Book Quotes: The Unlikelies by Carrie Firestone

Friday

Book Beginnings is a book meme hosted by Rose City Reader where participants share the first sentence (or so) of the book, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda’s Voice, and the rules are quite simple: Grab a book, any book, and turn to page 56 or 56% in your e-reader. Find any non-spoilery sentence(s) and post.

This week’s book: The Unlikelies

The Unlikelies Carrie FirestoneTitle: The Unlikelies
Author: Carrie Firestone
Publisher: Little Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 6, 2017

Summary (from Goodreads):

After high school senior Sadie helps a baby in distress, she becomes an internet sensation and is introduced to other 'hometown heroes'. Despite all their differences, the five teens hatch passionate plans to secretly right local wrongs. But when they breach the boundaries of their world, they discover that there might be truth in the saying 'no good deed goes unpunished'. 

For fans of The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks and The Boy Most Likely, this novel combines humour, romance and wisdom while taking on timely issues including teen drug abuse, bullying, ethnic discrimination, and the importance of being kind and doing good.

Amazon “Book Depository

Continue reading