ARC Review: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

Book cover for Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

I received an e-ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Title: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine 
Author: Gail Honeyman
Publisher: Viking
Publication Date: May 9, 2017
Stars: 4.5/5

Summary (from Goodreads): A sweet, quirky tale of modern redemption for readers of The Rosie Project, Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand, and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry Eleanor Oliphant is, well, a bit of an oddball–albeit a loveable one. She struggles with appropriate social skills and tends to say exactly what she’s thinking…and that, combined with her unusual appearance (scarred cheek, a tendency to wear the same clothes year after year), means that Eleanor has become a bit of a loner. But she thinks that nothing really important is missing in her carefully timetabled life of avoiding perplexing social interactions, where weekends are punctuated by frozen pizza, Glen’s Vodka, and phone chats with “Mummy.” But everything changes when Eleanor meets Raymond, the bumbling and sweet IT guy from her office. When she and Raymond together save Sammy, an elderly gentleman who has fallen on the sidewalk, the three become the kind of friends who rescue one another from the lives of isolation they have each been living. And it is Raymond’s big heart that will ultimately help Eleanor find the way to repairing her own damaged one.

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine is the story of a quirky woman whose social misunderstandings, mental health issues, and unabashed wit make for an irresistible journey as she realizes that the only way to survive in the real world is to open her heart to friendship–and that there’s always room there for love, too… Continue reading