Review: Reawakened by Colleen Houck

Review: Reawakened by Colleen HouckTitle: Reawakened (Reawakened #1)
Series: Reawakened #1
Author: Colleen Houck
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Genres: Fantasy
Publication Date: August 11, 2015
Rating: three-stars
Series Rating: three-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

When seventeen-year-old Lilliana Young enters the Metropolitan Museum of Art one morning during spring break, the last thing she expects to find is a live Egyptian prince with godlike powers, who has been reawakened after a thousand years of mummification.

And she really can't imagine being chosen to aid him in an epic quest that will lead them across the globe to find his brothers and complete a grand ceremony that will save mankind.

But fate has taken hold of Lily, and she, along with her sun prince, Amon, must travel to the Valley of the Kings, raise his brothers, and stop an evil, shape-shifting god named Seth from taking over the world.

From New York Times bestselling author Colleen Houck comes an epic adventure about two star-crossed teens who must battle mythical forces and ancient curses on a journey with more twists and turns than the Nile itself.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: Reawakened by Colleen Houck

Reawakened by Colleen Houck is an interesting book set in Egypt that has a one of a kind concept. The Egyptian element to this story gives it a real sense of mystery. However, the protagonist and romance in the novel were lacking and really slowed the pace of the novel. Continue reading

Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa GreyTitle: The Girl at Midnight
Series: The Girl at Midnight #1
Author: Melissa Grey
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Genres: Fantasy
Publication Date: April 28, 2015
Rating: four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

For readers of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo's Shadow and Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one.

Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she's ever known. Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she's fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it's time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it's how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it. But some jobs aren't as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

Edifying, witty and dynamic! The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey is a book that contains so many amazing components. It will easily become a top read for most during 2015. 

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey is an impressively informative book to review. It teaches so many amazing words to its readers.  For example, the word Tsundoko: The Japanese word for letting books pile up without reading them all.  I am sure that there are many of us out there who commit this crime, myself included!  Also, the main character, Echo, uses some unusually wacky words to insult her foes, who haven’t got a clue what she is saying! Readers will laugh out loud at her intelligence! Continue reading

Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Review: We Were Liars by E. LockhartTitle: We Were Liars
Author: E. Lockhart
Also by this author: Genuine Fraud
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Genres: Mystery
Publication Date: May 13, 2014
Rating: five-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from New York Times bestselling author, National Book Award finalist, and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.

And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE. 

Amazon “Book

Review: We Were Liars

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart is a book like none I have reviewed before! There are so many elements to this book that cannot be discussed in a review because there are many spoilers to be had in doing so. This book is filled with plot twists and mystery and if any little detail is mentioned about it, the whole book will be revealed. Continue reading