Review: Busted by Gina Ciocca

Review: Busted by Gina CioccaTitle: Busted
Author: Gina Ciocca
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery, Young Adult Fiction
Publication Date: January 2, 2018
Rating: three-half-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

Catching cheaters and liars is a lucrative hobby—until you fall for one of the suspects. Perfect for fans of Veronica Mars, this new novel from the author of Last Year's Mistake will steal your heart!

Marisa never planned to be a snoop for hire. It wasn't like she wanted to catch her best friend's boyfriend making out with another girl. But as her reputation for sniffing out cheaters spreads all over school, Marisa finds herself the reluctant queen of busting two-timing boys.

And her next case? It's for ex-frenemy Kendall. She's convinced her boyfriend, TJ, has feelings for someone else and persuades Marissa to start spying on him. But the more Marisa gets to know sincere and artistic TJ, the more she starts to fall for him. Worse yet, the feelings seem to be mutual. Marisa knows she needs to give up her investigation—and the spoken-for guy who may just be the love of her life. Then she uncovers new secrets about Kendall and TJ, secrets that take "cheater" to a whole new level...

Amazon “Book “Bookshop.org”

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: Busted by Gina Ciocca

Busted by Gina Ciocca is a super cute novel with a hint of mystery. It is all about a girl who spies on her clients’ boyfriends to catch them cheating. I enjoyed the main characters, but there was not enough action, and the book falls a bit flat. Continue reading

In Search of Us by Ava Dellaira

In Search of Us by Ava Dellaira

In Search of Us by Ava Dellaira is a book that I am so excited for! The parallel story is one that should be really interesting and give different perspectives, yet it seems as though there will also be two stories in one here. Road trip books are my favourites, so I know that I will be picking this one up as soon as I can! Continue reading

Cookbook Review: Sweet Revenge by Heather Kim

Cookbook Review: Sweet Revenge by Heather KimTitle: Sweet Revenge: Passive-Agressive Desserts for Your Exes & Enemies
Author: Heather Kim
Publisher: Switch Press
Genres: Cookbook, Lifestyle
Publication Date: January 1, 2018
Rating: four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

50+ killer cakes, cookies, and candies for your exes and enemies. Dumped by your beefcake boyfriend? BFF steal your one-and-only? Lab partner a more-than-periodic no-show? Don't take these battles online. (Seriously, don't do that, okay?). Get out your heaviest rolling pins, sharpest cleavers, and most blistering torches, and kill your enemies and exes . . . with kindness. That's right - bake that loser ex a pan of Go Fudge Yourself. Gift your former friend a You're the Devil Cake. And give that annoying admirer a Donut Call Me Again. Let them taste your over-them happiness and see what comes next . . . Pastry chef and tattoo artist Heather Kim serves up sinfully delicious recipes and bittersweet advice.

Amazon “Book “iBooks” “Bookshop.org”

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Cookbook Review: Sweet Revenge by Heather Kim

You have most likely guessed from the title of Sweet Revenge by Heather KIm alone that it is a fun way to take your heartbreak into the kitchen and work out some of your frustrations by making treats. Kim’s approach is one that is not a self-help book per se, but a book that can be used to get a little bit of “sweet revenge.” The act of mixing and baking has never had such a unique twist! Continue reading

Tyler Johnson Was Here by Jay Coles

Tyler Johnson Was Here by Jay Coles

Tyler Johnson Was Here by Jay Coles first caught my attention with that gorgeous cover! The story, however, seems as though it is not going to be so pretty. Does this book not sound like it is going to be incredibly gripping and hard-hitting? I look forward to learning more about this one and I am sure that copious amounts of tissues will be on hand as well. Continue reading

Review: Someone to Love by Melissa de la Cruz

Review: Someone to Love by Melissa de la CruzTitle: Someone to Love
Author: Melissa de la Cruz
Also by this author: Mistletoe: 4 Holiday Stories
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult Fiction
Publication Date: January 2, 2018
Rating: three-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

Olivia “Liv” Blakely knows how important it is to look good. Her father is running for governor and Liv is thrust into the bright media spotlight. She has an image to uphold—to her maybe boyfriend, to her new friends and to the public, who love to find fault on social media.

Liv’s sunny, charming facade hides an inner voice that will settle for nothing less than perfection. No matter who she has to give up, or what she has to lose, to achieve it. But as the high price of perfection takes a toll, Liv realizes that the love she feels for herself is more important than all the ‘likes’ in the world.

Amazon “Book “Bookshop.org”

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: Someone to Love by Melissa de la Cruz

Someone to Love by Melissa de la Cruz is a YA novel that digs deep into the issues surrounding bulimia. While there is some enlightening information contained in this book that will educate its readers about a serious and often ignored topic, there are too many other topics that this book also attempts to address, which seems to detract from the original theme. The main character is one that can be empathized with, but she is not one that I found to be particularly enjoyable. This book contains scenes of self-harm, so I will caution anyone who is triggered by this topic. Continue reading