Review: YOU OWE ME A MURDER by Eileen Cook

Review: YOU OWE ME A MURDER by Eileen CookTitle: You Owe Me a Murder
Author: Eileen Cook
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: March 5, 2019

four-half-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Seventeen-year-old Kim gets more than she bargained for when she is set up for murder. Perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying, E. Lockhart, and Gillian Flynn.

17-year-old Kim never expected to plot a murder. But that was before her boyfriend dumped her for another girl. Now, Kim’s stuck on a class trip to London with him and his new soulmate and she can’t help wishing he was a little bit dead, even if she’d never really do that.

But when Kim meets Nicki, a stranger on the plane who’s more than willing to listen to Kim’s woes, things start to look up. Nicki's got a great sense of humor, and when she jokes about swapping murders, Kim plays along—that is, until Kim’s ex-boyfriend mysteriously dies.

Blackmailed by Nicki to fulfill her end of the deal, Kim will have to commit a murder or take the fall for one.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review: You Owe Me a Murder

You Owe Me a Murder by Eileen Cook is a high-stakes thriller that is stressful to read, but in a good way. The plot is full of twists and the characters are enjoyable. The  writing style is suspenseful and has edge-of-your-seat action that is present throughout the whole story. This is one incredible thriller for those looking to read a unique murder novel. Continue reading

Review: Push by Eve Silver

Review: Push by Eve SilverTitle: Push (The Game #2)
Author: Eve Silver
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: June 10, 2014

five-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

 It’s either break the rules or die.

Miki Jones lives her life by her own strict set of rules, to keep control, to keep the gray fog of grief at bay. Then she’s pulled into the Game, where she - and her team - will die unless she follows a new set of rules: those set by the mysterious Committee.

But rules don’t mean answers, and without answers, it’s hard to trust. People are dying. The rules are unraveling. And Miki knows she’s being watched, uncertain if it’s the Drau or someone - something - else. Forced to make impossible choices and battling to save those she loves, Miki begins to see the Committee in a glaring new light.

And then the Game crosses a new boundary, pushes harder into Miki’s and her friends’ lives, and there’s nothing in the rules that can save them now.

Push is the sequel Rush fans will be screaming for. 

Amazon “Book

Review: Push by Eve Silver

Push by Eve Silver is perfect if you are looking for a series that will satisfy your need for sci-fi entertainment. Push, book 2 in Eve Silver’s the Game series, is a fast-paced story influenced by the gaming world. This book is wonderfully written and includes an amazing plot and a courageous protagonist. Continue reading

Review: We Are All Made of Molecules by Susin Nielsen

Review: We Are All Made of Molecules by Susin NielsenTitle: We Are All Made of Molecules
Author: Susin Nielsen
Publisher: Random House Canada
Publication Date: May 12, 2015

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Thirteen-year-old Stewart is academically brilliant but socially clueless. 
Fourteen-year-old Ashley is the undisputed “It” girl in her class, but her grades stink.

Their worlds are about to collide when Stewart and his dad move in with Ashley and her mom. Stewart is trying to be 89.9 percent happy about it, but Ashley is 110 percent horrified. She already has to hide the real reason her dad moved out; “Spewart” could further threaten her position at the top of the social ladder.

They are complete opposites. And yet, they have one thing in common: they—like everyone else—are made of molecules. 

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review: We Are All Made of Molecules

We Are All Made of Molecules by Susin Nielsen is such a beautifully written book. This is a story that is entertaining, educational and uplifting. The issues examined by Nielsen are so important for today’s students to grasp. This book is diverse and is written in a compelling fashion that will keep readers wanting to learn and know more. Continue reading

Review: The Clouded Sky by Megan Crewe

Review: The Clouded Sky by Megan CreweTitle: The Clouded Sky (Earth & Sky #2)
Author: Megan Crewe
Publisher: Razorbill Canada
Publication Date: May 5, 2015

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Skylar never imagined that she’d end up helping a boy from another planet search through Earth’s history for a way to end his people’s secret control over her world. But now that she’s been drawn into Win’s group of rebels, she can’t walk away until their mission is completed.

Whisked to the immense space station that Win and the rest of the Kemyates call home, Skylar discovers that even the rebels don’t see her as an equal. Determined to prove herself amid her homesickness in the alien environment, she throws herself into the work to free Earth. Her keen attention to detail and skill with numbers start to earn her colleagues’ respect, but that doesn’t make her position any less precarious. As the Enforcers escalate their attempts to capture the rebels, it becomes clear that someone within the resistance is leaking information to the enemy. And Skylar may be in the best position to uncover the traitor.

With each step toward the truth, Skylar is pulled deeper into the lives around her and the full horrors of her planet’s imprisonment. To see her mission through, she must risk her life, her heart, and the future she’s worked so hard to preserve. 

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review: The Clouded Sky

The Clouded Sky by Megan Crewe has it all! Including Aliens, rebels, traitors, and space. This second story of the Earth & Sky trilogy begins immediately where book one left off. It is one of the most thrilling mysteries I’ve read. This sequel definitely won’t disappoint. Continue reading

Review: Earth & Sky by Megan Crewe

Review: Earth & Sky by Megan CreweTitle:  Earth & Sky (Earth & Sky #1)
Author: Megan Crewe
Publisher: Razorbill Canada
Publication Date: October 28, 2014

five-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Seventeen-year-old Skylar has been haunted for as long as she can remember by fleeting yet powerful sensations that something is horribly wrong. But despite the panic attacks tormenting her, nothing ever happens, and Sky’s beginning to think she’s crazy. Then she meets a mysterious, otherworldly boy named Win and discovers the shocking truth her premonitions have tapped into: our world no longer belongs to us. For thousands of years, Earth has been at the mercy of alien scientists who care nothing for its inhabitants and are using us as the unwitting subjects of their time-manipulating experiments. Win belongs to a rebel faction seeking to put a stop to it, and he needs Skylar’s help--but with each shift in the past, the very fabric of reality is unraveling, and soon there may be no Earth left to save. 

Amazon “Book

Review: Earth & Sky by Megan Crewe

Earth & Sky by Megan Crewe is a science fiction book that contains well-developed characters and an underlying message to be learned. Earth & Sky will have its readers reaching for book two to find out more. This is a series not to be missed by those who live for reading fantasy novels. Continue reading