Author Interview: Vicki Weavil

Vicki Weavil Interview

Today on the blog is the lovely Vicki Weavil! I am so excited to share my author interview with Vicki. Keep reading to learn more about Vicki and her book, Facsimile.

hearts, strings, and other breakable thingsTitle: Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
Author: Jacqueline Firkins
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: December 17, 2019

Summary (from Goodreads):

In this charming debut about first love and second chances, a young girl gets caught between the boy next door and a playboy. Perfect for fans of To All The Boys I've Loved Before.

Mansfield, Massachusetts is the last place seventeen-year-old Edie Price wants to spend her final summer before college. It’s the home of wealthy suburbanites and prima donnas like Edie’s cousins, who are determined to distract her from her mother’s death with cute boys and Cinderella-style makeovers. Edie has her own plans, and they don’t include a prince charming.

But as Edie dives into schoolwork and applying for college scholarships, she finds herself drawn to two Mansfield boys who start vying for her attention. First there's Sebastian, Edie’s childhood friend and first love. He’s sweet and smart and . . . already has a girlfriend. Then there's Henry, the local bad boy and all-around player. He’s totally off limits, even if his kisses are chemically addictive.

Both boys are trouble. Edie can’t help but get caught between them. Someone's heart is going to break. Now she just has to make sure it isn't hers.

Amazon “Book Depository

Interview with Vicki Weavil

1. What authors’ blogs do you subscribe to? Is there one particular author that you find the most helpful in your own writing? 

VickiI don’t actually subscribe to many blogs, because I find it overwhelms my email, and I have a lot of other things I need to concentrate on in my email feed.  I do follow Michelle Hauck  and Amy Trueblood because I work with them as a mentor on their writing contests.

Instead of subscribing to blogs, I follow a lot of authors on Twitter and Facebook and other social media sites, and visit their blogs or websites when a specific topic or post catches my attention.

I also don’t have one particular author that I would say influences my writing.  As a librarian and lifelong avid reader, I enjoy reading a wide variety of books.  There are so many brilliant authors, what I do is study passages — or even an entire book – if I feel an author has been particularly successful in any specific area of writing.

2. When researching your upcoming novel, what has been the most interesting thing that you have discovered?

VickiFACSIMILE is a young adult science fiction novel, set on a frontier planet in a future where the Earth has established colonies on various worlds.  I was intrigued to discover that many of the things I wanted to use in my space colony already exist – at least in experimental phase – such as solar powered motorbikes!

3. Do you have a favourite inspirational quote or piece of advice that has helped you as a writer?

VickiPerhaps not strictly “inspirational,” but I am rather fond of W. Somerset Maugham’s quip: “There are three rules for writing a novel. Unfortunately, no one knows what they are.”That quote reminds me that no one person has all the answers and there is no “magic formula.” I believe authors must constantly take advice (but evaluate it) and also struggle on our own to improve our craft. We will never “arrive” and know everything. We must always keep learning.

4. What book is currently sitting on your bedside table?

VickiDARK CORNERS by Ruth Rendell.  She’s such a talented writer and I love her twisty, psychological mysteries!  This is her last book (sob!) so I’ve been holding off reading until I have time to really enjoy it.

About Vicki Weavil

Vicki Weavil

Vicki L. Weavil's fantasy, CROWN OF ICE -- a dark retelling of H.C. Andersen's "The Snow Queen" -- was first published in 2014.

Her YA SciFi -- FACSIMILE -- was published in March 2016.

A new edition of CROWN OF ICE was published in 2017 by Snowy Wings Publishing, along with its companion novel/sequel -- SCEPTER OF FIRE.

10 thoughts on “Author Interview: Vicki Weavil

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.