Cookbook: Jenna Rae Cakes and Sweet Treats

Cookbook: Jenna Rae Cakes and Sweet Treats

Jenna Rae Cakes and Sweet Treats by Jenna Hutchinson and Ashely Kosowan is a cookbook that will give you tips and techniques to recreate many of the authors’ signature desserts. It has a wealth of stylish photos and definitely gives readers an insight as to how the famous Manitoba bakery came to be. While the pages will leave you drooling, many of these recipes have a large number of steps that will seem daunting to some. Continue reading

150 Years of Stats Canada! A Guide to Canada’s Greatest Country

150 Years of Stats Canada! A Guide to Canada’s Greatest CountryTitle:  150 Years of Stats Canada!: A Guide to Canada's Greatest Country
Author: Julia Davidovich
Publisher: Penguin Books Canada
Genres: Non-Fiction
Publication Date: June 6, 2017
Rating: three-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

Canada's funniest online sensation is back to celebrate the country's 150th anniversary--bigger, bolder, and only 10% reused material!
Want to know what the hottest new Canadian apps are? Need a handy chart to help you decide what Can-Con music to listen to? How about the top Google searches across the nation? In this handy guide to Canada, the tireless experts at @stats_canada reveal all the must-know quirks from coast to coast to frigid coast.

From helpful tips on the Vancouver housing market to planning the ultimate Montreal bachelor party, Stats Can is on the case. And discover just how Canadian you are with the official checklist, not to mention the Tim Hortons etiquette quiz.
With crucial updates about Canada on its big birthday, and all the stats, charts, and graphs to back them up, 150 Years of Stats Canada! is the perfect way to celebrate everything we love about this great country.

Disclaimer: still 100.6% not affiliated with Statistics Canada

Amazon

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


150 Years of Stats Canada!:A Guide to Canada’s Greatest COuntry

150 Years of Stats Canada by Julia Davidovich might appeal to you if you have followed Stats Canada on Twitter, and not the actual Stats Canada, the parody account, you will already have an idea of what this book is all about. There are some funny moments that poke fun at all things Canadian, and while I did find myself chuckling a few times, there were also a few groaners. As with any satirical work, there is a tendency to go a bit too far and I found that some of the jokes were a bit offensive. Continue reading

Review: Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra

Review: Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah HenstraTitle: Mad Miss Mimic
Author: Sarah Henstra
Publisher: Razorbill Canada
Genres: Historical Fiction
Publication Date: January 3, 2017
Rating: five-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

Jane Austen meets Arthur Conan Doyle in a historical fiction debut for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.

Born into an affluent family, Leo outwardly seems like a typical daughter of English privilege in the 1870s: she lives with her wealthy married sister Christabel, and lacks for neither dresses nor trinkets. But Leo has a crippling speech impediment that makes it difficult for her to speak but curiously allows her to mimic other people's voices flawlessly. Servants and ladies alike call her "Mad Miss Mimic" behind her back... and watch as she unintentionally scares off every potential suitor. Only the impossibly handsome Mr. Thornfax seems interested in Leo...but why? And does he have a connection to the mysterious Black Glove group that has London in its terrifying grasp? Trapped in a city under siege by terror attacks and gripped by opium fever, where doctors (including her brother-in-law) race to patent an injectable formula, Leo must search for truth in increasingly dangerous situations - but to do so, she must first find her voice.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra

Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra is an historical fiction that packs quite a punch. It encompasses a step back in time, while providing its readers with a thrilling mystery and a slow burning romance. The main character, Leo, is relatable, quirky and full of spunk, making this book one of my favourite reads of 2016! Continue reading