Review: The Art of Not Breathing by Sarah Alexander

Review: The Art of Not Breathing by Sarah AlexanderTitle: The Art of Not Breathing
Author: Sarah Alexander
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: April 26, 2016

three-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Since her twin brother, Eddie, drowned five years ago, sixteen-year-old Elsie Main has tried to remember what really happened that fateful day on the beach. One minute Eddie was there, and the next he was gone. Seventeen-year-old Tay McKenzie is a cute and mysterious boy that Elsie meets in her favorite boathouse hangout. When Tay introduces Elsie to the world of freediving, she vows to find the answers she seeks at the bottom of the sea.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

The Art of Not Breathing by Sarah Alexander is a book that honestly had so much potential! It is about a girl who tries to remember her brother’s disappearance and even incorporates free diving. However, the main character seems emotionless and makes some pretty bad choices, which made the book a lot less enjoyable. Continue reading

Book Review: Suffer Love by Ashley Herring Blake

Book Review: Suffer Love by Ashley Herring BlakeTitle: Suffer Love
Author: Ashley Herring Blake
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: May 3, 2016

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

“Just let it go.”

That’s what everyone keeps telling Hadley St. Clair after she learns that her father cheated on her mother. But Hadley doesn’t want to let it go. She wants to be angry and she wants everyone in her life—her dad most of all—to leave her alone.

Sam Bennett and his family have had their share of drama too. Still reeling from a move to a new town and his parents’ recent divorce, Sam is hoping that he can coast through senior year and then move on to hassle-free, parent-free life in college. He isn’t looking for a relationship…that is, until he sees Hadley for the first time.

Hadley and Sam’s connection is undeniable, but Sam has a secret that could ruin everything. Should he follow his heart or tell the truth?

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

Suffer Love by Ashley Herring Blake is a book about a family that is falling apart. This book is told in alternating perspectives, which really helps the reader understand the events better, and has a big theme of family. It is a really enjoyable book, despite the more serious topic. Get your tissues ready because you will definitely need them after reading this one. Continue reading

Review: This Raging Light by Estelle Laure

Review: This Raging Light by Estelle LaureTitle: This Raging Light
Author: Estelle Laure
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: December 22, 2015

three-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

For fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell comes a gorgeous debut novel about family, friends, and first love.

Lucille Bennett is pushed into adulthood after her mom decides to “take a break”…from parenting, from responsibility, from Lucille and her little sister, Wren. Left to cover for her absentee parents, Lucille thinks, “Wren and Lucille. Lucille and Wren. I will do whatever I have to. No one will pull us apart.”
Now is not the time for level-headed Lucille to fall in love. But love—messy, inconvenient love—is what she’s about to experience when she falls for Digby Jones, her best friend’s brother. With blazing longing that builds to a fever pitch, Estelle Laure’s soulful debut will keep readers hooked and hoping until the very last page.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review: This Raging Light

While the cover for This Raging Light by Estelle Laure is absolutely stunning, I had a very hard time enjoying this book. The main character isn’t one that I could easily connect with. Also, there are many loose ends at the end of the book, which left me wondering so many things. However, the writing in this book is truly beautiful and I was able to keep reading because of it. Continue reading

Review: We’ll Never Be Apart

Review: We'll Never Be Apart

Review: We’ll Never Be ApartTitle: We'll Never Be Apart
Author: Emiko Jean
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: October 6, 2015

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Murder.

Fire.

Revenge.

That’s all seventeen-year-old Alice Monroe thinks about. Committed to a mental ward at Savage Isle, Alice is haunted by memories of the fire that killed her boyfriend, Jason. A blaze her twin sister Cellie set. But when Chase, a mysterious, charismatic patient, agrees to help her seek vengeance, Alice begins to rethink everything. Writing out the story of her troubled past in a journal, she must confront hidden truths.

Is the one person she trusts only telling her half the story? Nothing is as it seems in this edge-of-your-seat psychological thriller from the debut author Emiko Jean.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

We’ll Never Be Apart by Emiko Jean is the perfect book to cozy up with this Halloween season. Emiko Jean has written a whirlwind of a novel that will have readers kept in suspense. This novel is very eerie with its mental hospital setting, unique writing style and intense story of vengeance. Continue reading