Waiting on Wednesday: Assassin’s Heart

 

img_3437

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s book: AssASSIN’S HEART

The Assassin's HeartTitle: Assassin's Heart
Author: Sarah Ahiers
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: February 2, 2016

Summary (from Goodreads):

In the kingdom of Lovero, nine rival Families of assassins lawfully kill people for a price. As a highly skilled member of one of these powerful clans, seventeen-year-old Lea Saldana has always trusted in the strength of her Family. Until she awakens to find them murdered and her home in flames. The Da Vias, the Saldanas’ biggest enemy, must be responsible—and Lea should have seen it coming. But her secret relationship with the Da Vias’ son, Val, has clouded her otherwise killer instinct—and given the Da Vias more reason than ever to take her Family down.

Racked with guilt and shattered over Val’s probable betrayal, Lea sets out to even the score, with her heart set on retaliation and only one thought clear in her mind: make the Da Vias pay.

Amazon “Book Depository

Continue reading

Review: Lost Ocean Coloring Book

Review: Lost Ocean Coloring BookTitle: Lost Ocean: An Inky Adventure Coloring Book for Adults
Author: Johanna Basford
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: October 27, 2015
Rating: five-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

From the creator of the worldwide bestsellers Secret Garden and Enchanted Forest, a beautiful new coloring book that takes you on a magical journey beneath the waves.

With Lost Ocean, Johanna Basford invites color-inners of all ages to discover an enchanting underwater world hidden in the depths of the sea. Through intricate pen and ink illustrations to complete, color, and embellish, readers will meet shoals of exotic fish, curious octopi, and delicately penned seahorses. Visit coral reefs and barnacle-studded shipwrecks, discover intricate shells and pirate treasure. Secret Garden and Enchanted Forest fans and newcomers alike will welcome this creative journey into an inky new world.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: Lost Ocean Coloring Book

Lost Ocean by Johanna Basford is a coloring book that the reader/artist can really immerse themselves in and get lost within its gorgeous pages. Although it is an adult coloring book, it can actually be enjoyable at any age. This book makes the reader feel artistic, provides an amusing game and aids in relaxation. Continue reading

Waiting On Wednesday: Sword and Verse

 

img_3437

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s book: Sword and Verse

Sword and VerseTitle: Sword and Verse
Author: Kathy MacMillan
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: January 19, 2016

Summary (from Goodreads):

Raisa was only a child when she was kidnapped and enslaved in Qilara. Forced to serve in the palace of the King, she’s endured hunger, abuse, and the harrowing fear of discovery. Everyone knows that Raisa is Arnath, but not that she is a Learned One, a part of an Arnath group educated in higher order symbols. In Qilara, this language is so fiercely protected that only the King, the Prince, and Tutors are allowed to know it. So when the current Tutor-in-training is executed for sharing the guarded language with slaves and Raisa is chosen to replace her, Raisa knows that, although she may have a privileged position among slaves, any slipup could mean death.

That would be challenging enough, but training alongside Prince Mati could be her real undoing. And when a romance blossoms between them, she’s suddenly filled with a dangerous hope for something she never before thought possible: more. Then she’s approached by the Resistance—an underground army of slaves—to help liberate the Arnath people. Joining the Resistance could mean freeing her people…but she’d also be aiding in the war against her beloved, an honorable man she knows wants to help the slaves.

Working against the one she loves—and a palace full of deadly political renegades—has some heady consequences. As Raisa struggles with what’s right, she unwittingly uncovers a secret that the Qilarites have long since buried…one that, unlocked, could bring the current world order to its knees.

And Raisa is the one holding the key.

Amazon “Book Depository

Continue reading

Book Review: Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

Book Review: Passenger by Alexandra BrackenTitle: Passenger (Passenger #1)
Series: Passenger #1
Author: Alexandra Bracken
Also by this author: The Darkest Minds
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Genres: Historical Fiction, Sci-Fi
Publication Date: January 5, 2016
Rating: four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has traveled not just miles but years from home. And she’s inherited a legacy she knows nothing about from a family whose existence she’s never heard of. Until now.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods—a powerful family in the colonies—and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past that he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go so easily. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, Nicholas’ passenger, can find. In order to protect her, he must ensure she brings it back to them—whether she wants to or not.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveler who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to the truth of their search, and the deadly game the Ironwoods are playing, treacherous forces threaten to separate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home... forever.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Book Review: Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken is one of those books that you wish would never end! The novel is all about time travel and its attention to historical details is impeccable. There is also a main character who plays the violin, is very relatable and adds depth to the story. Continue reading

Review: This Raging Light by Estelle Laure

Review: This Raging Light by Estelle LaureTitle: This Raging Light
Author: Estelle Laure
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Genres: Contemporary
Publication Date: December 22, 2015
Rating: three-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

For fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell comes a gorgeous debut novel about family, friends, and first love.

Lucille Bennett is pushed into adulthood after her mom decides to “take a break”…from parenting, from responsibility, from Lucille and her little sister, Wren. Left to cover for her absentee parents, Lucille thinks, “Wren and Lucille. Lucille and Wren. I will do whatever I have to. No one will pull us apart.”
Now is not the time for level-headed Lucille to fall in love. But love—messy, inconvenient love—is what she’s about to experience when she falls for Digby Jones, her best friend’s brother. With blazing longing that builds to a fever pitch, Estelle Laure’s soulful debut will keep readers hooked and hoping until the very last page.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: This Raging Light by Estelle Laure

While the cover for This Raging Light by Estelle Laure is absolutely stunning, I had a very hard time enjoying this book. The main character isn’t one that I could easily connect with. Also, there are many loose ends at the end of the book, which left me wondering so many things. However, the writing in this book is truly beautiful and I was able to keep reading because of it. Continue reading