Review: I Owe You One by Sophie Kinsella

Review: I Owe You One by Sophie KinsellaTitle: I Owe You One
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Publisher: The Dial Press
Publication Date: February 5, 2019

four-half-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Sophie Kinsella, an irresistible story of love and empowerment about a young woman with a complicated family, a handsome man who might be “the one,” and an IOU that changes everything

Fixie Farr has always lived by her father’s motto: “Family first.” But since her dad passed away, leaving his charming housewares store in the hands of his wife and children, Fixie spends all her time picking up the slack from her siblings instead of striking out on her own. The way Fixie sees it, if she doesn’t take care of her father’s legacy, who will? It’s simply not in her nature to say no to people.

So when a handsome stranger in a coffee shop asks her to watch his laptop for a moment, Fixie not only agrees—she ends up saving it from certain disaster. Turns out the computer’s owner is an investment manager. To thank Fixie for her quick thinking, Sebastian scribbles an IOU on a coffee sleeve and attaches his business card. But Fixie laughs it off—she’d never actually claim an IOU from a stranger. Would she?

Then Fixie’s childhood crush, Ryan, comes back into her life and his lack of a profession pushes all of Fixie’s buttons. She wants nothing for herself—but she’d love Seb to give Ryan a job. And Seb agrees, until the tables are turned once more and a new series of IOUs between Seb and Fixie—from small favors to life-changing moments—ensues. Soon Fixie, Ms. Fixit for everyone else, is torn between her family and the life she really wants. Does she have the courage to take a stand? Will she finally grab the life, and love, she really wants?

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

I Owe You One by Sophie Kinsella is everything I hope for in a contemporary novel. The characters are quirky and flawed, and the concept is super unique. The family theme in the book is also enjoyable to read about. Continue reading

Review: Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks

Review: Her One Mistake by Heidi PerksTitle: Her One Mistake
Author: Heidi Perks
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication Date: February 5, 2019

four-half-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

What should have been a fun-filled, carefree day takes a tragic turn for the worse for one mother when her best friend’s child goes missing in this suspenseful, compulsively readable, and darkly twisted psychological thriller.

It all started at the school fair…

Charlotte was supposed to be looking after the children, and she swears she was. She only took her eyes off of them for one second. But when her three kids are all safe and sound at the school fair, and Alice, her best friend Harriet’s daughter, is nowhere to be found, Charlotte panics. Frantically searching everywhere, Charlotte knows she must find the courage to tell Harriet that her beloved only child is missing. And admit that she has only herself to blame.

Harriet, devastated by this unthinkable, unbearable loss, can no longer bring herself to speak to Charlotte again, much less trust her. Now more isolated than ever and struggling to keep her marriage afloat, Harriet believes nothing and no one. But as the police bear down on both women trying to piece together the puzzle of what happened to this little girl, dark secrets begin to surface—and Harriet discovers that confiding in Charlotte again may be the only thing that will reunite her with her daughter....

This breathless and fast-paced debut—perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door—takes you on a chilling journey that will keep you guessing until the very last page.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks is a novel that tests the limits of friendship. The characters are relatable and well-developed, and the writing keeps you guessing. It is one thriller that fans of the genre will want to add to their TBRs this winter. Continue reading

Blog Tour & Giveaway: That’s Not What I Heard – YA Books About Gossip

Blog Tour & Giveaway: That's Not What I Heard - YA Books About Gossip

Welcome to my stop along the blog tour for That’s Not What I Heard by Stephanie Kate Strohm! I have always loved Stephanie Kate Strohm‘s novels and this one that is all about a rumour sounds like it is super cute. To celebrate, I have created a list of YA books about gossip. Keep reading to learn more about the book and enter the giveaway to win your own print copy! (US) Continue reading