Review: THE TWO HEARTS OF ELIZA BLOOM by Beth Miller

Review: THE TWO HEARTS OF ELIZA BLOOM by Beth Miller

The Two Hearts of Eliza Bloom by Beth Miller is a book that I find difficult to review. At first, I admit that I was drawn in by the synopsis and the adorable cover. As the book progresses, it becomes evident that there are some problematic elements to the story that are hard to overlook.

Review: THE TWO HEARTS OF ELIZA BLOOM by Beth MillerTitle: The Two Hearts of Eliza Bloom
Author: Beth Miller
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication Date: March 1, 2019

two-half-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

Meet Eliza Bloom: She likes to live life by the rules: long, blue skirt on Thursdays, dinner with mother on Fridays and if someone tells you a Valentine should be anonymous, give your new husband a blank card. Nothing is out of place in her ordered life…

But last night her teenage daughter found something in a hidden shoebox that no-one was supposed to see and started asking questions. Questions that might just change everything in Eliza’s carefully constructed world.

Join Eliza as she shows you how to run away with the love of your life (quite fast actually, as your family are coming after you), how to make your grandfather happy (this might involve a little bit of lying), how to let someone you love go (actually, this never gets easier) and how (now, this is a bad idea) to keep secrets from your new husband.

The only way to truly live is to learn how to open your heart.

An uplifting and heartbreaking novel about finding yourself, perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, The Keeper of Lost Things and The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

At first glance, The Two Hearts of Eliza Bloom does appear to be a book that is going to be charming and bring out all the feels. The comparison to one of my favourite reads, Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine had me super excited to give this book a try. Unfortunately, the two books are not similar at all. Where Honeyman’s Eleanor is quirky and adorable, Miller’s Aliza is annoying and frustrating.

❀ Lots of Drama

Eliza breaks free from her life as an Orthodox Jew because she falls in love with a man from “the real world.” Her actions become aggravating to read, as she weaves a web of lies that she hides from her husband, friend, and family. It is hard to empathize with this character because she seems to create so much unnecessary drama.

❀ Trigger Warnings

It is not easy to review some aspects of this book without giving away the plot. However, there are quite a few trigger warnings to point out, including physical and emotional abuse. While these issues are ones that appear in quite a few contemporary novels,  they are handled poorly in this particular book.

While, on the surface The Two Hearts of Eliza Bloom seems to be a feel-good contemporary, it falls short. The main character is annoying and the story does not deal with issues of abuse appropriately. Unfortunately, it didn’t charm me as much as I had hoped.

11 thoughts on “Review: THE TWO HEARTS OF ELIZA BLOOM by Beth Miller

  1. Deanna @ A Novel Glimpse says:

    Great review, but I have to admit that it bummed me out. I hadn’t heard of this book before, but was immediately won over the the blurb. As I read your review, I started to lose interest because it sounds like the author really needed to up the game on the abuse situation. I think I’ll pass on this one now. Thanks for writing such a nice, honest review.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.