Review: Hana Khan Carries On by Uzma Jalaluddin

Review: Hana Khan Carries On by Uzma Jalaluddin

Hana Khan Carries On by Uzma Jalaluddin is a novel sure to incite a wide range of emotions in its readers. As a fan of any book about cooking and restaurants, this one’s rival halal restaurants won me over. The main character is also resolute, and I appreciated the commentary on different forms of racism in Canada throughout the book. Those looking for a read that is both upbeat and earnest will not want to miss this one. Continue reading

Review: Seven Days of Us by Francesca Hornak

Review: Seven Days of Us by Francesca Hornak

Seven Days of Us by Francesca Hornak is a dramatic novel that takes place over the Christmas holidays. The concept of being quarantined with your family for seven days during the festive season sets this story up for some interesting dynamics. While it is an enjoyable read with relatable characters, the book seems to lack the humour that is promised on its cover. Continue reading

Review: The Exes’ Revenge by Jo Jakeman

Review: The Exes’ Revenge by Jo JakemanTitle: The Exes' Revenge
Author: Jo Jakeman
Publisher: Berkley Books
Genres: Thriller
Publication Date: September 11, 2018
Rating: four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

A wickedly dark debut thriller about three women who've all been involved with the same man and realize the one thing they have in common is that they all want revenge against him...

Divorces are often messy, and Imogen's is no exception. Phillip Rochester is controlling, abusive, and determined to make things as difficult as possible. When he shows up without warning demanding that Imogen move out of their house by the end of the month or he'll sue for sole custody of their young son, Imogen is ready to snap.

In a moment of madness, Imogen does something unthinkable--something that puts her in control for the first time in years. She's desperate to protect her son and to claim authority over her own life.

But she wasn't expecting both Phillip's ex-wife and new girlfriend to get tangled up in her plans. These three very different women--and unlikely allies--reluctantly team up to take revenge against a man who has wronged them all.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: The Exes’ Revenge by Jo Jakeman

The Exes’ Revenge by Jo Jakeman is a fast-paced story of revenge that will surprise the reader with it’s shocking ending. This dark thriller has an interesting cast of female characters who come together to seek justice for themselves. It is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies. Continue reading