Review: Dear Emmie Blue by Lia Louis

Review: Dear Emmie Blue by Lia Louis

Dear Emmie Blue by Lia Louis is a unique contemporary romance that has a mix of sweet and hard-hitting moments. Also, Emmie is a compelling character that will grow on you as her story is slowly revealed. This is one book that you will want to try if you are a fan of the genre.

Review: Dear Emmie Blue by Lia LouisTitle: Dear Emmie Blue
Author: Lia Louis
Publisher: Emily Bestler Books
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Publication Date: July 14, 2020

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

In this charming and poignant novel, teenager Emmie Blue releases a balloon with her email address and a big secret into the sky, only to fall head-over-heels for the boy who finds it; now, fourteen years later, the one thing Emmie has been counting on is gone for good, and everything she planned is up in the air.

At sixteen, Emmie Blue stood in the fields of her school and released a red balloon into the sky. Attached was her name, her email address…and a secret she desperately wanted to be free of. Weeks later, on a beach in France, Lucas Moreau discovered the balloon and immediately emailed the attached addressed, sparking an intense friendship between the two teens.

Now, fourteen years later, Emmie is hiding the fact that she’s desperately in love with Lucas. She has pinned all her hopes on him and waits patiently for him to finally admit that she’s the one for him. So dedicated to her love for Lucas, Emmie has all but neglected her life outside of this relationship—she’s given up the search for her absentee father, no longer tries to build bridges with her distant mother, and lives as a lodger to an old lady she barely knows after being laid off from her job. And when Lucas tells Emmie he has a big question to ask her, she’s convinced this is the moment he’ll reveal his feelings for her. But nothing in life ever quite goes as planned, does it?

Emmie Blue is about to learn everything she thinks she knows about life (and love) is just that: what she thinks she knows. Is there such thing as meant to be? Or is it true when they say that life is what happens when you are busy making other plans? A story filled with heart and humor, Dear Emmie Blue is perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and Evvie Drake Starts Over.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: Dear Emmie Blue by Lia Louis

One of the most intriguing aspects of the story is the simple balloon with a note attached that sparks a friendship between Emmie and Lucas. It has The Red Balloon movie vibes, as the balloon Emmie releases is one that also signifies hope, friendship, and love. It is such a wonderful and lovely part of the novel.

❀ Admirable and Determined Main Character

It is not all happy-go-lucky for Emmie and Lucas, though. Once the story moves along through the use of flashbacks, it really starts to get rolling. Some of the hardships that Emmie has faced are quite difficult and her character is very admirable and determined. She has some interesting friends as well that add some light-hearted moments to the novel.

❀ A Fantastic Premise

While I did find Dear Emmie Blue to be slow-going at first, it does deliver in the end. It has such a fantastic premise and the characters are very intriguing. I look forward to reading more of the author’s books.

About Lia Louis

Lia Louis

Lia Louis lives in the United Kingdom with her partner and three young children. Before raising a family, she worked as a freelance copywriter and proofreader. She was the 2015 winner of Elle magazine’s annual writing competition and has been a contributor for Bloomsbury’s Writers and Artist’s blog for aspiring writers. She is the author of Somewhere Close to Happy and Dear Emmie Blue.

29 thoughts on “Review: Dear Emmie Blue by Lia Louis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.