Sunny Song Will Never Be Famous, Suzanne Park

Sunny Song Will Never Be Famous, Suzanne Park

Sunny Song Will Never Be Famous intrigued me because of its Simple Life vibes. This one contains just as much mayhem as I was expecting as it follows an influencer who spends the summer unplugged at a farm. The plot is unique, and the main character is perfectly sarcastic. I also enjoyed the audiobook narration, which brings each of the characters to life. Those looking for a fun and quirky summer read will not want to miss this one.

Sunny Song Will Never Be Famous, Suzanne ParkTitle: Sunny Song Will Never Be Famous
Author: Suzanne Park
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Genres: Contemporary
Publication Date: June 1, 2021
Rating: four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

A social media influencer is shipped off to a digital detox summer camp in this funny coming-of-age story, perfect for fans of Jenny Han's The Summer I Turned Pretty and Love and Gelato .

Sunny Song's Big Summer Goals:
1) Make Rafael Kim my boyfriend (finally!)
2) Hit 100K followers (almost there…)
3) Have the best last summer of high school ever

Not on Sunny's list: accidentally filming a PG-13 cooking video that goes viral (#browniegate). Extremely not on her list: being shipped off to a digital detox farm camp in Iowa (IOWA??) for a whole month. She's traded in her WiFi connection for a butter churn, and if she wants any shot at growing her social media platform this summer, she'll need to find a way back online.

But between some unexpected friendships and an alarmingly cute farm boy, Sunny might be surprised by the connections she makes when she's forced to disconnect.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Audiobook: Sunny Song Will Never Be Famous, Suzanne Park

After a live stream gone wrong, Sunny’s parents send her to spend the summer at a digital detox program at a farm. She is reluctant to give up her entire life online, so she smuggles a phone in with her. What follows is an entertaining series of mishaps as Sunny attempts to apply for a content creation house with limited access to the internet, while getting to know a farmer who shows her what she’s been missing offline. Some of the anti-social media messaging does come off as a little preachy, but this one is still such a fun read.

❀ Entertaining Voice

Sunny has an entertaining voice, and she really develops throughout the book. When we first meet her, social media is her entire life, and she spends every moment trying to become internet famous. However, there is more to her than the spoiled influencer stereotype, and, at the farm, Sunny starts to discover who she really is and makes some friends along the way. As she faces complicated choices and is forced to re-evaluate what she wants, she realizes social media might not be everything after all.

❀ Narration is immersive

I listed to this one as an audiobook, and I really enjoyed the narration. Joy Osmanski brings the story to life, and her voice captures Sunny’s sarcasm well. I also enjoyed the way she captures the personalities of each of the side characters, especially the old couple who comes to visit. This narration ultimately makes for an immersive listening experience, and I would definitely recommend this format.

❀ Upbeat Story

Sunny Song Will Never Be Famous by Suzanne Park is an upbeat story of self-discovery with a side of chaos. I enjoyed reading about Sunny’s misadventures at the farm, and she has an engaging voice. In the audio version, the narrator does a fantastic job capturing the energy of each of the characters. I’m sure fans of The Simple Life will really enjoy this one.

About Suzanne Park

Suzanne Park

Suzanne Park is a Korean-American writer who was born and raised in Tennessee. In her former life as a stand-up comedian, she was a finalist in the Oxygen Network's "Girls Behaving Badly" talent search, and appeared on BET's "Coming to the Stage." Suzanne was also the winner of the Seattle Sierra Mist Comedy Competition, and was a semi-finalist in NBC's "Stand Up For Diversity" showcase in San Francisco alongside comedians Ali Wong and Nico Santos.

16 thoughts on “Sunny Song Will Never Be Famous, Suzanne Park

  1. Deanna (A Novel Glimpse) says:

    The Simple Life! LOL I can’t believe I forgot about that show. This does sound like it would remind me of it a bit. I hadn’t heard of it before, but if I can get the audiobook I wouldn’t mind listening to it. I’m going to have to check my library. I love that it is upbeat.

  2. Sam@WLABB says:

    I think you convinced me to listen to the audiobook for this one. I was on the fence, but you are making it sounds like the audio really enhanced the story.

  3. megan allen says:

    My tbr is too full for anymore books!! But this sounds too cute and I cant resist!! Thank you for another amazing book rec!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.