ARC Review: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

32622051

I received an e-ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Title: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine 
Author: Gail Honeyman
Publisher: Viking
Publication Date: May 9, 2017
Stars: 4.5/5

Summary (from Goodreads): A sweet, quirky tale of modern redemption for readers of The Rosie Project, Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand, and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry Eleanor Oliphant is, well, a bit of an oddball–albeit a loveable one. She struggles with appropriate social skills and tends to say exactly what she’s thinking…and that, combined with her unusual appearance (scarred cheek, a tendency to wear the same clothes year after year), means that Eleanor has become a bit of a loner. But she thinks that nothing really important is missing in her carefully timetabled life of avoiding perplexing social interactions, where weekends are punctuated by frozen pizza, Glen’s Vodka, and phone chats with “Mummy.” But everything changes when Eleanor meets Raymond, the bumbling and sweet IT guy from her office. When she and Raymond together save Sammy, an elderly gentleman who has fallen on the sidewalk, the three become the kind of friends who rescue one another from the lives of isolation they have each been living. And it is Raymond’s big heart that will ultimately help Eleanor find the way to repairing her own damaged one.

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine is the story of a quirky woman whose social misunderstandings, mental health issues, and unabashed wit make for an irresistible journey as she realizes that the only way to survive in the real world is to open her heart to friendship–and that there’s always room there for love, too…

Goodreads | Amazon

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine is one of those books that will change the way you look at mental illness. Honeyman has created a realistic character in Eleanor, and although her circumstances might not match up with those of her readers, they will absolutely relate to her eccentric personality and determination. This novel is beautifully written and will evoke every single emotion that you can think of.

One of the most wonderful aspects of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, is Eleanor herself. At first, the reader will notice that she is a bit quirky, but as the story progresses and more of Eleanor’s circumstances are learned, the fact that there is more than meets the eye about her becomes apparent. I really love how Honeyman slowly introduces Eleanor and her mental illness and takes the reader into her mindset. Her psychosis is only one part of her personality, and it is the determined nature of Eleanor along with her different way of seeing the world that makes her relatable.

The writing in this novel is so eloquent and Honeyman has not only perfected a mentally ill character, she has also depicted the beautiful scenery of Glasgow. Having never visited  Scotland, Honeyman’s writing has at least whisked me away for a short while and has made me long for a trip to see some of the city for myself. I am sure that those familiar with some of the neighbourhoods and shops will feel right at home as they read this story.

While reading this novel, the reader will go through so many different emotions. There are some funny moments that will have you in stitches, even though there are some tragic and terribly sad parts of Eleanor’s life that will leave you sobbing uncontrollably. Honeyman takes her readers on a roller coaster of feelings that will give them a sense of just how her character, Eleanor is feeling. It is a perfect mix of sentiments that sets Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine apart from other stories with a mentally ill character.

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine is a story that deals with the psyche of a mentally ill woman who is on her way to a happier life. It is a book with a well-developed main character and gorgeous writing that will evoke all sorts of feels for its readers. This novel will absolutely give a new perspective to how you perceive mental illness.

8 thoughts on “ARC Review: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

  1. Jaime Lynn says:

    Scotland grabs my attention immediately. That is one place I have always wanted to visit. It is stunning, and those accents, huh! I am really starting to look for stories that deal with mental illness. It is something that I struggle with, and so many others do, and i love reading authors representations of very real illnesses.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kelly says:

    How have I not heard of this? Thanks so much for sharing your review on this one. It seems like it’s a powerful story that could really shape the way people see mental illness. I’m definitely picking this one up soon. Glad you enjoyed it, and great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s