Battle of the Bands by Lauren Gibaldi & Eric Smith

Battle of the Bands by Lauren Gibaldi & Eric Smith

Battle of the Bands by Lauren Gibaldi and Eric Smith (editors) is an upbeat anthology of interconnected stories about a battle of the bands competition. I loved the wide range of perspectives, featuring characters with differing relationships to the event, and each of the works within it are strong. The audiobook version is equally engaging, and the full cast makes the world of the contest feel like a real community. This is a great read for those looking for something quick that will leave them with a smile on their face. Continue reading

Review: The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

Review: The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

Review: The Night We Said Yes by Lauren GibaldiTitle: The Night We Said Yes
Author: Lauren Gibaldi
Also by this author: This Tiny Perfect World
Publisher: HarperTeen
Genres: Contemporary
Publication Date: June 16, 2015
Rating: four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

A fun, romantic read, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti!
 
Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life. 
 
But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan.
 
And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of.
 
Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future. 
 
In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave. 

Amazon “Book “Bookshop.org”

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi is one of those contemporary novels that will leave you with a book hangover. It has the perfect mix of romance and excitement. The use of flashbacks, a relatable plot and musical elements make this book so extraordinary.

Continue reading