Dr Seuss Books in Order: Author Books & Series List

Dr Seuss Books in Order: Author Books & Series List

Dr. Seuss books in order lists are the most sought after tidbits of information about the author Dr. Seuss this week, as March 2nd marks National Read Across America Day and Dr. Seuss’ birthday! There are so many fantastic reads in this series of books by this author on our complete list. This list of Dr. Seuss books in order of publication date has something that everyone will find to enjoy. Find the perfect book to celebrate Dr. Seuss and the love of reading all on this Dr. Seuss books in order list.

dr seuss books list

Last Updated: May 31, 2023

Dr. Seuss Books in Order

1930’s Dr. Seuss Books in Order

  1. The Pocket Book of Boners (1931)

2. The 500 Hats Of Bartholomew Cubbins (1938)

3. The King’s Stilts (1939)

1940’s Dr. Seuss Books in Order

4. Horton Hatches the Egg (1940)

5. Thidwick The Big-Hearted Moose (1948)

6. Bartholomew And The Oobleck (1949)

1950’s Dr. Seuss Books

7. Scrambled Eggs Super! (1953)

8. Horton Hears A Who! (1954)

9. If I Ran The Circus (1956)

10. The Cat in the Hat (1957)

11. How The Grinch Stole Christmas (1957)

12. Yertle The Turtle And Other Stories (1958)

13. The Cat In The Hat Comes Back! (1958)

14. Happy Birthday To You! (1959)

Dr. Seuss’ Birthday is such a fun day to celebrate reading and find out about all of the Dr. Seuss books in order of publication. Check out the video below to get some inspiration for your own Dr. Seuss Day celebration.

1960’s Dr. Seuss Books in Order

15. Green Eggs And Ham (1960)

16. One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish (1960)

17. The Sneetches And Other Stories (1961)

18. Dr Seuss’s Sleep Book (1962)

19. Dr Seuss’s ABC (1963)

20. Hop on Pop (1963)

21. Fox In Socks (1965)

22. I Had Trouble In Getting To Solla Sollew (1965)

23. The Cat in the Hat Song Book (1967)

24. The Foot Book (1968)

25. I Can Lick 30 Tigers Today! And Other Stories (1969)

26. My Book About Me (1969)

1970’s Dr. Seuss Books in Order

27. I Can Draw It Myself (1970)

28. Mr Brown Can Moo! Can You? (1970)

29. The Lorax (1971)

30. Marvin K. Mooney Will You Please Go Now! (1972)

31. Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are? (1973)

32. The Shape Of Me And Other Stuff (1973)

33. Great Day For Up (1974)

34. There’s a Wocket in my Pocket! (1974)

35. Oh, The Thinks You Can Think! (1975)

36. I Can Read With My Eyes Shut! (1978)

37. Oh, Say Can You Say? (1979)

1980’s Dr. Seuss Books in Order

38. Hunches In Bunches (1982)

39. The Butter Battle Book (1984)

40. You’re Only Old Once! (1986)

41. I am Not Going to Get Up Today (1987)

1990’s Dr. Seuss Books in Order

42. Oh, The Places You’ll Go! (1990)

Book Series by Dr. Seuss in Order

  1. The Cat in the Hat (4 Book Series)

    • The Cat in the Hat (1960)

    • The Cat in the Hat Comes Back (1960)

    • The Cat’s Quizzer (1976) *no longer published

    • I Can Read with My Eyes Shut! (1978)


2. Horton the Elephant (3 Book Series)

      • Horton Hatches the Egg (1940)

      • Horton and the Kwuggerbug and More Lost Stories (1951)

      • Horton Hears a Who! (1960)


3. Marco (2 Book Series) *no longer published

      • And to Think That I Saw That on Mulberry Street (1937)

      • McElligot’s Pool (1947)


4. Bartholomew Cubbins (2 Book Series)

      • The 500 Hats of Bartholomew Cubbins (1938)

      • Bartholomew and the Oobleck (1949)

Dr. Seuss Books No Longer in Publication in Order

6 Dr. Seuss books have been pulled from the shelves and will no longer be published due to offensive imagery. As such, they have been removed from our list above. These Dr. Seuss books no longer published are:

      1. And To Think That I Saw It On Mulberry Street (1937)

      2. McElligot’s Pool (1947)

      3. If I Ran the Zoo (1950)

      4. Scrambled Eggs Super! (1953)

      5. On Beyond Zebra (1955)

      6. The Cat’s Quizzer (1976)

About Dr. Seuss

dr seuss

Theodor Seuss Geisel—aka Dr. Seuss—is one of the most beloved children’s book authors of all time. From The Cat in the Hat to Oh, the Places You’ll Go!, his iconic characters, stories, and art style have been a lasting influence on generations of children and adults. The books he wrote and illustrated under the name Dr. Seuss (and others that he wrote but did not illustrate, including some under the pseudonyms Theo. LeSieg and Rosetta Stone) have been translated into 45 languages. Hundreds of millions of copies have found their way into homes and hearts around the world. Dr. Seuss’s long list of awards includes Caldecott Honors, the Pulitzer Prize, and eight honorary doctorates. Works based on his original stories have won three Oscars, three Emmys, three Grammys, and a Peabody.

Dr. Seuss Books in Order

Dr. Seuss Books in order lists are a fantastic way to celebrate the author Dr. Seuss’ birthday and the National Read Across America Day.  Why not even read all of the Dr. Seuss books in order to make a reading challenge for yourself? If you are a Goodreads user, there are quite a few lists to browse that feature Dr. Seuss books as well. What are some of your favourite Dr. Seuss books?


About Lori

Avid reader. Contributor to The Candid Cover. Educator.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.