Review & Playlist: Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk

Review & Playlist: Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk

Review & Playlist: Arrows by Melissa GorzelanczykTitle: Arrows
Author: Melissa Gorzelanczyk
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: January 26th 2016

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV's Teen Mom.

People don’t understand love. If they did, they’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just can’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she can’t stay angry with him . . . and can’t stop loving him. But there’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: she’s been shot with a love arrow.
Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma and Danny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, Karma’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind.

A clueless Karma doesn’t know that her toxic relationship is Aaryn’s fault . . . but he’s going to get a chance to make things right. He’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return?

This fast-paced debut novel explores the internal & external conflicts of a girl who finds herself inexplicably drawn to a boy who seemingly doesn't reciprocate her feelings, touching on the issues of love, sex and responsibility, with a heroine struggling to control her destiny--perfect for fans of Katie McGarry's novels and MTV’s 16 and Pregnant.

Amazon

Book Review: Arrows

Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk is a fun and unique book that you will want to add to your February to-be-read list. This book has a really interesting storyline that will draw you in and keep you flipping pages all night long. Also, the mixing of genres and a determined main character gives Arrows an added element of excitement in this debut novel. Continue reading

Book vs. Movie: The Scorch Trials

 

Don't Judge a Book by Its Movie

Don’t Judge a Book by its Movie is a weekly feature on The Candid Cover spotlighting  and reviewing book to movie adaptations.

Book vs. Movie: The Scorch TrialsTitle: The Scorch Trials (The Maze Runner #2)
Author: James Dashner
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Cast: Dylan O'Brien, Kaya Scodelario, Thomas Brodie-Sangster
Director: Wes Ball
Screenplay: T.S. Nowlin
Publication Date: October 12, 2010

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end.

Thomas was sure that escape from the Maze would mean freedom for him and the Gladers. But WICKED isn’t done yet. Phase Two has just begun. The Scorch.

There are no rules. There is no help. You either make it or you die.

The Gladers have two weeks to cross through the Scorch—the most burned-out section of the world. And WICKED has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them.

Friendships will be tested. Loyalties will be broken. All bets are off.

There are others now. Their survival depends on the Gladers’ destruction—and they’re determined to survive.

Amazon “Book

BooK vs. Movie: The Scorch Trials

If you enjoyed the first film in The Maze Runner series, I urge you to rush out to the box office when The Scorch Trials arrives in theatres on September 18th. Although the movie may leave fans of the books wondering why the movie is not quite the same, they will quickly find enjoyment in this new take on the exciting world that James Dashner created. The Scorch Trials is a whirlwind of a movie that will entertain and delight those who enjoy action and suspense. Continue reading

Book Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Book Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola YoonTitle: Everything, Everything
Author: Nicola Yoon
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: September 1, 2015

four-half-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Book Review

Everything, Everything is one of the best books I’ve read this year, and the only book I’ve read with a book blogging character. It has such an original concept and one of my favourite main characters at the moment. Included, are little sketches that Madeline draws that I adored and I’m sure every reader will as well. Continue reading

Book Review: Reawakened

Book Review: ReawakenedTitle: Reawakened (Reawakened #1)
Author: Colleen Houck
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: August 11, 2015

three-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

When seventeen-year-old Lilliana Young enters the Metropolitan Museum of Art one morning during spring break, the last thing she expects to find is a live Egyptian prince with godlike powers, who has been reawakened after a thousand years of mummification.

And she really can't imagine being chosen to aid him in an epic quest that will lead them across the globe to find his brothers and complete a grand ceremony that will save mankind.

But fate has taken hold of Lily, and she, along with her sun prince, Amon, must travel to the Valley of the Kings, raise his brothers, and stop an evil, shape-shifting god named Seth from taking over the world.

From New York Times bestselling author Colleen Houck comes an epic adventure about two star-crossed teens who must battle mythical forces and ancient curses on a journey with more twists and turns than the Nile itself.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

Reawakened by Colleen Houck is an interesting book set in Egypt that has a one of a kind concept. The Egyptian element to this story gives it a real sense of mystery. However, the protagonist and romance in the novel were lacking and really slowed the pace of the novel. Continue reading

Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa GreyTitle: The Girl at Midnight
Author: Melissa Grey
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: April 28, 2015

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

For readers of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo's Shadow and Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one.

Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she's ever known. Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she's fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it's time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it's how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it. But some jobs aren't as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

Edifying, witty and dynamic! The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey is a book that contains so many amazing components. It will easily become a top read for most during 2015. 

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review: The Girl at Midnight

The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey is an impressively informative book to review. It teaches so many amazing words to its readers.  For example, the word Tsundoko: The Japanese word for letting books pile up without reading them all.  I am sure that there are many of us out there who commit this crime, myself included!  Also, the main character, Echo, uses some unusually wacky words to insult her foes, who haven’t got a clue what she is saying! Readers will laugh out loud at her intelligence! Continue reading