Review & Giveaway for Finding Felicity by Stacey Kade

Review & Giveaway for Finding Felicity by Stacey Kade

Welcome to my stop along the blog tour for Finding Felicity by Stacey Kade! I am so excited to share my review of this wonderful novel with you. It is a unique and interesting story of a young adult starting college. Don’t forget to enter the giveaway at the end of the post for your chance to win your own copy of Finding Felicity.

Review & Giveaway for Finding Felicity by Stacey KadeTitle: Finding Felicity
Author: Stacey Kade
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: March 20, 2018

four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

Felicity meets Fangirl in this contemporary novel about a young woman who must leave behind her fantasy life—inspired by her favorite WB show from the 1990s—and create a real one at college.

Caroline Sands has never been particularly good at making friends. And her parents’ divorce and the move to Arizona three years ago didn’t help. Being the new girl is hard enough without being socially awkward too. So out of desperation and a desire to please her worried mother, Caroline invented a whole life for herself—using characters from Felicity, an old show she discovered online and fell in love with.

But now it’s time for Caroline to go off to college and she wants nothing more than to leave her old “life” behind and build something real. However, when her mother discovers the truth about her manufactured friends, she gives Caroline an ultimatum: Prove in this first semester that she can make friends of the nonfictional variety and thrive in a new environment. Otherwise, it’s back to living at home—and a lot of therapy.

Armed with nothing more than her resolve and a Felicity-inspired plan, Caroline accepts the challenge. But she soon realizes that the real world is rarely as simple as television makes it out to be. And to find a place where she truly belongs, Caroline may have to abandon her script and take the risk of being herself.

Amazon “Book “Barnes “iBooks” “Kobo” “IndieBound”

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Continue reading

ARC Review: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

Book cover for Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

I received an e-ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Title: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine 
Author: Gail Honeyman
Publisher: Viking
Publication Date: May 9, 2017
Stars: 4.5/5

Summary (from Goodreads): A sweet, quirky tale of modern redemption for readers of The Rosie Project, Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand, and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry Eleanor Oliphant is, well, a bit of an oddball–albeit a loveable one. She struggles with appropriate social skills and tends to say exactly what she’s thinking…and that, combined with her unusual appearance (scarred cheek, a tendency to wear the same clothes year after year), means that Eleanor has become a bit of a loner. But she thinks that nothing really important is missing in her carefully timetabled life of avoiding perplexing social interactions, where weekends are punctuated by frozen pizza, Glen’s Vodka, and phone chats with “Mummy.” But everything changes when Eleanor meets Raymond, the bumbling and sweet IT guy from her office. When she and Raymond together save Sammy, an elderly gentleman who has fallen on the sidewalk, the three become the kind of friends who rescue one another from the lives of isolation they have each been living. And it is Raymond’s big heart that will ultimately help Eleanor find the way to repairing her own damaged one.

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine is the story of a quirky woman whose social misunderstandings, mental health issues, and unabashed wit make for an irresistible journey as she realizes that the only way to survive in the real world is to open her heart to friendship–and that there’s always room there for love, too… Continue reading

Review: Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall

Review: Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise GornallTitle: Under Rose-Tainted Skies
Author: Louise Gornall
Publisher: Clarion
Publication Date: January 3, 2017

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

At seventeen, Norah has accepted that the four walls of her house delineate her life. She knows that fearing everything from inland tsunamis to odd numbers is irrational, but her mind insists the world outside is too big, too dangerous. So she stays safe inside, watching others’ lives through her windows and social media feed.

But when Luke arrives on her doorstep, he doesn’t see a girl defined by medical terms and mental health. Instead, he sees a girl who is funny, smart, and brave. And Norah likes what he sees.

Their friendship turns deeper, but Norah knows Luke deserves a normal girl. One who can walk beneath the open sky. One who is unafraid of kissing. One who isn’t so screwed up. Can she let him go for his own good—or can Norah learn to see herself through Luke’s eyes?

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall is an inspiring and believable story about life with a mental illness. The accuracy of the facts is evident and the main character has a great sense of humour. I especially enjoyed how the book doesn’t romanticize mental illness and Luke’s respectful personality. I would definitely recommend this book! Continue reading

Review: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Review: Finding Audrey by Sophie KinsellaTitle: Finding Audrey
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Publication Date: June 9, 2015

five-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Shopaholic series comes a terrific blend of comedy, romance, and psychological recovery in a contemporary YA novel sure to inspire and entertain.

An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family. 

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review: Finding Audrey

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella is a hilarious book with a family that is comical. It is easily one of the best books of 2015. It contains a clever, goal-oriented main character and plenty of humour. This novel is a pleasant change from typical sick-lit YA novels. Continue reading

Review: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

Review: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland StoneTitle: Every Last Word
Author: Tamara Ireland Stone
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Publication Date: June 16, 2015

five-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

If you could read my mind, you wouldn't be smiling.

Samantha McAllister looks just like the rest of the popular girls in her junior class. But hidden beneath the straightened hair and expertly applied makeup is a secret that her friends would never understand: Sam has Purely-Obsessional OCD and is consumed by a stream of dark thoughts and worries that she can't turn off.

Second-guessing every move, thought, and word makes daily life a struggle, and it doesn't help that her lifelong friends will turn toxic at the first sign of a wrong outfit, wrong lunch, or wrong crush. Yet Sam knows she'd be truly crazy to leave the protection of the most popular girls in school. So when Sam meets Caroline, she has to keep her new friend with a refreshing sense of humor and no style a secret, right up there with Sam's weekly visits to her psychiatrist.

Caroline introduces Sam to Poet's Corner, a hidden room and a tight-knit group of misfits who have been ignored by the school at large. Sam is drawn to them immediately, especially a guitar-playing guy with a talent for verse, and starts to discover a whole new side of herself. Slowly, she begins to feel more "normal" than she ever has as part of the popular crowd . . . until she finds a new reason to question her sanity and all she holds dear. 

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review: Every Last Word

Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone may seem like a typical contemporary “sick lit” book, but don’t be fooled. This book is more about the main character, Sam, and her life as a teenager. Sam is such a relatable character, as she is filled with determination. There is also some intrigue in Every Last Word, as it features a secret poetry club, making the book pretty fascinating! Continue reading