Review: The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker by Kerry Wilkinson

Review: The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker by Kerry WilkinsonTitle: The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker
Author: Kerry Wilkinson
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication Date: July 26, 2018
Goodreads
four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

‘I will never forget the night I drowned…’

A village with something to hide.

Seventeen-year-old Eleanor Parker wakes up cold and alone in the river that twists through her quiet village. She has no memory of how she got there. But she does know that another girl was drowned in the same river the summer before, held under the water by an unknown killer…

A community torn apart.

Eleanor is a normal, every day teenager. She argues with her mum, spends her days with her best friend, and is looking forward to a carefree summer of sunshine and music. Who would want to hurt her?

A shocking secret.

Determined to unlock the mystery of what really happened to her, Eleanor can't escape the feeling that something awful links her to the previous summer's murder. But will she find out the truth before it’s too late?

A gripping and extraordinary coming of age novel that will make you question everything and keep you guessing until the very end. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars, Looking for Alaska by John Green and hit TV show Riverdale.

Amazon

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker by Kerry Wilkinson satisfied my need for a gripping thriller. This mystery novel is unlike anything I’ve read before as the main character tries to solve her own murder. Eleanor is likeable and perseverant, and the writing is very suspenseful. I definitely enjoyed this one, and I would recommend it to mystery fans.This book tells the story of a girl who wakes up to remember being drowned in a river. A girl had previously been killed in the same river she was attacked in, so she believes there is a link between the two of them. I enjoyed how Eleanor works to investigate her own murder and how fast-paced the novel is. The ending was something that I could figure out fairly early on. However the shocking twist really makes up for it.

I really enjoyed Eleanor’s character. It is so interesting how she investigates her own murder, and I loved how she never gives up. Eleanor never complains about her symptoms, and she focuses instead on taking action to find the culprit. A main character I can root for is exactly what I look for in mystery novels, and I’m glad that Eleanor met my expectations.

One of my favourite aspects of the book was the suspenseful writing. The book begins with a bang as Eleanor realizes that she was dead, and it continues to build from there. Wilkinson distorts reality and creates an eerie atmosphere to complement the plot, and this kept me hooked. I have seen many other books by this author around Goodreads, and after reading this one, I should definitely give them a try.

The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker is a suspenseful novel about a girl who investigates her own murder. I enjoyed the main character and the gripping writing style. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a mystery novel to keep them hooked.

About Kerry Wilkinson

Image of Kerry Wilkinson

Kerry Wilkinson has had No.1 bestsellers in the UK, Canada, South Africa and Singapore, as well as top-five books in Australia. He has also written two top-20 thrillers in the United States. His book, Ten Birthdays, won the RNA award for Young Adult Novel of the Year in 2018.

As well as his million-selling Jessica Daniel series, Kerry has written the Silver Blackthorn trilogy - a fantasy-adventure serial for young adults - a second crime series featuring private investigator Andrew Hunter, plus numerous standalone novels. He has been published around the world in more than a dozen languages.

Originally from the county of Somerset, Kerry has spent far too long living in the north of England, picking up words like 'barm' and 'ginnel'.

When he's short of ideas, he rides his bike or bakes cakes. When he's not, he writes it all down.

9 thoughts on “Review: The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker by Kerry Wilkinson

  1. Jaime Lester says:

    i have been really into the thriller genre the last little bit, and this sounds like a fitting story to add to my recent little collection. I might have to see about adding this one to it!

  2. Luna & Saturn says:

    Nice review <3 For some strange reason, we thought of Eleanor & Park from the protagonist's name, but then it seems the books is far away from the sweetness of Rainbow Rowell's book. We always love mystery novels, so we'll be on the lookout for this one. We really like the idea of suspenseful writing and a main character we can root for 🙂
    ~ Luna & Saturn @ Pendragons
    Luna & Saturn recently posted…Thanks for your support + Important NoteMy Profile

  3. Mary @StackingM BookShelves! says:

    I totally love this concept and seen this almost in a movie where the girl couldn’t move on and she kept trying to get her family to realize who the serial killer was. It had Mark Wahlberg in it but I can’t remember the name but this sounds like a book I would love to read!

    Great review!
    Mary

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.