s book:

Book cover for The Truth about Happily Ever After
Title: 
The Truth About Happily Ever After
Author: Karole Cozzo
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Publication Date: May 16, 2017

Summary (from Goodreads): Chin up, Princess, or the crown will slip.

A theme park princess must put her life back together after her happily ever after falls apart in this contemporary YA romance from Karole Cozzo, author of How to Keep Rolling After a Fall and How to Say I Love You Out Loud.

Everything was supposed to be perfect. Alyssa has a job she loves, working as Cinderella at her favorite theme park; a fantastic group of friends; and a boyfriend who will no longer be long distance. But as the summer progresses, her prince becomes less charming and more distant, and Alyssa’s perfect summer falls apart.

Forced to acknowledge that life is not always a fairy tale, Alyssa starts working to pull her herself back together. Fortunately, she doesn’t have to do it alone. With her friend Miller’s support, she’s determined to prove that she’s more than just a pretty princess. And with his help, maybe she’s finally ready for something better than dreams. Maybe she’s ready for something real. Continue reading

ARC Review: Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall

 

Book cover for Under Rose Tainted Skies by Louise Gornoll

I received an e-ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Title: Under Rose-Tainted Skies
Author: Louise Gornall
Publisher: Clarion Books
Publication Date: January 3, 2017
Stars: 4/5

Summary (from Goodreads): Norah has agoraphobia and OCD. When groceries are left on the porch, she can’t step out to get them. Struggling to snag the bags with a stick, she meets Luke. He’s sweet and funny, and he just caught her fishing for groceries. Because of course he did.

Norah can’t leave the house, but can she let someone in? As their friendship grows deeper, Norah realizes Luke deserves a normal girl. One who can lie on the front lawn and look up at the stars. One who isn’t so screwed up. Continue reading

Review: Mistletoe by Hailey Abbott, Melissa de la Cruz, Aimee Friedman, and Nina Malkin

 

Book cover for Mistletoe by Hailey Abbott

Title: Mistletoe
Authors: Hailey Abbott, Melissa de la Cruz, Aimee Friedman, and Nina Malkin
Publisher: Scholastic
Publication Date: October 1, 2006
Stars: 4/5

Summary (from Goodreads): Snuggle up beside the fire with this juicy collection of four different, but equally sizzling, winter romances.

Glittering white snowflakes. The handsome blond ski instructor. The sparkle on a cashmere skirt. Hot cocoa and kisses in front of a crackling fire. The holiday season is the ESSENCE of magic…and romance. Four of today’s bestselling teen authors — Melissa de la Cruz (THE AU PAIRS), Aimee Friedman (SOUTH BEACH), Hailey Abbott (SUMMER BOYS), and Nina Malkin (6X) — bring us delectable tales of love and lust and holiday cheers (and tears) in this one-of-a-kind collection that teens will devour faster than a plate of Christmas cookies. Continue reading