Review: The Do-Over by Lynn Painter

Review: The Do-Over by Lynn Painter

The Do-Over by Lynn Painter is a take on the Groundhog Day concept that is so engaging that I finished it in a single sitting.  Set during a disastrous Valentine’s Day, this one contains a fair amount of chaos and a main character who really changes as she is forced to endure the same day over and over again. Despite the concept, this one never feels repetitive, and it is perfect for fans of short and sweet rom-coms.

Review: The Do-Over by Lynn PainterTitle: The Do-Over
Author: Lynn Painter
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult Fiction
Publication Date: November 15, 2022
Rating: four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

In this riotous young adult romp for fans of Recommended for You and A Cuban Girl’s Guide to Tea and Tomorrow, a teen girl has the worst Valentine’s Day ever—only to relive it over and over again.

After living through a dumpster fire of a Valentine’s Day, Emilie Hornby escapes to her grandmother’s house for some comfort and a consolation pint of Ben & Jerry’s. She passes out on the couch, but when she wakes up, she’s back home in her own bed—and it’s Valentine’s Day all over again. And the next day? Another nightmare V-Day.

Emilie is stuck in some sort of time loop nightmare that she can’t wake up from as she re-watches her boyfriend, Josh, cheat on her day after day. In addition to Josh’s recurring infidelity, Emilie can’t get away from the enigmatic Nick, who she keeps running into—sometimes literally—in unfortunate ways.

How many days can one girl passively watch her life go up in flames? And when something good starts to come out of these terrible days, what happens when the universe stops doling out do-overs?

Amazon “Book “iBooks” “Bookshop.org”

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: The Do-Over by Lynn Painter

Emilie is having the worst Valentine’s Day ever. She crashes into her lab partner, loses her summer fellowship, and discovers that her boyfriend is cheating on her. The worst part? When she wakes up, she finds herself reliving the same horrific Valentine’s Day over and over again. As she finds herself with many chances to change the outcome of the day, Emilie must figure out what it takes to break the loop, and even learn that she might be able to make the most of the situation.

❀ Enjoyable Main Character

I enjoyed Emilie’s character, and she really changes throughout the book. At the beginning, it’s clear that she lives her life to please others, and she likes to be in control of things. This is all turned upside down when she finds herself in a situation outside of her control. As she relives each day, Emilie gradually learns to let herself have fun and embrace things the way they are, and I loved seeing her start to live for herself.

❀ Engaging and Fast-Paced

Something I often struggle with when reading Groundhog Day retellings is that they can feel repetitive. While Emilie relives the same day, I appreciated how Lynn Painter makes each version different, and I found myself surprised by some of the outcomes. The story is engaging and fast-paced the whole way through, making this one a successful take on the time loop concept.

❀ Cute Retelling

The Do-Over by Lynn Painter is a cute Groundhog Day retelling set on Valentine’s Day. I enjoyed watching the main character change her mindset with each version of the same day, and I appreciated the author’s effort to keep the story engaging in the face of a concept that can easily become repetitive. This is the perfect read for Valentine’s Day, and for those looking for a bingeable rom-com.

About Lynn Painter

lynn painter

Lynn Painter writes romantic comedies for both teens and adults. She is the author of Better Than the Movies, Mr. Wrong Number, The Do-Over, and Betting on You, as well as being a regular contributor to the Omaha World-Herald.

24 thoughts on “Review: The Do-Over by Lynn Painter

  1. Samantha @WLAA says:

    I agree with your final point about the changes Emilie experienced and how her POV of the day shifted. She really worked though a lot of her own baggage too. I loved this book!

  2. Elizabeth H. says:

    Great review! Don’t we all wish we could get use a Groundhog’s Day curse sometimes to help us fix our mistakes. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.