Review: One Day in December by Josie Silver

Review: One Day in December by Josie SilverTitle: One Day in December
Author: Josie Silver
Publisher: Broadway Books
Publication Date: October 16, 2018

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

A love story about what happens after you meet, or rather, don't meet the one.

Laurie is pretty sure love at first sight doesn't exist anywhere but the movies. But then, through a misted-up bus window one snowy December day, she sees a man who she knows instantly is the one. Their eyes meet, there's a moment of pure magic...and then her bus drives away.

Certain they're fated to find each other again, Laurie spends a year scanning every bus stop and cafe in London for him. But she doesn't find him, not when it matters anyway. Instead they "reunite" at a Christmas party, when her best friend Sarah giddily introduces her new boyfriend to Laurie. It's Jack, the man from the bus. It would be.

What follows for Laurie, Sarah and Jack is ten years of friendship, heartbreak, missed opportunities, roads not taken, and destinies reconsidered. One Day in December is a joyous, heartwarming and immensely moving love story to escape into and a reminder that fate takes inexplicable turns along the route to happiness.

Amazon | Book Depository

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

One Day in December by Josie Silver is a love story that will have you believing in love at first sight and then leave you in an emotional mess. The novel also looks at friendship and finding oneself through its cast of interesting characters. When the reader gets to the dramatic conclusion, the story is reminiscent of a classic movie. Continue reading

Review: The Paris Secret by Lily Graham

Review: The Paris Secret by Lily GrahamTitle: The Paris Secret
Author: Lily Graham
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication Date: October 4, 2018

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

On the brink of the second world war, a beautiful Parisian bookshop hides a heartbreaking secret that will tear one family apart forever …

The last time Valerie was in Paris, she was three-years-old, running from the Nazis, away from the only home she had ever known.
Now as a young woman, Valerie must return to Paris, to the bookshop and her only surviving relative, her grandfather Vincent, to find out what really happened to those she loved. As she gets to know Vincent again, she hears a tragic story of Nazi occupied Paris, a doomed love affair and a mother willing to sacrifice everything for her beloved daughter.
Can Valerie and Vincent help each other to mend the wounds of the past? Valerie isn’t after a fairy-tale ending, she only wants the truth. But what is the one devastating secret that Vincent is determined to keep from his granddaughter?

Amazon

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

The Paris Secret by Lily Graham is an epic story set during World War II. It tells the tale of how Valerie discovers the truth about her heritage through the use of alternating timelines. The writing is beautiful, and the characters are ones that you will instantly fall in love with. Continue reading

Review: A Spark of Light by Jodi Picoult

Review: A Spark of Light by Jodi PicoultTitle: A Spark of Light
Author: Jodi Picoult
Publisher: Random House Canada
Publication Date: October 2, 2018

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

The lives of ordinary people become intertwined when a gunman takes hostages at a women's clinic in the #1 New York Times bestselling author's latest.

At Mississippi's sole remaining women's reproductive services clinic, a gunman bursts in and takes its patients and staff hostage. The stories that brought these individuals to the clinic vary, from a woman awaiting cancer screening results to a protestor hoping to catch the clinic in a scandal that could be used in a pro-life campaign. Then there is the police hostage negotiator, whose daughter is also trapped inside the facility, and the gunman himself, who has a vendetta to carry out. Meanwhile, across the state, a seventeen-year-old woman lands in the hospital after an attempt to self-terminate her pregnancy and is subsequently charged by the pro-life DA for the murder of her unborn child. They, too, are connected to the events unfolding in the clinic.

As the book moves backward in time, each chapter set one hour earlier than the last, we learn how all these people and their stories are unwittingly connected--and that none of these characters' reasons for being where they are at this fateful place and time are exactly what it appears at first glance.

Amazon | Book Depository

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

A Spark of Light by Jodi Picoult is a book that really took me by surprise. Reading a novel in which you already know the ending to seems a little daunting. However, the format really seems to fit the story. The controversial topic of women’s reproductive rights is presented in a gripping and interesting way that doesn’t ask the reader to choose a side, but asks the reader to look at all the sides. Continue reading

Review: The Exes’ Revenge by Jo Jakeman

Review: The Exes’ Revenge by Jo JakemanTitle: The Exes' Revenge
Author: Jo Jakeman
Publisher: Berkley Books
Publication Date: September 11, 2018

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

A wickedly dark debut thriller about three women who've all been involved with the same man and realize the one thing they have in common is that they all want revenge against him...

Divorces are often messy, and Imogen's is no exception. Phillip Rochester is controlling, abusive, and determined to make things as difficult as possible. When he shows up without warning demanding that Imogen move out of their house by the end of the month or he'll sue for sole custody of their young son, Imogen is ready to snap.

In a moment of madness, Imogen does something unthinkable--something that puts her in control for the first time in years. She's desperate to protect her son and to claim authority over her own life.

But she wasn't expecting both Phillip's ex-wife and new girlfriend to get tangled up in her plans. These three very different women--and unlikely allies--reluctantly team up to take revenge against a man who has wronged them all.

Amazon | Book Depository

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

The Exes’ Revenge by Jo Jakeman is a fast-paced story of revenge that will surprise the reader with it’s shocking ending. This dark thriller has an interesting cast of female characters who come together to seek justice for themselves. It is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies. Continue reading

Review: An Unwanted Guest by Shari Lapena

Review: An Unwanted Guest by Shari LapenaTitle: An Unwanted Guest
Author: Shari Lapena
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Publication Date: August 7, 2018

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

A remote lodge in upstate New York is the perfect winter wonderland getaway . . . until the bodies start piling up.

It's winter in the Catskills and the weather outside is frightful, but Mitchell's Inn is so delightful! The cozy lodge nestled deep in the woods is perfect for a relaxing--maybe even romantic--weekend away. The Inn boasts spacious old rooms with huge wood-burning fireplaces, a well-stocked wine cellar and opportunities for cross-country skiing, snowshoeing or just curling up with a book and someone you love.

So when the weather takes a turn for the worse and a blizzard cuts off the electricity--and all contact with the outside world--the guests settle in for the long haul. The power's down but they've got candles, blankets and firewood--a genuine rustic experience!

Soon, though, a body turns up--surely an accident. When a second body appears, they start to panic. Then they find a third body.

Within the snowed-in paradise, something--or someone--is picking off the guests one by one. They can't leave, and with no cell service, there's no prospect of getting the police in until the weather loosens its icy grip.

The weekend getaway has turned deadly. For some couples, it's their first time away. For others, it will be their last. And there's nothing they can do about it but huddle in and hope they can survive the storm.

Amazon | Book Depository

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

An Unwanted Guest by Shari Lapena is all you could ever ask for in a murder mystery. It is a classic who-done-it, set in an old hotel in the middle of nowhere. The characters are all quite interesting and provide many different perspectives into this book that really makes you think. Continue reading