Review: The Paris Secret by Lily Graham

Review: The Paris Secret by Lily GrahamTitle: The Paris Secret
Author: Lily Graham
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication Date: October 4, 2018

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

On the brink of the second world war, a beautiful Parisian bookshop hides a heartbreaking secret that will tear one family apart forever …

The last time Valerie was in Paris, she was three-years-old, running from the Nazis, away from the only home she had ever known.
Now as a young woman, Valerie must return to Paris, to the bookshop and her only surviving relative, her grandfather Vincent, to find out what really happened to those she loved. As she gets to know Vincent again, she hears a tragic story of Nazi occupied Paris, a doomed love affair and a mother willing to sacrifice everything for her beloved daughter.
Can Valerie and Vincent help each other to mend the wounds of the past? Valerie isn’t after a fairy-tale ending, she only wants the truth. But what is the one devastating secret that Vincent is determined to keep from his granddaughter?

Amazon

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

The Paris Secret by Lily Graham is an epic story set during World War II. It tells the tale of how Valerie discovers the truth about her heritage through the use of alternating timelines. The writing is beautiful, and the characters are ones that you will instantly fall in love with. Continue reading

Review: The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker by Kerry Wilkinson

Review: The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker by Kerry WilkinsonTitle: The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker
Author: Kerry Wilkinson
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication Date: July 26, 2018

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

‘I will never forget the night I drowned…’

A village with something to hide.

Seventeen-year-old Eleanor Parker wakes up cold and alone in the river that twists through her quiet village. She has no memory of how she got there. But she does know that another girl was drowned in the same river the summer before, held under the water by an unknown killer…

A community torn apart.

Eleanor is a normal, every day teenager. She argues with her mum, spends her days with her best friend, and is looking forward to a carefree summer of sunshine and music. Who would want to hurt her?

A shocking secret.

Determined to unlock the mystery of what really happened to her, Eleanor can't escape the feeling that something awful links her to the previous summer's murder. But will she find out the truth before it’s too late?

A gripping and extraordinary coming of age novel that will make you question everything and keep you guessing until the very end. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars, Looking for Alaska by John Green and hit TV show Riverdale.

Amazon

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker by Kerry Wilkinson satisfied my need for a gripping thriller. This mystery novel is unlike anything I’ve read before as the main character tries to solve her own murder. Eleanor is likeable and perseverant, and the writing is very suspenseful. I definitely enjoyed this one, and I would recommend it to mystery fans. Continue reading