Review: Busted by Gina Ciocca

Review: Busted by Gina CioccaTitle: Busted
Author: Gina Ciocca
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication Date: January 2, 2018

three-half-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Catching cheaters and liars is a lucrative hobby—until you fall for one of the suspects. Perfect for fans of Veronica Mars, this new novel from the author of Last Year's Mistake will steal your heart!

Marisa never planned to be a snoop for hire. It wasn't like she wanted to catch her best friend's boyfriend making out with another girl. But as her reputation for sniffing out cheaters spreads all over school, Marisa finds herself the reluctant queen of busting two-timing boys.

And her next case? It's for ex-frenemy Kendall. She's convinced her boyfriend, TJ, has feelings for someone else and persuades Marissa to start spying on him. But the more Marisa gets to know sincere and artistic TJ, the more she starts to fall for him. Worse yet, the feelings seem to be mutual. Marisa knows she needs to give up her investigation—and the spoken-for guy who may just be the love of her life. Then she uncovers new secrets about Kendall and TJ, secrets that take "cheater" to a whole new level...

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: Busted by Gina Ciocca

Busted by Gina Ciocca is a super cute novel with a hint of mystery. It is all about a girl who spies on her clients’ boyfriends to catch them cheating. I enjoyed the main characters, but there was not enough action, and the book falls a bit flat. Continue reading

Wishlist Wednesday #135: In Search of Us by Ava Dellaira

Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by  Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about and have yet to read.

This week’s book:

26594811Title: In Search of Us
Author: Ava Dellaira
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Publication Date: March 6, 2018

Summary (from Goodreads): The author of the beloved Love Letters to the Dead returns with a parallel story of a mother and daughter each at age seventeen. Marilyn’s tale recounts the summer she fell in love and set out on her own path. Angie’s story is about her search for her unknown father.

This sweeping multi-generational love story introduces readers to mother-and-daughter pair Marilyn and Angie. To seventeen-year-old Angie, who is mixed-race, Marilyn is her hardworking, devoted white single mother. But Marilyn was once young, too. When Marilyn was seventeen, she fell in love with Angie’s father, James, who was African-American. But Angie’s never met him, and Marilyn has always told her he died before she was born. When Angie discovers evidence of an uncle she’s never met she starts to wonder: What if her dad is still alive, too? So she sets off on a journey to find him, hitching a ride to LA from her home in New Mexico with her ex-boyfriend, Sam. Along the way, she uncovers some hard truths about herself, her mother, and what truly happened to her father. Continue reading

Cookbook Review: Sweet Revenge by Heather Kim

Cookbook Review: Sweet Revenge by Heather KimTitle: Sweet Revenge: Passive-Agressive Desserts for Your Exes & Enemies
Author: Heather Kim
Publisher: Switch Press
Publication Date: January 1, 2018

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

50+ killer cakes, cookies, and candies for your exes and enemies. Dumped by your beefcake boyfriend? BFF steal your one-and-only? Lab partner a more-than-periodic no-show? Don't take these battles online. (Seriously, don't do that, okay?). Get out your heaviest rolling pins, sharpest cleavers, and most blistering torches, and kill your enemies and exes . . . with kindness. That's right - bake that loser ex a pan of Go Fudge Yourself. Gift your former friend a You're the Devil Cake. And give that annoying admirer a Donut Call Me Again. Let them taste your over-them happiness and see what comes next . . . Pastry chef and tattoo artist Heather Kim serves up sinfully delicious recipes and bittersweet advice.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Cookbook Review: Sweet Revenge by Heather Kim

You have most likely guessed from the title of Sweet Revenge by Heather KIm alone that it is a fun way to take your heartbreak into the kitchen and work out some of your frustrations by making treats. Kim’s approach is one that is not a self-help book per se, but a book that can be used to get a little bit of “sweet revenge.” The act of mixing and baking has never had such a unique twist! Continue reading

Wishlist Wednesday #134: Tyler Johnson Was Here by Jay Coles

Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by  Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about and have yet to read.

This week’s book:

35604682Title: Tyler Johnson Was Here
Author: Jay Coles
Publisher: Little Brown Books For Young Readers
Publication Date: March 20, 2018

Summary (from Goodreads): When Marvin Johnson’s twin, Tyler, goes to a party, Marvin decides to tag along to keep an eye on his brother. But what starts as harmless fun turns into a shooting, followed by a police raid.

The next day, Tyler has gone missing, and it’s up to Marvin to find him. But when Tyler is found dead, a video leaked online tells an even more chilling story: Tyler has been shot and killed by a police officer. Terrified as his mother unravels and mourning a brother who is now a hashtag, Marvin must learn what justice and freedom really mean. Continue reading

Review: Someone to Love by Melissa de la Cruz

Review: Someone to Love by Melissa de la CruzTitle: Someone to Love
Author: Melissa de la Cruz
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Publication Date: January 2, 2018

three-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Olivia “Liv” Blakely knows how important it is to look good. Her father is running for governor and Liv is thrust into the bright media spotlight. She has an image to uphold—to her maybe boyfriend, to her new friends and to the public, who love to find fault on social media.

Liv’s sunny, charming facade hides an inner voice that will settle for nothing less than perfection. No matter who she has to give up, or what she has to lose, to achieve it. But as the high price of perfection takes a toll, Liv realizes that the love she feels for herself is more important than all the ‘likes’ in the world.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: Someone to Love by Melissa de la Cruz

Someone to Love by Melissa de la Cruz is a YA novel that digs deep into the issues surrounding bulimia. While there is some enlightening information contained in this book that will educate its readers about a serious and often ignored topic, there are too many other topics that this book also attempts to address, which seems to detract from the original theme. The main character is one that can be empathized with, but she is not one that I found to be particularly enjoyable. This book contains scenes of self-harm, so I will caution anyone who is triggered by this topic. Continue reading