Review & Giveaway: The Good for Nothings

Review & Giveaway: The Good for Nothings

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Good for Nothings by Danielle Banas! Fans of sci-fi will want to check this one out. Keep reading to learn more about the book and enter the giveaway to win a copy for yourself. (US only)

Review & Giveaway: The Good for NothingsTitle: The Good for Nothings
Author: Danielle Banas
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Genres: Sci-Fi
Publication Date: August 4, 2020

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

They're only good at being bad.

Cora Saros is just trying her best to join the family business of theft and intergalactic smuggling. Unfortunately, she's a total disaster.

After landing herself in prison following an attempted heist gone very wrong, she strikes a bargain with the prison warden: He'll expunge her record if she brings back a long-lost treasure rumored to grant immortality.

Cora is skeptical, but with no other way out of prison (and back in her family's good graces), she has no choice but to assemble a crew from her collection of misfit cellmates—a disgraced warrior from an alien planet; a cocky pirate who claims to have the largest ship in the galaxy; and a glitch-prone robot with a penchant for baking—and take off after the fabled prize.

But the ragtag group soon discovers that not only is the too-good-to-be-true treasure very real, but they're also not the only crew on the hunt for it. And it's definitely a prize worth killing for.

Whip-smart and utterly charming, this irreverent sci-fi adventure is perfect for fans of Guardians of the Galaxy, The Lunar Chronicles, and Firefly.

Amazon “Book “Barnes “iBooks” “Kobo”

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: The Good for Nothings by Danielle Banas

The Good for Nothings by Danielle Banas was a little out of my comfort zone since I am not typically a fan of sci-fi, but this was just the book I needed to get me out of a slump. There are so many aspects of the book that I adored, including heists and a misfit group of criminals, and the tone of the book is so fun. I would definitely recommend this to those looking for a quirky and original read.

❀ A Heist Gone Wrong

This book follows a group of misfit criminals who go on a treasure hunt through space after making a deal with a prison warden. I really loved the opening scene with a heist gone wrong, and I found the setting of the novel so unique. I wasn’t the biggest fan of the humour, but I can definitely see where others will love it. This book is very fast-paced, and it will both put a smile on the reader’s face and leave them on the edge of their seat.

❀ Well-Developed Characters

The characters in this book are really well-developed, and their interactions are so much fun to read about. This group of unlikely friends is diverse, consisting of aliens, a robot, and a human, and the lessons they learn from each other are so interesting. Cora, the main character, is strong and sarcastic, and she is trying to fit in with her family of renowned criminals. I was really rooting for her, and I loved her voice. Elio, the robot, would probably have to be my favourite character since he has such an entertaining personality. His character also brings more tension to the story since he is in need of a new body.

❀ An Enjoyable Story

The Good for Nothings by Danielle Banasis an enjoyable story about heists and found family. I loved the setting, and the characters are all so loveable. Fans of Guardians of the Galaxy will definitely enjoy this one.

About Danielle Banas

Image of Danielle Banas

Danielle Banas, a Pittsburgh native, earned a degree in communication from Robert Morris University. After years spent dreaming up characters instead of paying attention in class, Danielle joined the storytelling platform Wattpad, where her work has received millions of views online. When she isn’t writing, she can be found loudly singing show tunes, spouting off Walt Disney World trivia, and snuggling with her puppy. THE SUPERVILLAIN AND ME is her debut novel.

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

23 thoughts on “Review & Giveaway: The Good for Nothings

  1. anovelglimpse says:

    Books out of my comfort zone usually get me out of a slump, too. I am not a sci-fi reader either. I probably read one a year. I usually pick up thrillers when I need to get out of a slump.

  2. R A I N says:

    Okay you know what, if I had seen this book before reading your review of it, i’d have steered clear of it but now? I AM ACTUALLY EXCITEDDD!! Cora seems like such a promising character and the plot of this one sounds so interesting and a whole lot of fun!! I LOVEEED THIS REVIEW SOOO MUCH, Olivia!! 😍😍😍❤️❤️❤️

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.