Book Review: The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Book Review: The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola YoonTitle: The Sun is Also a Star
Author: Nicola Yoon
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: November 1, 2016

four-half-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Book Review

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon is one of the few books that I was able to develop an attachment to. This book is set over one day and really focuses on destiny. The two main characters are both so unique and even the side characters are developed so well. I would consider this a must-read! Continue reading

Review: My Unscripted Life by Lauren Morrill

Review: My Unscripted Life by Lauren MorrillTitle: My Unscripted Life
Author: Lauren Morrill
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: October 11, 2016

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Sometimes love stories go off script.

Another sultry Georgia summer is about to get a lot hotter. Dee Wilkie is still licking her wounds after getting rejected by the precollege fine arts program of her dreams. But if she'd gone away, she wouldn't have been around to say yes to an unbelievable opportunity: working on the set of a movie filming in her small Southern town that just happens to be starring Milo Ritter, the famous pop star Dee (along with the rest of the world) has had a crush since eighth grade.

It's not like Dee will be sharing any screen time with Milo—she's just a lowly PA. And Milo is so disappointingly rude that Dee is eager to stay far away from him. Except after a few chance meetings, she begins to wonder if just maybe there's a reason for his offensive attitude, and if there's more to Milo than his good looks and above-it-all Hollywood pedigree. Can a relationship with a guy like Milo ever work out for a girl like Dee? Never say never. . .

Amazon

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review

My Unscripted Life by Lauren Morrill is all about movie making and more of the backstage action. It is set in a cozy small-town, which I really enjoyed. The main character is an artist and is persistent. I would definitely recommend this to those looking for a quick and fluffy read. Continue reading

Review: Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk

Review: Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk

Review: Arrows by Melissa GorzelanczykTitle: Arrows
Author: Melissa Gorzelanczyk
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Genres: Fantasy, Romance
Publication Date: January 26th 2016

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV's Teen Mom.

People don’t understand love. If they did, they’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just can’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she can’t stay angry with him . . . and can’t stop loving him. But there’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: she’s been shot with a love arrow.
Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma and Danny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, Karma’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind.

A clueless Karma doesn’t know that her toxic relationship is Aaryn’s fault . . . but he’s going to get a chance to make things right. He’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return?

This fast-paced debut novel explores the internal & external conflicts of a girl who finds herself inexplicably drawn to a boy who seemingly doesn't reciprocate her feelings, touching on the issues of love, sex and responsibility, with a heroine struggling to control her destiny--perfect for fans of Katie McGarry's novels and MTV’s 16 and Pregnant.

Amazon

Book Review: Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk

Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk is a fun and unique book that you will want to add to your February to-be-read list. This book has a really interesting storyline that will draw you in and keep you flipping pages all night long. Also, the mixing of genres and a determined main character gives Arrows an added element of excitement in this debut novel. Continue reading

Book vs. Movie: The Scorch Trials

 

Don't Judge a Book by Its Movie

Don’t Judge a Book by its Movie is a weekly feature on The Candid Cover spotlighting  and reviewing book to movie adaptations.

BooK vs. Movie: The Scorch Trials

The book vs. movie differences of The Scorch Trials are quite large. If you enjoyed the first film in The Maze Runner series, I urge you to rush out to the box office when The Scorch Trials arrives in theatres on September 18th. Although the movie may leave fans of the books wondering why the movie is not quite the same, they will quickly find enjoyment in this new take on the exciting world that James Dashner created. The Scorch Trials is a whirlwind of a movie that will entertain and delight those who enjoy action and suspense. Continue reading

Book Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Book Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola YoonTitle: Everything, Everything
Author: Nicola Yoon
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: September 1, 2015

four-half-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Book Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon is one of the best books I’ve read this year, and the only book I’ve read with a book blogging character. It has such an original concept and one of my favourite main characters at the moment. Included, are little sketches that Madeline draws that I adored and I’m sure every reader will as well. Continue reading