Wishlist Wednesday: Sherwood by Megan Spooner

Wishlist Wednesday on The Candid Cover

Welcome to this week’s edition of Wishlist Wednesday! Today I am featuring Sherwood by Meagan Spooner. I have a soft spot in my heart for retellings. This Robin Hood retelling sounds like my new favourite girl power story.

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by  Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about and have yet to read. It is a spin-off of the original meme, Waiting on Wednesday that was formerly hosted by Breaking the Spine.

THIS WEEK’S BOOK: Sherwood by Megan Spooner

Sherwood by Meagan SpoonerTitle: Sherwood
Author: Megan Spooner
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: March 19, 2019

Summary (from Goodreads):

Fans of Danielle Paige, Marissa Meyer, and Alex Flinn will devour New York Times bestselling author Meagan Spooner’s next fierce fairy tale-inspired story, which Illuminae author Amie Kaufman calls “a kick-***, gender-flipped feminist retelling.”

Robin of Locksley is dead.

Maid Marian doesn’t know how she’ll go on, but the people of Locksley town, persecuted by the Sheriff of Nottingham, need a protector. And the dreadful Guy of Gisborne, the Sheriff’s right hand, wishes to step into Robin’s shoes as Lord of Locksley andMarian’s fiancé.

Who is there to stop them?

Marian never meant to tread in Robin’s footsteps—never intended to stand as a beacon of hope to those awaiting his triumphant return. But with a sweep of his green cloak and the flash of her sword, Marian makes the choice to become her own hero: Robin Hood. 

Amazon “Book Depository

Thoughts

I am not too familiar with the story of Robin Hood, but the concept is one that I love. The fact that the main character in Sherwood is a female has me very excited. I look forward to finding out how Spooner spins this epic tale.

23 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday: Sherwood by Megan Spooner

  1. Literary Feline says:

    I have been seeing this title around and am definitely interested. I know a little of the Robinhood stories, but not much. Marion was always a favorite character–never a pushover. I think I would enjoy this one. I hope you do!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.