Review: More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

Review: More Happy Than Not by Adam SilveraTitle: More Happy Than Not
Author: Adam Silvera
Publisher: Soho Teen
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse
Publication Date: June 2, 2015

five-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

The Leteo Institute's revolutionary memory-relief procedure seems too good to be true to Aaron Soto -- miracle cure-alls don't tend to pop up in the Bronx projects. But Aaron can't forget how he's grown up poor or how his friends aren't always there for him. Like after his father committed suicide in their one bedroom apartment. Aaron has the support of his patient girlfriend, if not necessarily his distant brother and overworked mother, but it's not enough.Then Thomas shows up. He has a sweet movie-watching setup on his roof, and he doesn't mind Aaron's obsession with a popular fantasy series. There are nicknames, inside jokes. Most importantly, Thomas doesn't mind talking about Aaron's past. But Aaron's newfound happiness isn't welcome on his block. Since he's can't stay away from Thomas or suddenly stop being gay, Aaron must turn to Leteo to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he is.

Adam Silvera's extraordinary debut novel offers a unique confrontation of race, class and sexuality during one charged near-future summer in the Bronx.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera is a  debut novel that is strkingly well written. It also contains a realistic main character and plenty of diversity. Prepare to have your mind blown and be left in awe. More Happy Than Not is definitely one of the best books of 2015! Continue reading

Mini Review: Silence by Stacey R. Campbell

Mini Review: Silence by Stacey R. CampbellTitle: Silence (Lakeview #2.5)
Series: Lakeview #2.5
Author: Stacey R. Campbell
Publisher: Green Darner Press
Genres: Mystery
Publication Date: May 5, 2015

five-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Searching for the answers about the father she never knew, Blakely Henry, now Queen of Tamura, takes her family on a cross-country adventure through the hill towns of Southern France. 

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: Silence by Stacey R. Campbell

Silence by Stacey R. Campbell is a new novella in the Lakeview series. Blakely is back in the novella and it is perfect. The book will definitely satisfy readers as they wait for Scream, the next book in the series. Silence is a quick and easy read that is sure to delight readers. Continue reading

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Review:  A Court of Thorns and RosesTitle: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns And Roses #1)
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children's
Genres: Fantasy
Publication Date: May 5, 2015

five-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down! 

Amazon “Book

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas is the book for youIf you enjoy retellings with newly imagined settings and plots filled with detail. It is nearly impossible to put down and so action-packed. This book is definitely a must-read! Continue reading

Revenge, Ice Cream, & Other Things Best Served Cold

Revenge, Ice Cream, & Other Things Best Served ColdTitle: Revenge, Ice Cream and Other Things Best Served Cold (Broken Hearts and Revenge #2)
Series: Broken Hearts and Revenge #2
Author: Katie Finn, Morgan Matson
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Genres: Contemporary
Publication Date: May 5, 2015

five-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

The war rages on between Gemma and Hallie in the second installment of the Broken Hearts and Revenge series.

After the humiliating events on the 4th of July, Gemma's trying to handle the fact that Hallie knew who she was all along, and she was the one who stole Teddy from her. Gemma vows revenge, but things get more complicated than she planned. Ford, Gemma’s long-time crush, has arrived in the Hamptons cuter than ever. Josh is refusing to speak to her after she lied to him, and Teddy is playing champion to his beloved Marsh Warbler (in Gemma's backyard, no less).

Gemma and Hallie find themselves locked in an escalating revenge cycle. Just when Gemma thinks she has the upper hand, the biggest bombshell of all is dropped. And it’s one that threatens to change her life forever. This exciting sequel to Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things To Mend will leave you begging for the third instalment. 

Amazon “Book

Revenge, Ice Cream & Other Things Best Served Cold

Revenge, Ice Cream, and Other Things Best Served Cold by Katie Finn is the perfect summer read. It is set in a luxurious town with private beaches and contains plenty of revengeful actions. Gemma and Hallie, two girls who loathe each other make the book hilarious to read and almost impossible to put down! Continue reading

Book Review: Sorceress by Claudia Gray

Book Review: Sorceress by Claudia GrayTitle: Sorceress (Spellcaster #3)
Series: Spellcaster #3
Author: Claudia Gray
Publisher: HarperTeen
Genres: Fantasy
Publication Date: March 3, 2015

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

 To save the lives of countless people in Captive’s Sound, Nadia has sworn herself to the One Beneath, to black magic. Her plan, and the town’s only hope, is for Nadia to learn enough sorcery to strike back against the forces of darkness. But now that she’s separated from her friends, her family, and her Steadfast, Mateo, Nadia is more vulnerable than ever to darkness. And as the sorceress Elizabeth summons torrential rains and brings the One Beneath closer to the mortal world, Nadia is running out of time to stop her. The final battle lines are drawn, surprising alliances are made, and true love is tested in the action-packed conclusion to the breathtaking Spellcaster series. 

Sorceress is richly woven with New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray’s signature dark magic, captivating mystery, and star-crossed romance. 

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Book Review: Sorceress by Claudia Gray

Sorceress by Claudia Gray is finally here with the final book in the Spellcaster series. There is plenty of magic, an awesome female sidekick and an ending that will please readers. This series is definitely one of my favourite fantasies. Continue reading