Review: YOU OWE ME A MURDER by Eileen Cook

Banner for You Owe Me A Murder

You Owe Me a Murder by Eileen Cook is a high-stakes thriller that is stressful to read, but in a good way. The plot is full of twists and the characters are enjoyable. The  writing style is suspenseful and has edge-of-your-seat action that is present throughout the whole story. This is one incredible thriller for those looking to read a unique murder novel.

Review: YOU OWE ME A MURDER by Eileen CookTitle: You Owe Me a Murder
Author: Eileen Cook
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: March 5, 2019

four-half-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Seventeen-year-old Kim gets more than she bargained for when she is set up for murder. Perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying, E. Lockhart, and Gillian Flynn.

17-year-old Kim never expected to plot a murder. But that was before her boyfriend dumped her for another girl. Now, Kim’s stuck on a class trip to London with him and his new soulmate and she can’t help wishing he was a little bit dead, even if she’d never really do that.

But when Kim meets Nicki, a stranger on the plane who’s more than willing to listen to Kim’s woes, things start to look up. Nicki's got a great sense of humor, and when she jokes about swapping murders, Kim plays along—that is, until Kim’s ex-boyfriend mysteriously dies.

Blackmailed by Nicki to fulfill her end of the deal, Kim will have to commit a murder or take the fall for one.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

❀ Action-Packed

This book tells the story of a girl who is blackmailed into committing a murder after she and a stranger joke about swapping murders while on a plane. When her ex turns up dead, Kim is forced to either kill Nicki’s mom and uphold her end of the “bargain” or be “exposed” and arrested. This book is so action-packed, and the plot is surprising. Just when you think you know how it is going to go, sudden twists appear out of nowhere, and the story is intensified. This is the first book I’ve read by Eileen Cook, but after reading this I am interested in reading more.

❀ Clever Main Character

Kim is a clever main character and she handles the situation well. She tries to think of ways to catch Nicki in the act, but Nicki is always one step ahead of her. It is hard to imagine being in a situation like Kim’s. Can you imagine being blackmailed to murder someone because of a joke? Kim has her flaws and I didn’t agree with every decision she makes. However, she goes through a lot, and is still ultimately an enjoyable character. Surprisingly, the side characters are even more interesting than the main character. It is so entertaining to read about the unpredictable and mysterious Nicki. I was on the edge of my seat every time she appeared. Alex is also such a sweetie, and he does his best to support Kim.

❀ Thrilling Twists

The way the book is written intensifies the thrill. Twists are just thrown at the reader, and the plot can turn at any moment. The way Nicki is presented and the mystery that surrounds her is so amazing. The reader doesn’t know much about her, and there is no way of verifying what she says. Honestly, reading this book stressed me out since I was so invested in Kim’s fate. The suspense and action throughout the story really make this a thrilling read.

You Owe Me a Murder is an action-packed thriller that is full of twists. The main character and the side characters are so enjoyable to read about, and the writing style amplifies the excitement. I would definitely recommend this one, especially to fans of books like Truly Devious.

About Eileen Cook

Image of Eileen Cook

Eileen Cook spent most of her teen years wishing she were someone else or somewhere else, which is great training for a writer. Eileen lives in Vancouver with her husband and two dogs and no longer wishes to be anyone or anywhere else.

20 thoughts on “Review: YOU OWE ME A MURDER by Eileen Cook

  1. Alyssa says:

    This sounds really interesting! I don’t read thrillers a whole bunch, but I love that the main character is clever and that there are lots of twists. Great review!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.