Review: The Edge of Summer by Erica George

Review: The Edge of Summer by Erica George

The Edge of Summer by Erica George is a sincere story of first love and first loss, but also of marine conservation. Following a summer marine biology intern, this one contains plenty of descriptions of efforts to save the whales and a realistic main character who comes to learn from her mistakes. I was especially impressed by the way the author raises awareness about entanglements and other threats to marine life, making this a perfect summer read with many impactful moments.

Review: The Edge of Summer by Erica GeorgeTitle: The Edge of Summer
Author: Erica George
Publisher: Poppy
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult Fiction
Publication Date: June 14, 2022
Rating: four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

Fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson will be swept away by this big-hearted novel about one girl navigating first loss and first love during her summer on Cape Cod.

Saving the whales has been Coriander Cabot and her best friend Ella’s dream since elementary school. But when tragedy strikes, Cor is left to complete the list of things they wanted to accomplish before college alone, including a marine biology internship on Cape Cod.

Cor's summer of healing and new beginnings turns complicated when she meets Mannix, a local lifeguard who completely takes her breath away. But she knows whatever she has with Mannix might not last, and that her focus should be on rescuing the humpback whales from entanglement. As the tide changes, Cor finds herself distracted and struggling with her priorities.

Can she follow her heart and keep her promise to the whales and her best friend?

Amazon “Book “iBooks” “Bookshop.org”

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: The Edge of Summer by Erica George

Following the death of her best friend, Cor sets out to complete the list of things they wanted to do together before college, including the marine biology internship of her dreams. Throughout the summer, Cor grapples with grief and guilt, but she also navigates her growing feelings for Mannix, a local lifeguard. However, when romance interferes with responsibility, she must find a way to balance her heart with her commitment to the whales, who tie her to her friend.

❀ Interesting Main Character

Cor is an interesting main character, and she grows a lot throughout the book. She isn’t the most likeable at times–the past interspersed with the present reveals the guilt she feels for the way she treated her best friend in their last moments, and she can occasionally be selfish. However, as the story progresses, she starts to learn from her mistakes. I especially enjoyed the way Cor’s passion for whales is written. The story behind her interest is really heartfelt, and I felt her dedication to saving the whales come through in every chapter.

❀ Meaningful Story

One of this book’s big wow factors for me is the way the whales are woven throughout the narrative. They not only tie Cor to her friend, bringing a lot of emotion to the story, but they also create a message of marine conservation. One of the whales Cor finds herself taken with has been entangled, and Cor is determined to do whatever she can to save her. There are many details about the marine biologists’ efforts to save the whales throughout the story, and I loved the way it raises awareness about entanglements and other threats to marine life. This spotlight on human responsibility for these countless tragedies made the story especially meaningful for me.

❀ A Strong Summer Read

The Edge of Summer by Erica George is a heartfelt story about grief, but it is also one about love and saving the whales. I enjoyed the concept of a marine biology internship, and the main character transforms throughout the book. The whales and the theme of marine conservation add even more depth to the story, making this a strong summer read with greater social messages.

About Erica George

erica george

Erica George is the author of Words Composed of Sea and Sky. She resides in northern New Jersey, but spends her summers soaking up the salty sea air on Cape Cod.

18 thoughts on “Review: The Edge of Summer by Erica George

  1. Sam@WLABB says:

    I expected the grief element to be more dominate in this story, nonetheless, I enjoyed it. Cor and Mannix’s friendship and subsequent relationship definitely drove my enjoyment.

  2. Sophie @BewareOfTheReader says:

    I would love reading such book and witb whales! I always love when animals or nature elements play a big role in a book

  3. Soozle says:

    This sounds like a great read – very unique in the marine conservation aspect being added in! A great summer read, I think!~

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.