Review: More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

Review: More Happy Than Not by Adam SilveraTitle: More Happy Than Not
Author: Adam Silvera
Publisher: Soho Teen
Publication Date: June 2, 2015

five-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

The Leteo Institute's revolutionary memory-relief procedure seems too good to be true to Aaron Soto -- miracle cure-alls don't tend to pop up in the Bronx projects. But Aaron can't forget how he's grown up poor or how his friends aren't always there for him. Like after his father committed suicide in their one bedroom apartment. Aaron has the support of his patient girlfriend, if not necessarily his distant brother and overworked mother, but it's not enough.Then Thomas shows up. He has a sweet movie-watching setup on his roof, and he doesn't mind Aaron's obsession with a popular fantasy series. There are nicknames, inside jokes. Most importantly, Thomas doesn't mind talking about Aaron's past. But Aaron's newfound happiness isn't welcome on his block. Since he's can't stay away from Thomas or suddenly stop being gay, Aaron must turn to Leteo to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he is.

Adam Silvera's extraordinary debut novel offers a unique confrontation of race, class and sexuality during one charged near-future summer in the Bronx.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review: More Happy Than Not

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera is a  debut novel that is strkingly well written. It also contains a realistic main character and plenty of diversity. Prepare to have your mind blown and be left in awe. More Happy Than Not is definitely one of the best books of 2015! Continue reading

Mini Review: Silence by Stacey R. Campbell

Mini Review: Silence by Stacey R. CampbellTitle: Silence (Lakeview #2.5)
Author: Stacey R. Campbell
Publisher: Green Darner Press
Publication Date: May 5, 2015

five-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Searching for the answers about the father she never knew, Blakely Henry, now Queen of Tamura, takes her family on a cross-country adventure through the hill towns of Southern France. 

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review: Silence by Stacey R. Campbell

Silence by Stacey R. Campbell is a new novella in the Lakeview series. Blakely is back in the novella and it is perfect. The book will definitely satisfy readers as they wait for Scream, the next book in the series. Silence is a quick and easy read that is sure to delight readers. Continue reading

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Review:  A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. MaasTitle: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns And Roses #1)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children's
Publication Date: May 5, 2015

five-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down! 

Amazon “Book

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas is the book for youIf you enjoy retellings with newly imagined settings and plots filled with detail. It is nearly impossible to put down and so action-packed. This book is definitely a must-read! Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday #14: The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker

img_3437

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s book:

Book cover for The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker.
Title: 
The Witch Hunter
Author: Virginia Boecker
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 2, 2015
Pages: 368

Summary (from Goodreads): The magic and suspense of Graceling meet the political intrigue and unrest of Game of Thrones in this riveting fantasy debut.

Your greatest enemy isn’t what you fight, but what you fear.

Elizabeth Grey is one of the king’s best witch hunters, devoted to rooting out witchcraft and doling out justice. But when she’s accused of being a witch herself, Elizabeth is arrested and sentenced to burn at the stake.

Salvation comes from a man she thought was her enemy. Nicholas Perevil, the most powerful and dangerous wizard in the kingdom, offers her a deal: he will save her from execution if she can break the deadly curse that’s been laid upon him.

But Nicholas and his followers know nothing of Elizabeth’s witch hunting past–if they find out, the stake will be the least of her worries. And as she’s thrust into the magical world of witches, ghosts, pirates, and one all-too-handsome healer, Elizabeth is forced to redefine her ideas of right and wrong, of friends and enemies, and of love and hate.

Virginia Boecker weaves a riveting tale of magic, betrayal, and sacrifice in this unforgettable fantasy debut.  Continue reading

Review: Revenge, Ice Cream, and Other Things Best Served Cold by Katie Finn

Review: Revenge, Ice Cream, and Other Things Best Served Cold by Katie FinnTitle: Revenge, Ice Cream and Other Things Best Served Cold (Broken Hearts and Revenge #2)
Author: Katie Finn, Morgan Matson
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Publication Date: May 5, 2015

five-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

The war rages on between Gemma and Hallie in the second installment of the Broken Hearts and Revenge series.

After the humiliating events on the 4th of July, Gemma's trying to handle the fact that Hallie knew who she was all along, and she was the one who stole Teddy from her. Gemma vows revenge, but things get more complicated than she planned. Ford, Gemma’s long-time crush, has arrived in the Hamptons cuter than ever. Josh is refusing to speak to her after she lied to him, and Teddy is playing champion to his beloved Marsh Warbler (in Gemma's backyard, no less).

Gemma and Hallie find themselves locked in an escalating revenge cycle. Just when Gemma thinks she has the upper hand, the biggest bombshell of all is dropped. And it’s one that threatens to change her life forever. This exciting sequel to Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things To Mend will leave you begging for the third instalment. 

Amazon “Book

Review: Revenge, Ice Cream, and Other Things Best Served Cold

Revenge, Ice Cream, and Other Things Best Served Cold by Katie Finn is the perfect summer read. It is set in a luxurious town with private beaches and contains plenty of revengeful actions. Gemma and Hallie, two girls who loathe each other make the book hilarious to read and almost impossible to put down! Continue reading