Review: Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra

Review: Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah HenstraTitle: Mad Miss Mimic
Author: Sarah Henstra
Publisher: Razorbill Canada
Publication Date: January 3, 2017

five-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Jane Austen meets Arthur Conan Doyle in a historical fiction debut for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.

Born into an affluent family, Leo outwardly seems like a typical daughter of English privilege in the 1870s: she lives with her wealthy married sister Christabel, and lacks for neither dresses nor trinkets. But Leo has a crippling speech impediment that makes it difficult for her to speak but curiously allows her to mimic other people's voices flawlessly. Servants and ladies alike call her "Mad Miss Mimic" behind her back... and watch as she unintentionally scares off every potential suitor. Only the impossibly handsome Mr. Thornfax seems interested in Leo...but why? And does he have a connection to the mysterious Black Glove group that has London in its terrifying grasp? Trapped in a city under siege by terror attacks and gripped by opium fever, where doctors (including her brother-in-law) race to patent an injectable formula, Leo must search for truth in increasingly dangerous situations - but to do so, she must first find her voice.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra is an historical fiction that packs quite a punch. It encompasses a step back in time, while providing its readers with a thrilling mystery and a slow burning romance. The main character, Leo, is relatable, quirky and full of spunk, making this book one of my favourite reads of 2016! Continue reading

2016 Books: End of Year Book Survey

2016-books2016 Books

Welcome to the 2016 End of Year Book Survey hosted by Jamie at The Perpetual Page Turner! I have never participated in this event before and I am always in awe of everyone else’s reading accomplishments that I thought it was time for me to join in! So, read on and discover my year in books for 2016! Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday #85: The Truth About Happily Ever After by Karole Cozzo

 

img_3437.jpg

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s book:

Book cover for The Truth about Happily Ever After
Title: 
The Truth About Happily Ever After
Author: Karole Cozzo
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Publication Date: May 16, 2017

Summary (from Goodreads): Chin up, Princess, or the crown will slip.

A theme park princess must put her life back together after her happily ever after falls apart in this contemporary YA romance from Karole Cozzo, author of How to Keep Rolling After a Fall and How to Say I Love You Out Loud.

Everything was supposed to be perfect. Alyssa has a job she loves, working as Cinderella at her favorite theme park; a fantastic group of friends; and a boyfriend who will no longer be long distance. But as the summer progresses, her prince becomes less charming and more distant, and Alyssa’s perfect summer falls apart.

Forced to acknowledge that life is not always a fairy tale, Alyssa starts working to pull her herself back together. Fortunately, she doesn’t have to do it alone. With her friend Miller’s support, she’s determined to prove that she’s more than just a pretty princess. And with his help, maybe she’s finally ready for something better than dreams. Maybe she’s ready for something real. Continue reading

Review: Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall

Review: Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise GornallTitle: Under Rose-Tainted Skies
Author: Louise Gornall
Publisher: Clarion
Publication Date: January 3, 2017

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

At seventeen, Norah has accepted that the four walls of her house delineate her life. She knows that fearing everything from inland tsunamis to odd numbers is irrational, but her mind insists the world outside is too big, too dangerous. So she stays safe inside, watching others’ lives through her windows and social media feed.

But when Luke arrives on her doorstep, he doesn’t see a girl defined by medical terms and mental health. Instead, he sees a girl who is funny, smart, and brave. And Norah likes what he sees.

Their friendship turns deeper, but Norah knows Luke deserves a normal girl. One who can walk beneath the open sky. One who is unafraid of kissing. One who isn’t so screwed up. Can she let him go for his own good—or can Norah learn to see herself through Luke’s eyes?

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall is an inspiring and believable story about life with a mental illness. The accuracy of the facts is evident and the main character has a great sense of humour. I especially enjoyed how the book doesn’t romanticize mental illness and Luke’s respectful personality. I would definitely recommend this book! Continue reading

Review: Mistletoe by Hailey Abbott

Review: Mistletoe by Hailey AbbottTitle: Mistletoe: 4 Holiday Stories
Author: Hailey Abbott, Melissa de la Cruz, Aimee Friedman, Nina Malkin
Publisher: Scholastic
Publication Date: October 1, 2006

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Glittering white snowflakes. The handsome blond ski instructor. The sparkle on a cashmere skirt. Hot cocoa and kisses in front of a crackling fire. The holiday season is the ESSENCE of magic...and romance. Four of today's bestselling teen authors -- Melissa de la Cruz (THE AU PAIRS), Aimee Friedman (SOUTH BEACH), Hailey Abbott (SUMMER BOYS), and Nina Malkin (6X) -- bring us delectable tales of love and lust and holiday cheers (and tears) in this one-of-a-kind collection that teens will devour faster than a plate of Christmas cookies.

Review: Mistletoe by Hailey Abbott

Mistletoe by Hailey Abbott gives the reader a bit of everything with four different festive stories. This book is just over 200 pages and can easily be read in one sitting. One of my favourite things to do around the holiday season is read short and sweet Christmas books. Continue reading