Review: This Raging Light by Estelle Laure

Review: This Raging Light by Estelle LaureTitle: This Raging Light
Author: Estelle Laure
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: December 22, 2015

three-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

For fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell comes a gorgeous debut novel about family, friends, and first love.

Lucille Bennett is pushed into adulthood after her mom decides to “take a break”…from parenting, from responsibility, from Lucille and her little sister, Wren. Left to cover for her absentee parents, Lucille thinks, “Wren and Lucille. Lucille and Wren. I will do whatever I have to. No one will pull us apart.”
Now is not the time for level-headed Lucille to fall in love. But love—messy, inconvenient love—is what she’s about to experience when she falls for Digby Jones, her best friend’s brother. With blazing longing that builds to a fever pitch, Estelle Laure’s soulful debut will keep readers hooked and hoping until the very last page.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review: This Raging Light

While the cover for This Raging Light by Estelle Laure is absolutely stunning, I had a very hard time enjoying this book. The main character isn’t one that I could easily connect with. Also, there are many loose ends at the end of the book, which left me wondering so many things. However, the writing in this book is truly beautiful and I was able to keep reading because of it. Continue reading

Review: We’ll Never Be Apart

Review: We'll Never Be Apart

Review: We’ll Never Be ApartTitle: We'll Never Be Apart
Author: Emiko Jean
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: October 6, 2015

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Murder.

Fire.

Revenge.

That’s all seventeen-year-old Alice Monroe thinks about. Committed to a mental ward at Savage Isle, Alice is haunted by memories of the fire that killed her boyfriend, Jason. A blaze her twin sister Cellie set. But when Chase, a mysterious, charismatic patient, agrees to help her seek vengeance, Alice begins to rethink everything. Writing out the story of her troubled past in a journal, she must confront hidden truths.

Is the one person she trusts only telling her half the story? Nothing is as it seems in this edge-of-your-seat psychological thriller from the debut author Emiko Jean.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

We’ll Never Be Apart by Emiko Jean is the perfect book to cozy up with this Halloween season. Emiko Jean has written a whirlwind of a novel that will have readers kept in suspense. This novel is very eerie with its mental hospital setting, unique writing style and intense story of vengeance. Continue reading

Book vs. Movie: The Giver

 

Grey image with movie icons and Don't Judge a Book by its Movie title.

Don’t Judge a Book by its Movie is a weekly feature on The Candid Cover spotlighting  and reviewing book to movie adaptations.

Book vs. Movie: The GiverTitle: The Giver
Author: Lois Lowry
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Cast: Brenton Thwaites, Jeff Bridges, Odeya Rush
Director: Phillip Noyce
Screenplay: Robert B. Waide and Michael Mitnick
Publication Date: April 26, 1993

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

The Giver, the 1994 Newbery Medal winner, has become one of the most influential novels of our time. The haunting story centers on twelve-year-old Jonas, who lives in a seemingly ideal, if colorless, world of conformity and contentment. Not until he is given his life assignment as the Receiver of Memory does he begin to understand the dark, complex secrets behind his fragile community.

Amazon “Book

The Giver: Book vs. Movie

The Giver, written by Lois Lowry two decades ago is a dystopian book that has captured the hearts of many. Comparing the book vs. the movie is quite difficult. The leap to the big screen in 2014 has excited many fans of Lowry’s The Giver Quartet, however, the drastic changes to the plot make this movie one to wonder why such changes were necessary. Continue reading

Review: Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman

Review: Vengeance Road by Erin BowmanTitle: Vengeance Road
Author: Erin Bowman
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 1, 2015

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

When her father is killed by the notorious Rose Riders for a mysterious journal that reveals the secret location of a gold mine, eighteen year-old Kate Thompson disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers--and justice. In the spirit of "True Grit"," "acclaimed young adult novelist Erin Bowman brings to life the unpredictable and cutthroat days of the Wild West. 

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review: Vengeance Road

Saddle up, pardner, and get ready for one of the most memorable books you will ever read. Vengeance Road is a wonderful western with a main character that is brave and desperate for vengeance and a theme that is fairly common, but with a western twist. This is the perfect book to introduce you to the western genre. Continue reading