Review: The Exes’ Revenge by Jo Jakeman

Review: The Exes’ Revenge by Jo JakemanTitle: The Exes' Revenge
Author: Jo Jakeman
Publisher: Berkley Books
Publication Date: September 11, 2018

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

A wickedly dark debut thriller about three women who've all been involved with the same man and realize the one thing they have in common is that they all want revenge against him...

Divorces are often messy, and Imogen's is no exception. Phillip Rochester is controlling, abusive, and determined to make things as difficult as possible. When he shows up without warning demanding that Imogen move out of their house by the end of the month or he'll sue for sole custody of their young son, Imogen is ready to snap.

In a moment of madness, Imogen does something unthinkable--something that puts her in control for the first time in years. She's desperate to protect her son and to claim authority over her own life.

But she wasn't expecting both Phillip's ex-wife and new girlfriend to get tangled up in her plans. These three very different women--and unlikely allies--reluctantly team up to take revenge against a man who has wronged them all.

Amazon | Book Depository

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

The Exes’ Revenge by Jo Jakeman is a fast-paced story of revenge that will surprise the reader with it’s shocking ending. This dark thriller has an interesting cast of female characters who come together to seek justice for themselves. It is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies. Continue reading

Review: The Echo Room by Parker Peevyhouse

Review: The Echo Room by Parker PeevyhouseTitle: The Echo Room
Author: Parker Peevyhouse
Publisher: Tor Teen
Publication Date: September 11, 2018

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Rett wakes on the floor of a cold, dark room. He doesn’t know how he got there, only that he’s locked in. He’s not alone—a girl named Bryn is trapped in the room with him. When she finds a mysterious bloodstain and decides she doesn’t trust Rett, he tries to escape on his own—

Rett wakes on the floor of the same cold, dark room. He doesn’t trust Bryn, but he’ll have to work with her if he ever hopes to escape. They try to break out of the room—

Rett and Bryn hide in a cold, dark room. Safe from what’s outside.

But they’re not alone.

Amazon | Book Depository

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

It has been a while since I’ve picked up a post-apocalyptic novel, but I’m glad that I chose The Echo Room by Parker Peevyhouse. This book is so suspenseful as the characters’ purpose is revealed, and I enjoyed both of their personalities. The writing style is also eerie, and there are many twists throughout the book. This is the perfect read to curl up with this fall. Continue reading