Wishlist Wednesday: The Beholder

Wishlist Wednesday on The Candid Cover

Welcome to this week’s edition of Wishlist Wednesday! Today I am featuring The Beholder by Anna Bright. This new fantasy series sounds like it has an incredible setting and concept.

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by  Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about and have yet to read. It is a spin-off of the original meme, Waiting on Wednesday that was formerly hosted by Breaking the Spine.

THIS WEEK’S BOOK:

Wishlist Wednesday: The BeholderTitle: The Beholder
Author: Anna Bright
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: June 4, 2019

Summary (from Goodreads):

A lush, sweepingly romantic YA debut perfect for fans of The Selection or Caraval!

Selah has waited her whole life for a happily ever after. As the only daughter of the leader of Potomac, she knows her duty is to find the perfect match, a partner who will help secure the future of her people. Now that day has finally come.

But after an excruciatingly public rejection from her closest childhood friend, Selah’s stepmother suggests an unthinkable solution: Selah must set sail across the Atlantic, where a series of potential suitors awaits—and if she doesn’t come home engaged, she shouldn’t come home at all.

From English castle gardens to the fjords of Norge, and under the eye of the dreaded Imperiya Yotne, Selah’s quest will be the journey of a lifetime. But her stepmother’s schemes aren’t the only secrets hiding belowdecks…and the stakes of her voyage may be higher than any happy ending.

Lush landscapes, dazzling romance, and captivating intrigue mark the first leg of this stunning alternate historical duology with richly drawn characters and unexpected twists at every port.

Amazon | Book Depository

Thoughts

Retellings are my favourite kind of reads. The fact that this book is a mash-up of The Odyssey and Cinderella has me jumping with excitement. How cool does that sound? The cover is also all sorts of amazing as well.

About Anna Bright

Image of Anna Bright

I believe in woods, mountains, highways, cobblestones, roller coasters, dancing, concerts, cherry Pop Tarts, books, and magic.
When I'm not reading or writing on my couch, I'm dragging my husband off on an adventure, communing with Salem (my kitten/spiritual familiar), or causing trouble at One More Page Books, where I work.

15 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday: The Beholder

  1. Jaime Lynn says:

    It took me a minute to get past that wonderful cover to read about the story, and it definitely sounds like a good one.

  2. Greg says:

    I love duologies now, and this does sound good. The Odyssey plus Cinderalla? Cool ! I like the sound of her voyage too, and visiting different ports.

  3. Stephanie @ Bookfever says:

    I really dislike it when a synopsis says that the book is “perfect for fans of The Selection or Caraval” but I do like that it’s a mash-up of The Odyssey and Cinderella. I’m obsessed with the Odyssey these days. lol

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.