Review: Open Road Summer by Emery Lord

Review: Open Road Summer by Emery LordTitle: Open Road Summer
Author: Emery Lord
Also by this author: When We Collided
Publisher: Walker Childrens
Genres: Contemporary
Publication Date: April 15, 2014
Rating: four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

After breaking up with her bad-news boyfriend, Reagan O’Neill is ready to leave her rebellious ways behind. . . and her best friend, country superstar Lilah Montgomery, is nursing a broken heart of her own.

Fortunately, Lilah’s 24-city tour is about to kick off, offering a perfect opportunity for a girls-only summer of break-up ballads and healing hearts. But when Matt Finch joins the tour as its opening act, his boy-next-door charm proves difficult for Reagan to resist, despite her vow to live a drama-free existence.

This summer, Reagan and Lilah will navigate the ups and downs of fame and friendship as they come to see that giving your heart to the right person is always a risk worth taking.

A fresh new voice in contemporary romance, Emery Lord’s gorgeous writing hits all the right notes.

Amazon “Book

Review: Open ROad Summer by Emery Lord

Open Road Summer by Emery Lord features two of my favourite things to read about: music and road trips. This book is about two best friends on tour and stars a main character who is likeable and learns from her mistakes. The strong female friendship really sold this one for me. I regret waiting so long to read this book! Continue reading

Review: The Exes’ Revenge by Jo Jakeman

Review: The Exes’ Revenge by Jo JakemanTitle: The Exes' Revenge
Author: Jo Jakeman
Publisher: Berkley Books
Genres: Thriller
Publication Date: September 11, 2018
Rating: four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

A wickedly dark debut thriller about three women who've all been involved with the same man and realize the one thing they have in common is that they all want revenge against him...

Divorces are often messy, and Imogen's is no exception. Phillip Rochester is controlling, abusive, and determined to make things as difficult as possible. When he shows up without warning demanding that Imogen move out of their house by the end of the month or he'll sue for sole custody of their young son, Imogen is ready to snap.

In a moment of madness, Imogen does something unthinkable--something that puts her in control for the first time in years. She's desperate to protect her son and to claim authority over her own life.

But she wasn't expecting both Phillip's ex-wife and new girlfriend to get tangled up in her plans. These three very different women--and unlikely allies--reluctantly team up to take revenge against a man who has wronged them all.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: The Exes’ Revenge by Jo Jakeman

The Exes’ Revenge by Jo Jakeman is a fast-paced story of revenge that will surprise the reader with it’s shocking ending. This dark thriller has an interesting cast of female characters who come together to seek justice for themselves. It is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies. Continue reading

Review: The Echo Room by Parker Peevyhouse

Review: The Echo Room by Parker PeevyhouseTitle: The Echo Room
Author: Parker Peevyhouse
Also by this author: Where Futures End
Publisher: Tor Teen
Genres: Sci-Fi
Publication Date: September 11, 2018
Rating: four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

Rett wakes on the floor of a cold, dark room. He doesn’t know how he got there, only that he’s locked in. He’s not alone—a girl named Bryn is trapped in the room with him. When she finds a mysterious bloodstain and decides she doesn’t trust Rett, he tries to escape on his own—

Rett wakes on the floor of the same cold, dark room. He doesn’t trust Bryn, but he’ll have to work with her if he ever hopes to escape. They try to break out of the room—

Rett and Bryn hide in a cold, dark room. Safe from what’s outside.

But they’re not alone.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: The Echo Room by Parker Peevyhouse

The Echo Room by Parker Peevyhouse is an interesting post-apocalyptic novel. This book is so suspenseful as the characters’ purpose is revealed, and I enjoyed both of their personalities. The writing style is also eerie, and there are many twists throughout the book. This is the perfect read to curl up with this fall. Continue reading