Friday Reads: This Tiny Perfect World by Lauren Gibaldi

Friday Reads

Welcome to this week’s edition of Friday Reads! Today I am sharing  a few quotes from This Tiny Perfect World by Lauren Gibaldi. I have not had much time for reading this week, so I haven’t read too much of this one yet.

Book Beginnings is a book meme hosted by Rose City Reader where participants share quotes (the first sentence, or so) of the book, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda’s Voice, and the rules are quite simple: Grab a book, any book, and turn to page 56 or 56% in your e-reader. Find any non-spoilery sentence(s) and post.

THIS WEEK’S BOOK:

Book cover for This Tiny Perfect World by Lauren Gibaldi.Title: This Tiny Perfect World
Author: Lauren Gibaldi
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: February 27, 2018

Summary (from Goodreads): 

The big-hearted story of a small-town girl who discovers how wide the world really is during one transformative summer. Perfect for fans of Susane Colasanti and Sarah Dessen.

Penny loves her small-town Florida life, and she has her future mapped out. She’s going to community college after graduation to stay close to home and her best friend, Faye. She’ll take over the family diner that her dad has been managing since her mother died. And one day, she’ll marry her high school sweetheart, Logan.

But when she unexpectedly lands a scholarship to a prestigious summer theater camp, she is thrust into a world of competition and self-doubt. And suddenly, her future gets a little hazy. As she meets new friends, including Chase, a talented young actor with big-city dreams, she begins to realize that maybe the life everyone (including her) expects her to lead is not the one she was meant to have.

From the acclaimed author of The Night We Said Yes and Autofocus.  Continue reading

Review: Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson

Book cover for Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson.
Title: Truly Devious (Truly Devious #1)Author: Maureen JohnsonPublisher: HarperCollinsPublication Date: January 16, 2018
Summary (from Goodreads): Author Maureen Johnson weaves a tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a new series. Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. “A place” he said, “where learning is a game.” Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym, Truly Devious. It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history. True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester. But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder.

Goodreads | Amazon

Continue reading

Wishlist Wednesday: Sam & Ilsa’s Last Hurrah by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Wednesday

Spring is just around the corner! I am eagerly anticipating some fun contemporaries that celebrate it. Including, Sam & Ilsa’s Last Hurrah by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan.

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming new release books that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by  Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about and have yet to read.

THIS WEEK’S BOOK:

Book cover for Sam & Ilsa's Last Hurrah by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan.Title: Sam & Ilsa’s Last Hurrah
Author: Rachel Cohn, David Levithan
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: April 10, 2018

Summary (from Goodreads): The New York Times Bestselling duo behind Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist and The Twelve Days of Dash & Lily return with twins out to throw the party of a lifetime–or at least the best party of high school!

Siblings Sam and Ilsa Kehlmann have spent most of their high school years throwing parties for their friends–and now they’ve prepared their final blowout, just before graduation.

The rules are simple: each twin gets to invite three guests, and the other twin doesn’t know who’s coming until the partiers show up at the door. With Sam and Ilsa, the sibling revelry is always tempered with a large dose of sibling rivalry, and tonight is no exception.

One night. One apartment. Eight people. What could possibly go wrong? Oh, we all know the answer is plenty. But plenty also goes right, as well…in rather surprising ways. Continue reading

Review: Batman: Nightwalker by Marie Lu

Book cover for Batman by Marie Lu.

 

Title: Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons #2)Author: Marie LuPublisher: Random House Books for Young ReadersPublication Date: January 2, 2018

Summary (from Goodreads):  Before he was Batman, he was Bruce Wayne. A reckless boy willing to break the rules for a girl who may be his worst enemy.

The Nightwalkers are terrorizing Gotham City, and Bruce Wayne is next on their list.

One by one, the city’s elites are being executed as their mansions’ security systems turn against them, trapping them like prey. Meanwhile, Bruce is turning eighteen and about to inherit his family’s fortune, not to mention the keys to Wayne Enterprises and all the tech gadgetry his heart could ever desire. But after a run-in with the police, he’s forced to do community service at Arkham Asylum, the infamous prison that holds the city’s most brutal criminals.

Madeleine Wallace is a brilliant killer . . . and Bruce’s only hope.

In Arkham, Bruce meets Madeleine, a brilliant girl with ties to the Nightwalkers. What is she hiding? And why will she speak only to Bruce? Madeleine is the mystery Bruce must unravel. But is he getting her to divulge her secrets, or is he feeding her the information she needs to bring Gotham City to its knees? Bruce will walk the dark line between trust and betrayal as the Nightwalkers circle closer.

 

Goodreads | Amazon

Continue reading

Friday Reads: Love Songs & Other Lies by Jessica Pennington

Bookshelves with the words Friday Reads.

Welcome to this week’s edition of Friday Reads! Today I am sharing  a few quotes from Love Songs & Other Lies by Jessica Pennington. I have just started reading this one and it is such a great concept for a contemporary.

Book Beginnings is a book meme hosted by Rose City Reader where participants share quotes (the first sentence, or so) of the book, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda’s Voice, and the rules are quite simple: Grab a book, any book, and turn to page 56 or 56% in your e-reader. Find any non-spoilery sentence(s) and post.

THIS WEEK’S BOOK:

Book cover for Love Songs & Other Lies by Jessica Pennington.Title: Love Songs & Other Lies
Author: Jessica Pennington
Publisher: Tor Teen
Publication Date: April 24, 2018

Summary (from Goodreads): It’s summer romance and second chances, the songs that stay in your head, and the boy you’ll never forget.

Two years after rock-song-worthy heartbreak, Virginia Miller is looking forward to a fun, carefree summer. Her friends just landed a spot on a battling bands reality show, and Vee is joining them for her dream internship on tour. Three months with future rockstars seems like an epic summer plan. Until she learns she’ll also be sharing the bus with Cam. Her first love, and her first heartbreak. Now Vee has more than just cameras to dodge, and Cam’s determination to win her forgiveness is causing TMZ-worthy problems for both of them. With cameras rolling, she’ll have to decide if her favorite breakup anthem deserves a new ending. And if she’s brave enough to expose her own secrets to keep Cam’s under wraps.  Continue reading