Review: Far From Normal by Becky Wallace

Review: Far From Normal by Becky Wallace

Far From Normal by Becky Wallace is a book that combines two of my interests: sports and marketing. The premise is original as the main character assists a soccer player in repairing his public image, and the main characters are both charming. This is a short and sweet read that is a perfect pick-me-up.

Review: Far From Normal by Becky WallaceTitle: Far From Normal
Author: Becky Wallace
Publisher: Page Street Kids
Genres: Contemporary
Publication Date: September 22, 2020

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

From Stealing Home author Becky Wallace comes a Devil Wears Prada-inspired YA romance, in which “normal girl” Maddie must repair the image of Major League Soccer’s bad boy to ace her internship. A perfect read for fans of Morgan Matson and Miranda Kenneally.

Maddie McPherson is sick of Normal—both her hometown of Normal, Illinois and being the ‘normal’ sibling. But when she lands a summer internship with a sports marketing firm, she finally has a chance to crawl out of her genius brother’s shadow. Not to mention, a glowing letter of recommendation could secure her admission to her dream college.

But Maddie’s nickname is “CalaMaddie” for a reason, and when the company tasks her with repairing the image of teen soccer phenom Gabriel Fortunato, she wonders if she’s set herself up for embarrassment. Gabriel is a tabloid magnet, who’s best-known for flubbing Italy’s World Cup hopes. As Maddie works with him to develop “pleasant and friendly” content for social media, she also learns he’s thoughtful, multi-talented, and fiercely loyal—maybe even to a fault. Falling for a footballer is exactly how CalaMaddie would botch this internship, but with the firm pressuring her to get the job done, perhaps her heart is worth risking?

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: Far From Normal by Becky Wallace

This book follows Maddie, who has gotten a summer internship at a sports marketing firm and has been assigned to work with a soccer player to fix his image on social media. As she gets to know him, she comes to see a different side of him and works to showcase the real Gabe through her assignment. I love books about sports, and it is also great to see representation of women in business. There is not as much soccer as I was expecting, but the focus on Maddie’s internship is also entertaining to read about.

❀ Relatable Main Character

Maddie is a relatable character who provides a great voice for the book. She is clumsy and awkward, but she knows what she wants and what she needs to do to get it. I loved how she works hard to learn new skills and to achieve her goals despite sabotage, and it is so heartwarming watching her gain confidence in herself and in her work. Gabe is also an interesting character who has been misunderstood, and I loved uncovering his true, authentic self alongside Maddie.

❀ Quick and Wholesome Read

Far From Normal by Becky Wallace is a light and cute read that sheds light on the sports marketing industry. I loved the premise as well as both the main characters. Soccer fans, and those looking for a quick and wholesome read, will enjoy this one.

About Becky Wallace

Becky Wallace

Becky Wallace is the award-winning author of THE STORYSPINNER and THE SKYLIGHTER. STEALING HOME is her first YA contemporary novel. She’s a sucker for slow-burn romances, near-miss kisses, and ordinary people doing extraordinary things. Becky worked for a minor league baseball team and as an editor of a sports marketing magazine before settling down in Houston, Texas, with her husband, four children, and one very fluffy puppy. If she’s not writing, you’ll find her baking sweet treats or pretending she’s still a competitive ballroom dancer.

16 thoughts on “Review: Far From Normal by Becky Wallace

  1. anovelglimpse says:

    So wholesome… Does that mean younger YA can read it? I’ve got an almost 13 year old soccer player, and I was wondering if this would be “young” enough for her.
    Also, is it bad to mention that I wish it had been an NA read about college kids? I don’t know why, but as I was reading the summary, it just seemed like it should have been. But then you said wholesome, so maybe YA was right. I might have to read it anyways. It sounds good!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.