Review: Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra

Review: Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah HenstraTitle: Mad Miss Mimic
Author: Sarah Henstra
Publisher: Razorbill Canada
Publication Date: January 3, 2017

five-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Jane Austen meets Arthur Conan Doyle in a historical fiction debut for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.

Born into an affluent family, Leo outwardly seems like a typical daughter of English privilege in the 1870s: she lives with her wealthy married sister Christabel, and lacks for neither dresses nor trinkets. But Leo has a crippling speech impediment that makes it difficult for her to speak but curiously allows her to mimic other people's voices flawlessly. Servants and ladies alike call her "Mad Miss Mimic" behind her back... and watch as she unintentionally scares off every potential suitor. Only the impossibly handsome Mr. Thornfax seems interested in Leo...but why? And does he have a connection to the mysterious Black Glove group that has London in its terrifying grasp? Trapped in a city under siege by terror attacks and gripped by opium fever, where doctors (including her brother-in-law) race to patent an injectable formula, Leo must search for truth in increasingly dangerous situations - but to do so, she must first find her voice.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra is an historical fiction that packs quite a punch. It encompasses a step back in time, while providing its readers with a thrilling mystery and a slow burning romance. The main character, Leo, is relatable, quirky and full of spunk, making this book one of my favourite reads of 2016! Continue reading

Review: The Clouded Sky by Megan Crewe

Review: The Clouded Sky by Megan CreweTitle: The Clouded Sky (Earth & Sky #2)
Author: Megan Crewe
Publisher: Razorbill Canada
Publication Date: May 5, 2015

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Skylar never imagined that she’d end up helping a boy from another planet search through Earth’s history for a way to end his people’s secret control over her world. But now that she’s been drawn into Win’s group of rebels, she can’t walk away until their mission is completed.

Whisked to the immense space station that Win and the rest of the Kemyates call home, Skylar discovers that even the rebels don’t see her as an equal. Determined to prove herself amid her homesickness in the alien environment, she throws herself into the work to free Earth. Her keen attention to detail and skill with numbers start to earn her colleagues’ respect, but that doesn’t make her position any less precarious. As the Enforcers escalate their attempts to capture the rebels, it becomes clear that someone within the resistance is leaking information to the enemy. And Skylar may be in the best position to uncover the traitor.

With each step toward the truth, Skylar is pulled deeper into the lives around her and the full horrors of her planet’s imprisonment. To see her mission through, she must risk her life, her heart, and the future she’s worked so hard to preserve. 

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review: The Clouded Sky

The Clouded Sky by Megan Crewe has it all! Including Aliens, rebels, traitors, and space. This second story of the Earth & Sky trilogy begins immediately where book one left off. It is one of the most thrilling mysteries I’ve read. This sequel definitely won’t disappoint. Continue reading

Review: Earth & Sky by Megan Crewe

Review: Earth & Sky by Megan CreweTitle:  Earth & Sky (Earth & Sky #1)
Author: Megan Crewe
Publisher: Razorbill Canada
Publication Date: October 28, 2014

five-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Seventeen-year-old Skylar has been haunted for as long as she can remember by fleeting yet powerful sensations that something is horribly wrong. But despite the panic attacks tormenting her, nothing ever happens, and Sky’s beginning to think she’s crazy. Then she meets a mysterious, otherworldly boy named Win and discovers the shocking truth her premonitions have tapped into: our world no longer belongs to us. For thousands of years, Earth has been at the mercy of alien scientists who care nothing for its inhabitants and are using us as the unwitting subjects of their time-manipulating experiments. Win belongs to a rebel faction seeking to put a stop to it, and he needs Skylar’s help--but with each shift in the past, the very fabric of reality is unraveling, and soon there may be no Earth left to save. 

Amazon “Book

Review: Earth & Sky by Megan Crewe

Earth & Sky by Megan Crewe is a science fiction book that contains well-developed characters and an underlying message to be learned. Earth & Sky will have its readers reaching for book two to find out more. This is a series not to be missed by those who live for reading fantasy novels. Continue reading