Wishlist Wednesday: A Dress for the Wicked

Wishlist Wednesday on The Candid Cover

Welcome to this week’s edition of Wishlist Wednesday! Today I am featuring A Dress for the Wicked  by Autumn Krause. I just discovered this book over the weekend at HCC Frenzy‘s Frenzy Presents and I am so excited to share it with you.. 

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by  Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about and have yet to read. It is a spin-off of the original meme, Waiting on Wednesday that was formerly hosted by Breaking the Spine.

THIS WEEK’S BOOK:

Wishlist Wednesday: A Dress for the WickedTitle: A Dress for the Wicked
Author: Autumn Krause
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: August 6, 2019

Summary (from Goodreads):

The high-stakes fashion scene of a reimagined nineteenth century Europe takes center stage in this YA debut perfect for fans of The Belles and The Luxe.

Nothing much happens in the sleepy town of Shy in Avon-upon-Kynt. And for eighteen years, Emmaline Watkins has feared that her future held just that: nothing.

But when the head of the most admired fashion house in the country opens her prestigious design competition to girls from outside the stylish capital city, Emmy’s dreams seem closer than they ever have before.

As the first “country girl” to compete, Emmy knows she’ll encounter extra hurdles on her way to the top. But as she navigates the twisted world of high fashion she starts to wonder: will she be able to tailor herself to fit into this dark, corrupted race? And at what cost?

Historical fiction and contemporary fans alike will flock to this twisted, lush story of fashion, betrayal, and romance.

Amazon “Book

Thoughts

I don’t read a lot of historical fiction, however this one is super intriguing to me. I love books that feature both fashion and competitions. It is a book that is being promoted for fans of The Selection and Project Runway. Sign me up!

About Autumn Krause

Autumn Krause

Autumn Krause is a writer in Orange County, California, where she can most often be found wearing a black lace dress and boots.

 

29 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday: A Dress for the Wicked

  1. Sophie says:

    I might try this one over The Selection, it just seems a bit more grounded? I don’t know, will have to try and see. But I agree, fashion-centered plots are always interesting (also one of my all time favourite movies is The Devil Wears Prada, so…..) I’m also a fan of historicals.
    Anyway, I hope you enjoy it when you read it! 🙂

  2. Jaime Lynn says:

    Oh my gosh, that COVER!! It is stunning. I almost didn’t read the synopsis bc I couldn’t tear my gaze away from the cover. But it sounds good. It sounds so so good. And I don’t even like historical fiction.

  3. Helen says:

    This seems interesting. I so want to know if she will follow her dreams no matter what and what price she will have to pay to do so.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.