Friday Reads: What If It’s Us Quotes

Friday Reads

Welcome to this week’s edition of Friday Reads! Today I am sharing a few quotes from What If It’s Us by Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera. I am so excited about this co-authored contemporary!

Book Beginnings is a book meme hosted by Rose City Reader where participants share quotes (the first sentence, or so) of the book, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda’s Voice, and the rules are quite simple: Grab a book, any book, and turn to page 56 or 56% in your e-reader. Find any non-spoilery sentence(s) and post.

THIS WEEK’S BOOK: What If It’s Us

hearts, strings, and other breakable thingsTitle: Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
Author: Jacqueline Firkins
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: December 17, 2019

Summary (from Goodreads):

In this charming debut about first love and second chances, a young girl gets caught between the boy next door and a playboy. Perfect for fans of To All The Boys I've Loved Before.

Mansfield, Massachusetts is the last place seventeen-year-old Edie Price wants to spend her final summer before college. It’s the home of wealthy suburbanites and prima donnas like Edie’s cousins, who are determined to distract her from her mother’s death with cute boys and Cinderella-style makeovers. Edie has her own plans, and they don’t include a prince charming.

But as Edie dives into schoolwork and applying for college scholarships, she finds herself drawn to two Mansfield boys who start vying for her attention. First there's Sebastian, Edie’s childhood friend and first love. He’s sweet and smart and . . . already has a girlfriend. Then there's Henry, the local bad boy and all-around player. He’s totally off limits, even if his kisses are chemically addictive.

Both boys are trouble. Edie can’t help but get caught between them. Someone's heart is going to break. Now she just has to make sure it isn't hers.

Amazon “Book Depository

Book Quotes: What If It’s Us

BOOK BEGINNING

I am not a New Yorker, and I want to go home.

There are so many unspoken rules when you live here, like the way you’re never supposed to stop in the middle of the sidewalk or stare dreamily up at tall buildings or pause to read graffiti.

FRIDAY 56

“Wait,” Hudson interrupts. “I’m not staying late.Coming to school over the summer is already over the top, thank you very much.”

Thoughts

That beginning just makes me want to go to New York to find out if it is really that way. I love both Becky and Adam, so I have high hopes for this one. Co-authored books can be hit or miss for me, but I am really enjoying What If It’s Us so far.

About Becky Albertalli

image of Becky Albertalli

Becky Albertalli is the author of the acclaimed novels Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda (film: Love, Simon), The Upside of Unrequited, and Leah on the Offbeat. She is also the co-author of What If It's Us with Adam Silvera. A former clinical psychologist who specialized in working with children and teens, Becky lives with her family in Atlanta

About Adam Silvera

Image of Adam Silvera

Adam Silvera is the New York Times bestselling author of More Happy Than Not, History Is All You Left Me, and They Both Die at the End. His next book What If It's Us is co-written by Becky Albertalli (Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda) and releases on October 9th, 2018.
He writes full-time in New York City and is tall for no reason.

23 thoughts on “Friday Reads: What If It’s Us Quotes

  1. Jaime lynn says:

    I have only been to New York once, for about three hours, and I can tell you that if you DO stop in the middle of the sidewalk you will get PLOWED OVER! New Yorkers boogie! My little Southern self was not in my comfort zone!

  2. Sophie says:

    I feel the same way about co-authored books… There have been few favourites in the past but a lot of disappointments.
    The first quote sure makes you want to go explore the city!
    I hope you enjoy this book 🙂 Terrific post!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.