Friday Reads: This Tiny Perfect World by Lauren Gibaldi

Friday Reads

Welcome to this week’s edition of Friday Reads! Today I am sharing  a few quotes from This Tiny Perfect World by Lauren Gibaldi. I have not had much time for reading this week, so I haven’t read too much of this one yet.

Book Beginnings is a book meme hosted by Rose City Reader where participants share quotes (the first sentence, or so) of the book, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda’s Voice, and the rules are quite simple: Grab a book, any book, and turn to page 56 or 56% in your e-reader. Find any non-spoilery sentence(s) and post.

THIS WEEK’S BOOK:

Book cover for This Tiny Perfect World by Lauren Gibaldi.Title: This Tiny Perfect World
Author: Lauren Gibaldi
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: February 27, 2018

Summary (from Goodreads): 

The big-hearted story of a small-town girl who discovers how wide the world really is during one transformative summer. Perfect for fans of Susane Colasanti and Sarah Dessen.

Penny loves her small-town Florida life, and she has her future mapped out. She’s going to community college after graduation to stay close to home and her best friend, Faye. She’ll take over the family diner that her dad has been managing since her mother died. And one day, she’ll marry her high school sweetheart, Logan.

But when she unexpectedly lands a scholarship to a prestigious summer theater camp, she is thrust into a world of competition and self-doubt. And suddenly, her future gets a little hazy. As she meets new friends, including Chase, a talented young actor with big-city dreams, she begins to realize that maybe the life everyone (including her) expects her to lead is not the one she was meant to have.

From the acclaimed author of The Night We Said Yes and Autofocus.  Continue reading

Friday Reads: Love Songs & Other Lies by Jessica Pennington

Bookshelves with the words Friday Reads.

Welcome to this week’s edition of Friday Reads! Today I am sharing  a few quotes from Love Songs & Other Lies by Jessica Pennington. I have just started reading this one and it is such a great concept for a contemporary.

Book Beginnings is a book meme hosted by Rose City Reader where participants share quotes (the first sentence, or so) of the book, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda’s Voice, and the rules are quite simple: Grab a book, any book, and turn to page 56 or 56% in your e-reader. Find any non-spoilery sentence(s) and post.

THIS WEEK’S BOOK:

Book cover for Love Songs & Other Lies by Jessica Pennington.Title: Love Songs & Other Lies
Author: Jessica Pennington
Publisher: Tor Teen
Publication Date: April 24, 2018

Summary (from Goodreads): It’s summer romance and second chances, the songs that stay in your head, and the boy you’ll never forget.

Two years after rock-song-worthy heartbreak, Virginia Miller is looking forward to a fun, carefree summer. Her friends just landed a spot on a battling bands reality show, and Vee is joining them for her dream internship on tour. Three months with future rockstars seems like an epic summer plan. Until she learns she’ll also be sharing the bus with Cam. Her first love, and her first heartbreak. Now Vee has more than just cameras to dodge, and Cam’s determination to win her forgiveness is causing TMZ-worthy problems for both of them. With cameras rolling, she’ll have to decide if her favorite breakup anthem deserves a new ending. And if she’s brave enough to expose her own secrets to keep Cam’s under wraps.  Continue reading

Friday Reads: Lost in Love (City Love #2) by Susane Colasanti

Bookshelves with the words Friday Reads.

Welcome to the week’s edition of Friday Reads! Today I am sharing  a few quotes from the second book in Susane Colasanti’s City Love Series, Lost in Love, which is the perfect contemporary read for Valentine’s Day!

Book Beginnings is a book meme hosted by Rose City Reader where participants share quotes (the first sentence, or so) of the book, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda’s Voice, and the rules are quite simple: Grab a book, any book, and turn to page 56 or 56% in your e-reader. Find any non-spoilery sentence(s) and post.

This week’s book:

Book cover for Lost in Love by Susane Colasanti

Title: Lost in Love (City Love #2)
Author: Susane Colasanti
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: May 3, 2018

Summary (from Goodreads): In this second book of the City Love trilogy by bestselling author Susane Colasanti, three girls share a Manhattan apartment the summer before college begins. Lost in Love captures the essence of summer love, self-discovery, and sisterhood, a perfect fit for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Jennifer E. Smith.

Sadie was convinced that Austin was her soul mate, but after discovering his secret she wonders if she even knows him at all. Darcy was all about fun boy adventures with no strings attached . . . until her ex moves to New York City to win her back. Things are getting serious with Rosanna and her boyfriend, but will she be able to break free of her past and let him in? With no parents, no rules, and an entire city to explore, this is the summer that will change their lives forever.

Told from alternating points of view, Lost in Love weaves a story of first love, first heartbreak, and everything in between.  Continue reading

Friday Reads #41: The Lucky Ones by Tiffany Reisz

Friday Reads

Book Beginnings is a book meme hosted by Rose City Reader where participants share the first sentence (or so) of the book, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda’s Voice, and the rules are quite simple: Grab a book, any book, and turn to page 56 or 56% in your e-reader. Find any non-spoilery sentence(s) and post.

This week’s book:

The-Lucky-Ones-by-Tiffany-ReiszTitle: The Lucky Ones
Author: Tiffany Reisz
Publisher: MIRA
Publication Date: February 13, 2018

Summary (from Goodreads): They called themselves “the lucky ones.”

They were seven children either orphaned or abandoned by their parents and chosen by legendary philanthropist and brain surgeon Dr. Vincent Capello to live in The Dragon, his almost magical beach house on the Oregon Coast. Allison was the youngest of the lucky ones living an idyllic life with her newfound family…until the night she almost died, and was then whisked away from the house and her adopted family forever.

Now, thirteen years later, Allison receives a letter from Roland, Dr. Capello’s oldest son, warning her that their father is ill and in his final days. Allison determines she must go home again and confront the ghosts of her past. She’s determined to find out what really happened that fateful night–was it an accident or, as she’s always suspected, did one of her beloved family members try to kill her?

But digging into the past can reveal horrific truths, and when Allison pieces together the story of her life, she’ll learns the terrible secret at the heart of the family she once loved but never really knew.

A vivid and suspenseful tale of family, grief, love—and the dark secrets that bind everything together—Tiffany Reisz’s latest is enthralling to the final page.  Continue reading

Friday Reads #40: Every Day by David Levithan

Friday Reads

Book Beginnings is a book meme hosted by Rose City Reader where participants share the first sentence (or so) of the book, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda’s Voice, and the rules are quite simple: Grab a book, any book, and turn to page 56 or 56% in your e-reader. Find any non-spoilery sentence(s) and post.

This week’s book:

13262783Title: Every Day
Author: David Levithan
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
Publication Date: August 28, 2012

Summary (from Goodreads): Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.
There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.

It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.

Goodreads | Amazon

This is actually a re-read for me so that I can refresh my memory before the movie comes out. I chose to go with listening to the audio version, and I am really enjoying the narration. The concept of this series is so unique and the main character, A, is one that is so relatable, despite having to become a new person each and every day.

Book Beginning:

Day 5994

I wake up.

Immediately I have to figure out who I am. It’s not just the body–opening my eyes and discovering whether the skin on my arm is light or dark, whether my hair is long or short, whether I’m fat or thin, boy or girl, scarred or smooth. The body is the easiest thing to adjust to, if you’re used to waking up in a new one each morning. It’s the life, the context of the body, that can be hard to grasp.

Friday 56:

It’s one thing to be love-worthy when you are interacting with your boyfriend; it’s quite another when you act the same way with a girl you don’t know. I no longer think she’s just being nice. She’s being kind. Which is much more a sign of character than mere niceness.