Review: The Art of Not Breathing by Sarah Alexander

Review: The Art of Not Breathing by Sarah AlexanderTitle: The Art of Not Breathing
Author: Sarah Alexander
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Genres: Contemporary
Publication Date: April 26, 2016
Rating: three-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

Since her twin brother, Eddie, drowned five years ago, sixteen-year-old Elsie Main has tried to remember what really happened that fateful day on the beach. One minute Eddie was there, and the next he was gone. Seventeen-year-old Tay McKenzie is a cute and mysterious boy that Elsie meets in her favorite boathouse hangout. When Tay introduces Elsie to the world of freediving, she vows to find the answers she seeks at the bottom of the sea.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: The Art of Not Breathing by Sarah Alexander

The Art of Not Breathing by Sarah Alexander is a book that honestly had so much potential! It is about a girl who tries to remember her brother’s disappearance and even incorporates free diving. However, the main character seems emotionless and makes some pretty bad choices, which made the book a lot less enjoyable. Continue reading

Book Review: Suffer Love by Ashley Herring Blake

Book Review: Suffer Love by Ashley Herring BlakeTitle: Suffer Love
Author: Ashley Herring Blake
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Genres: Contemporary
Publication Date: May 3, 2016
Rating: four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

“Just let it go.”

That’s what everyone keeps telling Hadley St. Clair after she learns that her father cheated on her mother. But Hadley doesn’t want to let it go. She wants to be angry and she wants everyone in her life—her dad most of all—to leave her alone.

Sam Bennett and his family have had their share of drama too. Still reeling from a move to a new town and his parents’ recent divorce, Sam is hoping that he can coast through senior year and then move on to hassle-free, parent-free life in college. He isn’t looking for a relationship…that is, until he sees Hadley for the first time.

Hadley and Sam’s connection is undeniable, but Sam has a secret that could ruin everything. Should he follow his heart or tell the truth?

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Book Review: Suffer Love by Ashley Herring Blake

Suffer Love by Ashley Herring Blake is a book about a family that is falling apart. This book is told in alternating perspectives, which really helps the reader understand the events better, and has a big theme of family. It is a really enjoyable book, despite the more serious topic. Get your tissues ready because you will definitely need them after reading this one. Continue reading

Book vs. Movie: The Little Prince

 

nyc1-2

Don’t Judge a Book by its Movie is a feature on The Candid Cover spotlighting and reviewing book to movie adaptations.

Book vs. Movie: The Little Prince

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry is one childhood book that everyone should revisit. The touching tale of the innocence of childhood, friendship, and loss is presented in a way that children can relate to, but there is so much that can be taken and learned as adults from this beautifully written story. While the movie is extremely touching and well done, there are some differences that might surprise fans of the book. Nonetheless, this film really does explore the themes and messages that Antoine de Saint-Exupéry intended in this wonderful film. Continue reading

Review: This Raging Light by Estelle Laure

Review: This Raging Light by Estelle LaureTitle: This Raging Light
Author: Estelle Laure
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Genres: Contemporary
Publication Date: December 22, 2015
Rating: three-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

For fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell comes a gorgeous debut novel about family, friends, and first love.

Lucille Bennett is pushed into adulthood after her mom decides to “take a break”…from parenting, from responsibility, from Lucille and her little sister, Wren. Left to cover for her absentee parents, Lucille thinks, “Wren and Lucille. Lucille and Wren. I will do whatever I have to. No one will pull us apart.”
Now is not the time for level-headed Lucille to fall in love. But love—messy, inconvenient love—is what she’s about to experience when she falls for Digby Jones, her best friend’s brother. With blazing longing that builds to a fever pitch, Estelle Laure’s soulful debut will keep readers hooked and hoping until the very last page.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: This Raging Light by Estelle Laure

While the cover for This Raging Light by Estelle Laure is absolutely stunning, I had a very hard time enjoying this book. The main character isn’t one that I could easily connect with. Also, there are many loose ends at the end of the book, which left me wondering so many things. However, the writing in this book is truly beautiful and I was able to keep reading because of it. Continue reading