Review: An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Review: An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa TahirTitle: An Ember in the Ashes (Ember Quartet #1)
Author: Sabba Tahir
Publisher: Razorbill
Publication Date: April 28, 2015

five-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Set in a terrifyingly brutal Rome-like world, An Ember in the Ashes is an epic fantasy debut about an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It’s a story that’s literally burning to be told.

LAIA is a Scholar living under the iron-fisted rule of the Martial Empire. When her brother is arrested for treason, Laia goes undercover as a slave at the empire’s greatest military academy in exchange for assistance from rebel Scholars who claim that they will help to save her brother from execution.

ELIAS is the academy’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias is considering deserting the military, but before he can, he’s ordered to participate in a ruthless contest to choose the next Martial emperor.

When Laia and Elias’s paths cross at the academy, they find that their destinies are more intertwined than either could have imagined and that their choices will change the future of the empire itself. 

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review: An Ember in the Ashes

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir is a perfect book if you enjoy a good fantasy or spy novel. Set in a whole new, richly imagined world, this book is tough to put down. This novel’s plot is filled with so many twists and turns, I found myself reading on well after I should have turned out the lights! Continue reading

Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa GreyTitle: The Girl at Midnight
Author: Melissa Grey
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: April 28, 2015

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

For readers of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo's Shadow and Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one.

Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she's ever known. Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she's fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it's time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it's how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it. But some jobs aren't as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

Edifying, witty and dynamic! The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey is a book that contains so many amazing components. It will easily become a top read for most during 2015. 

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review: The Girl at Midnight

The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey is an impressively informative book to review. It teaches so many amazing words to its readers.  For example, the word Tsundoko: The Japanese word for letting books pile up without reading them all.  I am sure that there are many of us out there who commit this crime, myself included!  Also, the main character, Echo, uses some unusually wacky words to insult her foes, who haven’t got a clue what she is saying! Readers will laugh out loud at her intelligence! Continue reading

Waiting On Wednesday #7: P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

 

img_3437

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s book:

Book cover for P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han.
Title:
P.S. I Still Love You
Author: Jenny Han
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Publication Date: May 26th, 2015
Pages: 288

Summary (from Goodreads):

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.  Continue reading

Review: Spellcaster by Claudia Gray

Review: Spellcaster by Claudia GrayTitle: Spellcaster (Spellcaster #1)
Author: Claudia Gray
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: March 5, 2013

five-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

 When Nadia’s family moves to Captive’s Sound, she instantly realizes there’s more to it than meets the eye. Descended from witches, Nadia senses a dark and powerful magic at work in her new town. Mateo has lived in Captive’s Sound his entire life, trying to dodge the local legend that his family is cursed - and that curse will cause him to believe he’s seeing the future … until it drives him mad. When the strange dreams Mateo has been having of rescuing a beautiful girl—Nadia—from a car accident come true, he knows he’s doomed.

Despite the forces pulling them apart, Nadia and Mateo must work together to break the chains of his family’s terrible curse, and to prevent a disaster that threatens the lives of everyone around them. Shimmering with magic and mystery, New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray’s new novel is sure to draw fans of the Hex Hall and Caster Chronicles series, and fans of the hit CW TV show The Secret Circle. 

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review: Spellcaster by Claudia Gray

Spellcaster by Claudia Gray is a magical adventure that is complete with a villain and rich in diversity.The book  is an amazing fantasy novel that will satisfy its readers. However, it will also leave them hungry for more. Continue reading

Audiobook Review: An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

Audiobook Review: An Abundance of Katherines by John GreenTitle: An Abundance of Katherines
Author: John Green
Narrator: Jeff Woodman
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Publication Date: September 21, 2006

five-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Katherine V thought boys were gross
Katherine X just wanted to be friends
Katherine XVIII dumped him in an e-mail
K-19 broke his heart 
When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton's type happens to be girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. Nineteen times, to be exact.

On a road trip miles from home, this anagram-happy, washed-up child prodigy has ten thousand dollars in his pocket, a bloodthirsty feral hog on his trail, and an overweight, Judge Judy-loving best friend riding shotgun--but no Katherines. Colin is on a mission to prove The Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability, which he hopes will predict the future of any relationship, avenge Dumpees everywhere, and finally win him the girl. Love, friendship, and a dead Austro-Hungarian archduke add up to surprising and heart-changing conclusions in this ingeniously layered comic novel about reinventing oneself. 

Amazon “Book

Audiobook Review: An Abundance of Katherines

The audiobook of An Abundance of Katherines by John Green, narrated by Jeff Woodman, makes the characters feel so real, that you feel that you know them personally. This story is humorous and clever. It is also rich in the themes of friendship and making your mark in the world. The beautiful narration by Woodman makes the characters come alive and gives the listener an enjoyable listening adventure. Continue reading