Book to Movie Review: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

nyc1-2

Don’t Judge a Book by its Movie is a feature on The Candid Cover spotlighting and reviewing book to movie adaptations. 

Book to Movie Review: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie OakesTitle: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly
Author: Stephanie Oakes
Publisher: Dial Books
Cast: Elena Kampouris, Kevin Carroll, Kiana Madiera
Director: Jason Blum
Screenplay: Raelle Tucker
Publication Date: June 9, 2015

four-half-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

A hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in yourself

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust. And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something—but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

Gorgeously written, breathlessly page-turning and sprinkled with moments of unexpected humor, this harrowing debut is perfect for readers of Emily Murdoch's If You Find Me and Nova Ren Suma's The Walls Around Us , as well as for fans of Orange is the New Black.

Amazon “Book

I was very interested to see that The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes had become a Facebook Watch TV show since the story is so complex. I loved the suspense in the book, and I must say that the show is equally entertaining, however the two are so different that they seem like separate stories. The show is still enjoyable, however I wouldn’t really recommend it to those who have read the book since watching the story become so different is frustrating. Continue reading

Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy NelsonTitle: I'll Give You the Sun
Author: Jandy Nelson
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: September 16, 2014

four-half-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

"We were all heading for each other on a collision course, no matter what. Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story."

At first, Jude and her twin brother Noah, are inseparable. Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude wears red-red lipstick, cliff-dives, and does all the talking for both of them. Years later, they are barely speaking. Something has happened to change the twins in different yet equally devastating ways . . . but then Jude meets an intriguing, irresistible boy and a mysterious new mentor. The early years are Noah's to tell; the later years are Jude's. But they each have only half the story, and if they can only find their way back to one another, they'll have a chance to remake their world. This radiant, award-winning novel from the acclaimed author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

Printz Award Winner Stonewall Honor Book.

Amazon “Book

Review

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson has to be one of the best books that I’ve read this year. There is so much jam-packed into this story, that there is a lot of processing that the reader has to do once the book is read. This novel is not only an amazing book about art, it is also phenomenally written. As well, there are two different narrators who offer constructing sides to the story and give real depth to its plot . All of the elements combine to make I’ll Give You the Sun so unputdownable! Continue reading

Book Review & Playlist: Like It Never Happened

Book Review & Playlist: Like It Never Happened

Book Review & Playlist: Like It Never HappenedTitle: Like it Never Happened
Author: Emily Adrian
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: June 2, 2015

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Like It Never Happened is an original novel with characters who are actors. The main character is relatable and strong and has a great bond with her older sister. This book is so different from anything I’ve ever read!

I love the use of drama in Like It Never Happened. The main characters are all actors and love performing together. They never let what happens on stage bleed into their personal lives and vow never to date each other. However, this is where the true drama begins. I have only read a handful of theatre books, so this one was definitely a big change for me. I’m glad I picked this one up and went out of my comfort zone a bit.

Rebecca is the perfect main character for Like It Never Happened. She is relatable to anyone who is a fellow actor and she is quite flawed. She has a bad reputation at school due to a false rumour, but doesn’t let it bring her down. Rebecca is a very strong character who demonstrates what it’s like to be a teenager very well.

One of the themes in Like It Never Happened is family. I actually found there was more family in the book than romance. Rebecca’s sister, Mary, comes to visit and announces that she is getting married. The sisters bond more and it’s very sweet reading about them. Who doesn’t enjoy a good sister book?

Like It Never Happened is an enjoyable theatrical novel. It stars a relatable main character and contains a bond between sisters. I definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for a unique summer read.

Amazon

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Book Review

Like It Never Happened by Emily Adrian is an original novel with characters who are actors. The main character is relatable and strong and has a great bond with her older sister. This book is so different from anything I’ve ever read!

I love the use of drama in Like It Never Happened. The main characters are all actors and love performing together. They never let what happens on stage bleed into their personal lives and vow never to date each other. However, this is where the true drama begins. I have only read a handful of theatre books, so this one was definitely a big change for me. I’m glad I picked this one up and went out of my comfort zone a bit.

Rebecca is the perfect main character for Like It Never Happened. She is relatable to anyone who is a fellow actor and she is quite flawed. She has a bad reputation at school due to a false rumour, but doesn’t let it bring her down. Rebecca is a very strong character who demonstrates what it’s like to be a teenager very well.

One of the themes in Like It Never Happened is family. I actually found there was more family in the book than romance. Rebecca’s sister, Mary, comes to visit and announces that she is getting married. The sisters bond more and it’s very sweet reading about them. Who doesn’t enjoy a good sister book?

Like It Never Happened is an enjoyable theatrical novel. It stars a relatable main character and contains a bond between sisters. I definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for a unique summer read.

Playlist

About Emily Adrian

Emily Adrian

Emily Adrian was born in 1989 in the suburbs of Portland, Oregon. After graduating from Portland State University, she moved to Toronto, Ontario, where she worked as a receptionist while secretly writing books.

Emily currently lives in Toronto with her husband and their dog named Hank. Like It Never Happened is her debut novel.