Book vs. Movie: The Sun is Also a Star

Grey image with movie icons and Don't Judge a Book by its Movie title.

Don’t Judge a Book by its Movie is a feature on The Candid Cover spotlighting and reviewing book to movie adaptations.

The Sun is Also a Star is a book to movie adaptation that could have been so much more. The novel is an incredible love story that focuses on destiny. However. the screenplay just seems to have strayed so far from the book that it is incredibly boring to watch. With an incredible cast and fantastic cinematography, this is a disappointing film. Continue reading

Book vs. Movie: Five Feet Apart

Grey image with movie icons and Don't Judge a Book by its Movie title.

Don’t Judge a Book by its Movie is a feature on The Candid Cover spotlighting and reviewing book to movie adaptations.

Five Feet Apart is a film I had been looking forward to since I really enjoyed reading the novel. The book is so heartwarming, and this translates to the screen pretty well. However, the film appears much more unrealistic and cringey than the novel, even though the plot is followed pretty closely. Both versions are enjoyable, but I found the novel better executed and more believable. Continue reading

2019 YA Book to Movie Adaptations

Grey image with movie icons and Don't Judge a Book by its Movie title.

Don’t Judge a Book by its Movie is a feature on The Candid Cover spotlighting and reviewing book to movie adaptations.

2019 YA book to movie adaptations seem to be popping up all over the place! Every time I turn around there is another book that has been optioned for a movie or series. This excites me so much because I am a sucker for these kinds of movies. I am always curious to find out if the movie is just as good as the book. Below are a few 2019 YA book to movie adaptations that I am looking forward to seeing on the screen this year. Continue reading

Book to Movie Review: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

nyc1-2

Don’t Judge a Book by its Movie is a feature on The Candid Cover spotlighting and reviewing book to movie adaptations. 

Book to Movie Review: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie OakesTitle: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly
Author: Stephanie Oakes
Publisher: Dial Books
Cast: Elena Kampouris, Kevin Carroll, Kiana Madiera
Director: Jason Blum
Screenplay: Raelle Tucker
Publication Date: June 9, 2015

four-half-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

A hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in yourself

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust. And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something—but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

Gorgeously written, breathlessly page-turning and sprinkled with moments of unexpected humor, this harrowing debut is perfect for readers of Emily Murdoch's If You Find Me and Nova Ren Suma's The Walls Around Us , as well as for fans of Orange is the New Black.

Amazon “Book

I was very interested to see that The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes had become a Facebook Watch TV show since the story is so complex. I loved the suspense in the book, and I must say that the show is equally entertaining, however the two are so different that they seem like separate stories. The show is still enjoyable, however I wouldn’t really recommend it to those who have read the book since watching the story become so different is frustrating. Continue reading

Book to Movie Review: The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

Grey image with movie icons and Don't Judge a Book by its Movie title.
Don’t Judge a Book by its Movie is a feature on The Candid Cover spotlighting and reviewing book to movie adaptations.  

 

Book to Movie Review: The Darkest Minds by Alexandra BrackenTitle: The Darkest Minds
Author: Alexandra Bracken
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Publication Date: June 26, 2018

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

When Ruby woke up on her tenth birthday, something about her had changed. Something alarming enough to make her parents lock her in the garage and call the police. Something that got her sent to Thurmond, a brutal government "rehabilitation camp." She might have survived the mysterious disease that killed most of America's children, but she and the others emerged with something far worse: frightening abilities they cannot control.

Now sixteen, Ruby is one of the dangerous ones.

But when the truth about Ruby's abilities-the truth she's hidden from everyone, even the camp authorities-comes out, Ruby barely escapes Thurmond with her life. On the run, she joins a group of kids who escaped their own camp: Zu, a young girl haunted by her past; Chubs, a standoffish brainiac; and Liam, their fearless leader, who is falling hard for Ruby. But no matter how much she aches for him, Ruby can't risk getting close. Not after what happened to her parents.

While they journey to find the one safe haven left for kids like them-East River-they must evade their determined pursuers, including an organization that will stop at nothing to use Ruby in their fight against the government. But as they get closer to grasping the things they've dreamed of, Ruby will be faced with a terrible choice, one that may mean giving up her only chance at a life worth living.

Amazon “Book

The Darkest Minds is the kind of book that I knew would make an incredible movie from page one, and I am happy to report that the film version lived up to my expectations. Both the book and the movie have their share of snappy dialogue and action-packed fight scenes, although the plot twists aren’t quite as shocking in the film. The adaptation is very close to the original, and I would definitely seeing it in theatres. Continue reading