Review: One Day in December by Josie Silver

Review: One Day in December by Josie SilverTitle: One Day in December
Author: Josie Silver
Publisher: Broadway Books
Publication Date: October 16, 2018

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

A love story about what happens after you meet, or rather, don't meet the one.

Laurie is pretty sure love at first sight doesn't exist anywhere but the movies. But then, through a misted-up bus window one snowy December day, she sees a man who she knows instantly is the one. Their eyes meet, there's a moment of pure magic...and then her bus drives away.

Certain they're fated to find each other again, Laurie spends a year scanning every bus stop and cafe in London for him. But she doesn't find him, not when it matters anyway. Instead they "reunite" at a Christmas party, when her best friend Sarah giddily introduces her new boyfriend to Laurie. It's Jack, the man from the bus. It would be.

What follows for Laurie, Sarah and Jack is ten years of friendship, heartbreak, missed opportunities, roads not taken, and destinies reconsidered. One Day in December is a joyous, heartwarming and immensely moving love story to escape into and a reminder that fate takes inexplicable turns along the route to happiness.

Amazon | Book Depository

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

One Day in December by Josie Silver is a love story that will have you believing in love at first sight and then leave you in an emotional mess. The novel also looks at friendship and finding oneself through its cast of interesting characters. When the reader gets to the dramatic conclusion, the story is reminiscent of a classic movie. Continue reading

Book to Movie Review: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

nyc1-2

Don’t Judge a Book by its Movie is a feature on The Candid Cover spotlighting and reviewing book to movie adaptations. 

Book to Movie Review: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie OakesTitle: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly
Author: Stephanie Oakes
Publisher: Dial Books
Cast: Elena Kampouris, Kevin Carroll, Kiana Madiera
Director: Jason Blum
Screenplay: Raelle Tucker
Publication Date: June 9, 2015

four-half-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

A hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in yourself

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust. And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something—but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

Gorgeously written, breathlessly page-turning and sprinkled with moments of unexpected humor, this harrowing debut is perfect for readers of Emily Murdoch's If You Find Me and Nova Ren Suma's The Walls Around Us , as well as for fans of Orange is the New Black.

Amazon | Book Depository

I was very interested to see that The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes had become a Facebook Watch TV show since the story is so complex. I loved the suspense in the book, and I must say that the show is equally entertaining, however the two are so different that they seem like separate stories. The show is still enjoyable, however I wouldn’t really recommend it to those who have read the book since watching the story become so different is frustrating. Continue reading

Review: The Paris Secret by Lily Graham

Review: The Paris Secret by Lily GrahamTitle: The Paris Secret
Author: Lily Graham
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication Date: October 4, 2018

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

On the brink of the second world war, a beautiful Parisian bookshop hides a heartbreaking secret that will tear one family apart forever …

The last time Valerie was in Paris, she was three-years-old, running from the Nazis, away from the only home she had ever known.
Now as a young woman, Valerie must return to Paris, to the bookshop and her only surviving relative, her grandfather Vincent, to find out what really happened to those she loved. As she gets to know Vincent again, she hears a tragic story of Nazi occupied Paris, a doomed love affair and a mother willing to sacrifice everything for her beloved daughter.
Can Valerie and Vincent help each other to mend the wounds of the past? Valerie isn’t after a fairy-tale ending, she only wants the truth. But what is the one devastating secret that Vincent is determined to keep from his granddaughter?

Amazon

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

The Paris Secret by Lily Graham is an epic story set during World War II. It tells the tale of how Valerie discovers the truth about her heritage through the use of alternating timelines. The writing is beautiful, and the characters are ones that you will instantly fall in love with. Continue reading

Review: A Spark of Light by Jodi Picoult

Review: A Spark of Light by Jodi PicoultTitle: A Spark of Light
Author: Jodi Picoult
Publisher: Random House Canada
Publication Date: October 2, 2018

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

The lives of ordinary people become intertwined when a gunman takes hostages at a women's clinic in the #1 New York Times bestselling author's latest.

At Mississippi's sole remaining women's reproductive services clinic, a gunman bursts in and takes its patients and staff hostage. The stories that brought these individuals to the clinic vary, from a woman awaiting cancer screening results to a protestor hoping to catch the clinic in a scandal that could be used in a pro-life campaign. Then there is the police hostage negotiator, whose daughter is also trapped inside the facility, and the gunman himself, who has a vendetta to carry out. Meanwhile, across the state, a seventeen-year-old woman lands in the hospital after an attempt to self-terminate her pregnancy and is subsequently charged by the pro-life DA for the murder of her unborn child. They, too, are connected to the events unfolding in the clinic.

As the book moves backward in time, each chapter set one hour earlier than the last, we learn how all these people and their stories are unwittingly connected--and that none of these characters' reasons for being where they are at this fateful place and time are exactly what it appears at first glance.

Amazon | Book Depository

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

A Spark of Light by Jodi Picoult is a book that really took me by surprise. Reading a novel in which you already know the ending to seems a little daunting. However, the format really seems to fit the story. The controversial topic of women’s reproductive rights is presented in a gripping and interesting way that doesn’t ask the reader to choose a side, but asks the reader to look at all the sides. Continue reading

Review: Wildcard by Marie Lu

Review: Wildcard by Marie LuTitle: Wildcard (Warcross #2)
Author: Marie Lu
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 18, 2018

four-half-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Emika Chen barely made it out of the Warcross Championships alive. Now that she knows the truth behind Hideo's new NeuroLink algorithm, she can no longer trust the one person she's always looked up to, who she once thought was on her side.

Determined to put a stop to Hideo's grim plans, Emika and the Phoenix Riders band together, only to find a new threat lurking on the neon-lit streets of Tokyo. Someone's put a bounty on Emika's head, and her sole chance for survival lies with Zero and the Blackcoats, his ruthless crew. But Emika soon learns that Zero isn't all that he seems--and his protection comes at a price.

Caught in a web of betrayal, with the future of free will at risk, just how far will Emika go to take down the man she loves?

Amazon | Book Depository

Review

Since Warcross by Marie Lu was my favourite read of 2017 (and maybe even one of my favourites ever?), I was beyond excited for the sequel, Wildcard. I can safely say that this book lived up to my expectations, and the plot is almost as exciting as the first. The main character is also strong, and there is a prominent theme of family that I loved. If you have yet to pick up this series, I would definitely recommend it as it is the kind of series that will become an instant favourite. Continue reading