Botanical Beauty: 80 Essential Recipes for Natural Spa Products

Botanical Beauty: 80 Essential Recipes for Natural Spa ProductsTitle: Botanical Beauty: 80 Essential Recipes for Natural Spa Products
Author: Aubre Andrus
Publisher: Capstone
Genres: Lifestyle
Publication Date: March 1, 2017
Rating: four-half-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

Soak, scrub, and soothe your way to relaxation with simple homemade spa recipes from award-winning author Aubre Andrus. Using some of nature’s best ingredients, such as beeswax, sugar, coconut oil, shea butter, avocado, sea salt, essential oils, and more, craft everything from a Cooling Peppermint Hand Cream to a Vanilla Honey Body Scrub. Make practical products, like your own all-natural Bugs-Be-Gone Insect Repellent, Minty Homemade Toothpaste, and Natural Shaving Cream. Or pamper yourself after a long day with a Re-energizing Tub Tea, Lovely Lavender Bath Salts, and a Deep Conditioning Treatment. Nourish your body from head to toe with these organic, handmade recipes and crafts, or package them as a gift to share a fresh, fun spa experience.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Botanical Beauty: 80 Essential Recipes for Natural Spa Products

Botanical Beauty: 80 Essential Recipes for Natural Spa Products by Aubre Andrus is a book that has a multitude of essential recipes and ideas to make your own bath bombs, lotions and many other beauty products. This book is gorgeous and contains very simple instructions and tips. The only criticism that I have is the fact that some of the required items, such as essential oils are quite expensive. Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday: If Birds Fly Back

img_3437

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s book: If Birds Fly Back

If Birds Fly BackTitle: If Birds Fly Back
Author: Carlie Sorosiak
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: June 27, 2017

Summary (from Goodreads):

A sparkling debut about love, family, and the mysteries of the universe.

Linny has been fascinated by disappearances, ever since her sister Grace ran away in the middle of the night without saying goodbye.

Sebastian can tell you how many galaxies there are, and knows how much plutonium weighs. But the one thing he can’t figure out is the identity of his birth father. 

They’ve never met, but Linny and Sebastian have one thing in common: an obsession with famous novelist and filmmaker Alvaro Herrera, who went missing three years ago and has just reappeared. As they learn more about the mystery of Alvaro, Linny and Sebastian uncover the answers they’ve been searching for.

With humor and heart, debut author Carlie Sorosiak weaves a story of finding people who leave and loving those who stay, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Emery Lord.

Amazon “Book Depository

Continue reading

Review: The Lucy Variations by Sara Zarr

Review: The Lucy Variations by Sara ZarrTitle: The Lucy Variations
Author: Sara Zarr
Publisher: Little Brown Books for Young Readers
Genres: Contemporary
Publication Date: May 27, 2014
Rating: four-half-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

Lucy Beck-Moreau once had a promising future as a concert pianist. Now, at sixteen, it's over. A death, and a betrayal, led her to walk away. But without music in her life, Lucy's not sure who she is, or who she wants to be. Then she meets Will, her brother's new piano teacher, who is young, kind, and interested in helping Lucy find her way back to piano-not for an audience, but on her own terms.

National Book Award finalist Sara Zarr takes readers inside one girl's struggle to reclaim her love of music, life, and herself in this stunning novel about finding joy in unexpected places.

Amazon “Book “Bookshop.org”

Review: The Lucy Variations by Sara Zarr

The Lucy Variations by Sara Zarr is such an emotional rollercoaster. This book about grief and self-discovery has so many layers. The main character is a piano prodigy who quits and struggles to figure out who she is. I found the writing absolutely beautiful and recommend this book to everyone. Continue reading