Book Review: By Any Name by Cynthia Voigt

Book Review: By Any Name by Cynthia VoigtTitle: By Any Name
Author: Cynthia Voigt
Publisher: Diversion Publishing
Genres: Contemporary, Historical Fiction
Publication Date: April 4, 2017
Rating: four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

Rida is an orphan out of California who dances for the troops in the USO. Spencer is a naval officer with roots deep in New England's upper crust. They meet during World War II at an Officer's Club dance, and Spencer might have been dissuaded if he saw just one engagement ring on her finger, but instead, he sees four.

The courtship is easy, Rida wins him and wears his ring alone. But Rida is a wild card, and Spencer's family can't accept her unconventional approach to marriage, motherhood, and life.

Even Rida's four daughters struggle to understand her, but for them it becomes a quest--to untangle the mystery of their stubborn, off-beat, clear-sighted, loving, and above all mesmerizing mother.

Award-winning author Cynthia Voigt has penned a novel for readers who grew up loving her Newbery Award-winning novels for children and young adults. By Any Name features an indelible woman who sees lines as meant to be crossed, changing the lives of all who come into contact with her indefatigable spirit.

From the award-winning author of Homecoming and Dicey's Song comes a heartfelt adult novel perfect for readers of Judy Blume.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Book Review: By Any Name by Cynthia Voigt

By Any Name by Cynthia Voigt is an historical fiction that is reminiscent of Margaret Laurence’s The Stone Angel. As a fan of Cynthia Voigt’s many novels for teens, such as Dicey’s Song, I was thrilled to discover this new adult contemporary. The story of Rida’s life is told through the eyes of her daughter Beth and really captures the era beautifully. Also, the references to Little Women by Louisa May Alcott that are sprinkled throughout the story add to its theme in a unique way. Continue reading

Review: Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett

Review: Alex, Approximately by Jenn BennettTitle: Alex, Approximately
Author: Jenn Bennett
Also by this author: The Anatomical Shape of a Heart
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Genres: Contemporary
Publication Date: April 4, 2017
Rating: three-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

The one guy Bailey Rydell can’t stand is actually the boy of her dreams—she just doesn’t know it yet.

Classic movie fan Bailey “Mink” Rydell has spent months crushing on a witty film geek she only knows online as Alex. Two coasts separate the teens until Bailey moves in with her dad, who lives in the same California surfing town as her online crush.

Faced with doubts (what if he’s a creep in real life—or worse?), Bailey doesn’t tell Alex she’s moved to his hometown. Or that she’s landed a job at the local tourist-trap museum. Or that she’s being heckled daily by the irritatingly hot museum security guard, Porter Roth—a.k.a. her new archnemesis. But life is a whole lot messier than the movies, especially when Bailey discovers that tricky fine line between hate, love, and whatever it is she’s starting to feel for Porter.

And as the summer months go by, Bailey must choose whether to cling to a dreamy online fantasy in Alex or take a risk on an imperfect reality with Porter. The choice is both simpler and more complicated than she realizes, because Porter Roth is hiding a secret of his own: Porter is Alex…Approximately.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: Alex, Approxiamtely by Jenn Bennett

Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett has everything that I look for in a summer read: a cute and amusing concept, some witty banter, and a gorgeous California setting. While I enjoyed this book, I became frustrated with how predictable and obvious the ending is and all the weird coincidences, so I didn’t end up loving it. However, I would still recommend it, as it is so adorable. Continue reading

Book Quotes: Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

Friday

Welcome to my first Friday Reads post! I miss sharing quotes and bits of books that I am currently reading with you and I stumbled across 2 really great memes for sharing books:

Book Beginnings is hosted by Rose City Reader where participants share the first sentence (or so) of the book, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are quite simple: Grab a book, any book and turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader. Find any non-spoilery sentence(s) and post.

This week’s book: Big Little Lies

Big Little Lies BookTitle: Big Little Lies
Author: Liane Moriarty
Publisher: Berkley Books
Publication Date: February 9, 2017

Summary (from Goodreads):

A murder...A tragic accident...Or just parents behaving badly? What’s indisputable is that someone is dead.

Madeline is a force to be reckoned with. She’s funny, biting, and passionate; she remembers everything and forgives no one. Celeste is the kind of beautiful woman who makes the world stop and stare but she is paying a price for the illusion of perfection. New to town, single mom Jane is so young that another mother mistakes her for a nanny. She comes with a mysterious past and a sadness beyond her years. These three women are at different crossroads, but they will all wind up in the same shocking place.

Big Little Lies is a brilliant take on ex-husbands and second wives, mothers and daughters, schoolyard scandal, and the little lies that can turn lethal. 

Amazon “Book Depository

Continue reading

Book Review: Zenn Diagram by Wendy Brant

Book Review: Zenn Diagram by Wendy BrantTitle: Zenn Diagram
Author: Wendy Brant
Publisher: KCP Loft
Genres: Contemporary
Publication Date: April 4, 2017
Rating: four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

The more I touch someone, the more I can see and understand, and the more I think I can help. But that’s my mistake. I can’t help. You can’t fix people like you can solve a math problem.

Math genius. Freak of nature. Loner.

Eva Walker has literally one friend—if you don’t count her quadruplet three-year-old-siblings—and it’s not even because she’s a math nerd. No, Eva is a loner out of necessity, because everyone and everything around her is an emotional minefield. All she has to do is touch someone, or their shirt, or their cell phone, and she can read all their secrets, their insecurities, their fears.

Sure, Eva’s “gift” comes in handy when she’s tutoring math and she can learn where people are struggling just by touching their calculators. For the most part, though, it’s safer to keep her hands to herself. Until she meets six-foot-three, cute-without-trying Zenn Bennett, who makes that nearly impossible.

Zenn’s jacket gives Eva such a dark and violent vision that you’d think not touching him would be easy. But sometimes you have to take a risk…

Amazon

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Book Review: Zenn Diagram by Wendy Brant

Zenn Diagram by Wendy Brant really surprised me. When I first saw it, I was interested in how the author would incorporate a more sci-fi sounding concept into a contemporary, but it ended up working out perfectly. The main character is funny and relatable, and the way the book is written is just what I like. Even the title is a math joke! Continue reading

WoW: Dear Reader by Mary O’Connell

img_3437

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s book: Dear Reader by Mary o’Connell

Dear Reader Mary O'ConnellTitle: Dear Reader
Author: Mary O'Connell
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Publication Date: May 9, 2017

Summary (from Goodreads):

For seventeen-year-old Flannery Fields, the only respite from the plaid-skirted mean girls at Sacred Heart High School at is her beloved teacher Miss Sweeney’s AP English class. But when Miss Sweeney doesn't show up to teach Flannery’s favorite book, Wuthering Heights, and leaves behind her purse, Flannery knows something is wrong. 

The police are called, and Flannery gives them everything—except Miss Sweeney’s copy of Wuthering Heights. This she holds onto. And it’s a good thing she does, because when she opens it, something very strange happens. It has somehow transformed into Miss Sweeney’s real-time diary. It seems Miss Sweeney is in New York City—and she’s in trouble. 

So Flannery does something very unFlannery-like: she skips school and sets out for Manhattan, with the book as her guide. But as soon as she arrives, she meets a boy named Heath. Heath is British, on a gap year, and has strangely nineteenth-century mannerisms. In fact, Flannery can’t help thinking that he seems to have stepped from the pages of Brontë’s novel. Could it be that Flannery is actually spending this topsy-turvy day with her ultimate fictional romantic hero?

Amazon “Book Depository

Continue reading