Friday Reads: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

Friday

Book Beginnings is a book meme hosted by Rose City Reader where participants share the first sentence (or so) of the book, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are quite simple: Grab a book, any book and turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader. Find any non-spoilery sentence(s) and post.

This week’s book:

Book coverer Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

 

Title: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine 
Author: Gail Honeyman
Publisher: Viking
Publication Date: May 9, 2017

Summary (from Goodreads):  A sweet, quirky tale of modern redemption for readers of The Rosie ProjectMajor Pettigrew’s Last Stand, andThe Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry. Eleanor Oliphant is, well, a bit of an oddball–albeit a loveable one. She struggles with appropriate social skills and tends to say exactly what she’s thinking…and that, combined with her unusual appearance (scarred cheek, a tendency to wear the same clothes year after year), means that Eleanor has become a bit of a loner. But she thinks that nothing really important is missing in her carefully timetabled life of avoiding perplexing social interactions, where weekends are punctuated by frozen pizza, Glen’s Vodka, and phone chats with “Mummy.” But everything changes when Eleanor meets Raymond, the bumbling and sweet IT guy from her office. When she and Raymond together save Sammy, an elderly gentleman who has fallen on the sidewalk, the three become the kind of friends who rescue one another from the lives of isolation they have each been living. And it is Raymond’s big heart that will ultimately help Eleanor find the way to repairing her own damaged one.

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine is the story of a quirky woman whose social misunderstandings, mental health issues, and unabashed wit make for an irresistible journey as she realizes that the only way to survive in the real world is to open her heart to friendship–and that there’s always room there for love, too… Continue reading

Book Review: By Any Name by Cynthia Voigt

Book Review: By Any Name by Cynthia VoigtTitle: By Any Name
Author: Cynthia Voigt
Publisher: Diversion Publishing
Publication Date: April 4, 2017

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Rida is an orphan out of California who dances for the troops in the USO. Spencer is a naval officer with roots deep in New England's upper crust. They meet during World War II at an Officer's Club dance, and Spencer might have been dissuaded if he saw just one engagement ring on her finger, but instead, he sees four.

The courtship is easy, Rida wins him and wears his ring alone. But Rida is a wild card, and Spencer's family can't accept her unconventional approach to marriage, motherhood, and life.

Even Rida's four daughters struggle to understand her, but for them it becomes a quest--to untangle the mystery of their stubborn, off-beat, clear-sighted, loving, and above all mesmerizing mother.

Award-winning author Cynthia Voigt has penned a novel for readers who grew up loving her Newbery Award-winning novels for children and young adults. By Any Name features an indelible woman who sees lines as meant to be crossed, changing the lives of all who come into contact with her indefatigable spirit.

From the award-winning author of Homecoming and Dicey's Song comes a heartfelt adult novel perfect for readers of Judy Blume.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Book Review: By Any Name

As a fan of Cynthia Voigt’s many novels for teens, such as Dicey’s Song, I was thrilled to discover this new adult contemporary. By Any Name is an historical fiction that is reminiscent of Margaret Laurence’s The Stone Angel. The story of Rida’s life is told through the eyes of her daughter Beth and really captures the era beautifully. Also, the references to Little Women by Louisa May Alcott that are sprinkled throughout the story add to its theme in a unique way. Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday #99: Lucky in Love by Kasie West

img_3437

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s book:

Book cover for Lucky in Love by Kasie West
Title: 
Lucky in Love
Author: Kasie West
Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
Publication Date: July 25, 2017

Summary (from Goodreads): In this new contemporary from YA star Kasie West, a girl who wins the lottery learns that money can cause more problems than it solves, especially when love comes into the picture.

Maddie doesn’t believe in luck. She’s all about hard work and planning ahead. But one night, on a whim, she buys a lottery ticket. And then, to her astonishment —

She wins!

In a flash, Maddie’s life is unrecognizable. No more stressing about college scholarships. Suddenly, she’s talking about renting a yacht. And being in the spotlight at school is fun… until rumors start flying, and random people ask her for loans. Now, Maddie isn’t sure who she can trust.

Except for Seth Nguyen, her funny, charming coworker at the local zoo. Seth doesn’t seem aware of Maddie’s big news. And, for some reason, she doesn’t want to tell him. But what will happen if he learns her secret?

With tons of humor and heart, Kasie West delivers a million-dollar tale of winning, losing, and falling in love. Continue reading

Review: Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett

Review: Alex, Approximately by Jenn BennettTitle: Alex, Approximately
Author: Jenn Bennett
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publication Date: April 4, 2017

three-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

The one guy Bailey Rydell can’t stand is actually the boy of her dreams—she just doesn’t know it yet.

Classic movie fan Bailey “Mink” Rydell has spent months crushing on a witty film geek she only knows online as Alex. Two coasts separate the teens until Bailey moves in with her dad, who lives in the same California surfing town as her online crush.

Faced with doubts (what if he’s a creep in real life—or worse?), Bailey doesn’t tell Alex she’s moved to his hometown. Or that she’s landed a job at the local tourist-trap museum. Or that she’s being heckled daily by the irritatingly hot museum security guard, Porter Roth—a.k.a. her new archnemesis. But life is a whole lot messier than the movies, especially when Bailey discovers that tricky fine line between hate, love, and whatever it is she’s starting to feel for Porter.

And as the summer months go by, Bailey must choose whether to cling to a dreamy online fantasy in Alex or take a risk on an imperfect reality with Porter. The choice is both simpler and more complicated than she realizes, because Porter Roth is hiding a secret of his own: Porter is Alex…Approximately.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

Alex, Approximately by Jennifer Bennett has everything that I look for in a summer read: a cute and amusing concept, some witty banter, and a gorgeous California setting. While I enjoyed this book, I became frustrated with how predictable and obvious the ending is and all the weird coincidences, so I didn’t end up loving it. However, I would still recommend it, as it is so adorable. Continue reading

Friday Reads: Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

Friday

Welcome to my first Friday Reads post! I miss sharing quotes and bits of books that I am currently reading with you and I stumbled across 2 really great memes for sharing books:

Book Beginnings is hosted by Rose City Reader where participants share the first sentence (or so) of the book, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are quite simple: Grab a book, any book and turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader. Find any non-spoilery sentence(s) and post.

This week’s book:

33516773Summary (from Goodreads): From the author of Truly Madly Guilty and The Husband’s Secret comes a novel about the dangerous little lies we tell ourselves just to survive.
A murder…A tragic accident…Or just parents behaving badly? What s indisputable is that someone is dead.
Madeline is a force to be reckoned with. She’s funny, biting, and passionate; she remembers everything and forgives no one. Celeste is the kind of beautiful woman who makes the world stop and stare but she is paying a price for the illusion of perfection. New to town, single mom Jane is so young that another mother mistakes her for a nanny. She comes with a mysterious past and a sadness beyond her years. These three women are at different crossroads, but they will all wind up in the same shocking place.
Big Little Lies is a brilliant take on ex-husbands and second wives, mothers and daughters, schoolyard scandal, and the little lies that can turn lethal Continue reading