Tidbit Tuesday #8: KCP Loft a New YA Imprint to Get Excited About!

images

Tidbit Tuesday is a feature on The Candid Cover spotlighting and reviewing bookish events, news and bits of books.

You may be aware of the new YA imprint coming to us this spring from Kids Can Press, KCP Loft, but did you know how many amazing titles they are publishing soon? I was very fortunate to receive a few of them for review and let me tell you, they are going to be ones that you will want to add to your TBRs if you haven’t already. Continue reading

ARC Review: Seven Days of You by Cecilia Vinesse

Book cover for Seven Days of You by Cecilia Vinesse

Title: Seven Days of You
Author: Cecelia Vinesse
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: March 7, 2017
Stars: 4/5

Summary (from Goodreads): Sophia has seven days left in Tokyo before she moves back to the States. Seven days to say good-bye to the electric city, her wild best friend, and the boy she’s harbored a semi-secret crush on for years. Seven perfect days…until Jamie Foster-Collins moves back to Japan and ruins everything.

Jamie and Sophia have a history of heartbreak, and the last thing Sophia wants is for him to steal her leaving thunder with his stupid arriving thunder. Yet as the week counts down, the relationships she thought were stable begin to explode around her. And Jamie is the one who helps her pick up the pieces. Sophia is forced to admit she may have misjudged Jamie, but can their seven short days of Tokyo adventures end in anything but good-bye? Continue reading

ARC Review: Botanical Beauty: 80 Essential Recipes for Spa Products by Aubre Andrus

 

Book cover for Botanical Beauty by Aubre Andrus

Title: Botanical Beauty: 80 Essential Recipes for Spa Products
Author: Aubre Andrus
Publisher: Capstone
Publication Date: March 1, 2017
Stars: 4.5/5

Summary (from Goodreads): Soak, scrub, and soothe your way to relaxation with simple homemade spa recipes from award-winning author Aubre Andrus. Using some of nature’s best ingredients, such as beeswax, sugar, coconut oil, shea butter, avocado, sea salt, essential oils, and more, craft everything from a Cooling Peppermint Hand Cream to a Vanilla Honey Body Scrub. Make practical products, like your own all-natural Bugs-Be-Gone Insect Repellent, Minty Homemade Toothpaste, and Natural Shaving Cream. Or pamper yourself after a long day with a Re-energizing Tub Tea, Lovely Lavender Bath Salts, and a Deep Conditioning Treatment. Nourish your body from head to toe with these organic, handmade recipes and crafts, or package them as a gift to share a fresh, fun spa experience. Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday #94: If Birds Fly Back by Carlie Sorosiak

 

img_3437

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s book:

34601342Title: If Birds Fly Back
Author: Carlie Sorosiak
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: June 27, 2017

Summary (from Goodreads): A sparkling debut about love, family, and the mysteries of the universe.

Linny has been fascinated by disappearances, ever since her sister Grace ran away in the middle of the night without saying goodbye.

Sebastian can tell you how many galaxies there are, and knows how much plutonium weighs. But the one thing he can’t figure out is the identity of his birth father.

They’ve never met, but Linny and Sebastian have one thing in common: an obsession with famous novelist and filmmaker Alvaro Herrera, who went missing three years ago and has just reappeared. As they learn more about the mystery of Alvaro, Linny and Sebastian uncover the answers they’ve been searching for.

With humor and heart, debut author Carlie Sorosiak weaves a story of finding people who leave and loving those who stay, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Emery Lord. Continue reading

Tidbit Tuesday #7: Before I Fall Special Screening at TIFF Next Wave Festival

images

Tidbit Tuesday is a feature on The Candid Cover spotlighting and reviewing bookish events, news and bits of books.

 

I was very fortunate last week to have stumbled upon this really amazing Film Festival that has been happening at the Toronto International Film Festival for the past few years, the Next Wave Film Festival. Essentially, this is a teen film festival entirely put on and curated by teens. There are workshops, challenges and a ton of exciting films to watch that are mostly free of charge to anyone under 25 years of age. How cool is that? Continue reading