Review: Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks

Review: Her One Mistake by Heidi PerksTitle: Her One Mistake
Author: Heidi Perks
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication Date: February 5, 2019

four-half-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

What should have been a fun-filled, carefree day takes a tragic turn for the worse for one mother when her best friend’s child goes missing in this suspenseful, compulsively readable, and darkly twisted psychological thriller.

It all started at the school fair…

Charlotte was supposed to be looking after the children, and she swears she was. She only took her eyes off of them for one second. But when her three kids are all safe and sound at the school fair, and Alice, her best friend Harriet’s daughter, is nowhere to be found, Charlotte panics. Frantically searching everywhere, Charlotte knows she must find the courage to tell Harriet that her beloved only child is missing. And admit that she has only herself to blame.

Harriet, devastated by this unthinkable, unbearable loss, can no longer bring herself to speak to Charlotte again, much less trust her. Now more isolated than ever and struggling to keep her marriage afloat, Harriet believes nothing and no one. But as the police bear down on both women trying to piece together the puzzle of what happened to this little girl, dark secrets begin to surface—and Harriet discovers that confiding in Charlotte again may be the only thing that will reunite her with her daughter....

This breathless and fast-paced debut—perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door—takes you on a chilling journey that will keep you guessing until the very last page.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks is a novel that tests the limits of friendship. The characters are relatable and well-developed, and the writing keeps you guessing. It is one thriller that fans of the genre will want to add to their TBRs this winter.

How far are you willing to go for your friends? I really enjoyed the character of Charlotte. She is your typical busy mom, albeit a bit scatter brained. Charlotte is a divorced mom who loves her kids and is well-liked in the community. The friendship that Charlotte has with introverted and odd Harriet takes a turn for the worse after she loses Harriet’s daughter at a school carnival. Once the investigation starts, Charlotte is picked apart by the media and her friends.

The story is told from dual perspectives of Charlotte and Harriet, and alternates between the before and now. Perks creates a lot of suspense as the story flips back and forth. Once readers piece together what happened to Harriet’s daughter the day of the carnival, the pace of Her One Mistake takes off and becomes hard to set down.

If mysteries and thrillers are your cup of tea, Her One Mistake is a book that you will want to try. It is a story of friendship, and has interesting characters. This book took me completely by surprise and is full of twists to keep you on your toes.

About Heidi Perks

Image of Heidi Perks

Heidi Perks was born and raised in the seaside town of Bournemouth on the south coast of England. After moving up to London for a short stint, she has since moved back to Bournemouth where she now lives with her husband and two children. Heidi has been writing since she was small, though for too many years her day time job and career in marketing got in the way. Now she writes full time and cannot think of anything she would rather be doing.


14 thoughts on “Review: Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks

  1. JennRenee says:

    This book was good. I really enjoyed it. I have to say the beginning I was like okay this book is gonna be pretty good but its a little slow. Then towards the end I was totally hooked and everything was like whoa!!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.